We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute " Haven " Another World”
Review of The Haven Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dunmore East
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Haven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunmore East
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I have been going to The Haven for the last seven years , this visit was to celebrate my 50th birthday , I wanted to come here for this special occasion it's like coming home every time we arrive , this time no exception , Sharon went to every length possible to ensure my day was special I had rose petals on my bed in my fav room 2 , a bouquet of roses , wine in my room also and a special present from Janine which I will treasure forever , thank you love , and Sharon you are an angel ,we can't wait to return in august , thank you to your mum Jean for her guidance , she knows what I mean , we love you all , Liza and Eugene xxxxx

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosinante50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heavenDunmoreEast, Manager at The Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Hi Liza and Eugene, we are delighted you had an enjoyable experience with us at The Haven. We will make sure to pass on your lovely comments! See you in August! Kind regards, Paul Kelly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 162 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

It's the people, the place, the memories and the now.
It's everything and its perfect despite its imperfections.
The Haven Hotel is like no other.
If you like Holiday Inns, Radissons, Hiltons, Sheratons or any of the hotel brands that suck the personality from destinations worldwide - please don't stay here.

Room Tip: The view from room 4 is one of the best in the world
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheJonesGangOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heavenDunmoreEast, Manager at The Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Hi there.. Thank you for your recent review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at The Haven. We are always keen to maintain our heritage whilst moving with the modern times also. Kind regards, Paul Kelly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Last weekend my husband and I decided to take a trip to Dunmore East for a stroll and evening meal. As we had never eaten in the Haven Hotel we thought we would try something new! I ordered some pan-fried hake in a delicious lemon butter serve with mushy peas & a crispy side salad, it was delicious! My husband had a steak haven, I think it was called! A sirloin steak cooked to perfection, lavished in a creamy mushroom sauce with a side of tasty French fries! The food in the Haven Hotel is something out of this world! All ingredients were fresh and tasty, cooked with great skill and served with a smile! What more could you ask for? I would highly recommend The Haven Hotel to anyone.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank WaterfordWoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heavenDunmoreEast, Manager at The Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Hi there.. Thank you for your recent review! We are glad you had a nice meal with us at The Haven. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Paul Kelly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We are regular visitors to Dunmore East and since the Haven had just reopened, we went there on my birthday to have afternoon coffee and cake. We could not have made a better choice as we had a fantastic time. The hotel itself is a true gem, very welcoming, full of character and original features, and the atmosphere is so relaxed! The lady who served us could not have done more and went above and beyond when she heard that it was my birthday. Apart from that, they serve delicious coffee and cake. We were seated at a table in the restaurant overlooking the breathtakingly beautiful bay. Thank you for a memorable time and making my birthday special! We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heavenDunmoreEast, Manager at The Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Hi Chris.. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to the Haven and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind regards, Paul Kelly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

mothers day dinner in the haven, food was fabulous and the service was great , kids were entertained in the play room/ outdoor play area all day , will definitely be back soon, thanks to all at the haven

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank time2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heavenDunmoreEast, Manager at The Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Hi there, thank you for your recent review! We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us on Mothers Day. Hope to see you all again soon! Kind regards, Paul Kelly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just had fab meal with family
in the haven restaurant, food was excellent, highly recommend the steak.
staff were wonderful and very accommodating to our children
wide variety of choice available,and very reasonable.We will definitely be back for mothers day!
keep everyone happy. Thanks to all at the haven.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heavenDunmoreEast, Manager at The Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Hi Des, thank you for your recent review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to The Haven. We look forward to seeing you on Mothers Day! Kind regards, Paul Kelly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

My wife and I went out to the Haven Hotel for Sunday dinner as the Hotel has just reopened , we were really impressed by the friendly atmosphere, as for the food,We both had the roast Beef,it's honestly the best beef anywhere, We will definitely be be returning,Thanks.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanO62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heavenDunmoreEast, Manager at The Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Hi there, thank you for your recent review. We are delighted you enjoyed your time at the Haven and that your food was of a high standard! We look forward to seeing you again soon. King regards, Paul Kelly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunmore East
0.3 mi away
The Three Sisters Inn
The Three Sisters Inn
#2 of 3 in Dunmore East
76 reviews
7.4 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
7.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arthurstown
687 reviews
6.5 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tramore
309 reviews
8.6 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven Hotel

Address: Dock Road | Nymphhall, Dunmore East, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dunmore East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunmore East
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haven Hotel is a truly unique venue and we are dedicated to making your time with us special. Celebrating its reopening in 2016 The Haven has been carefully renovated and refurbished but still retains its quirky charm. Owned and managed by the Kelly family for over 50 years, the hotel is set in stunning surroundings in the heart of the beautiful fishing village of Dunmore East, in the Sunny South East we like to think we have something for everyone. We pride ourselves on serving delicious home cooked food and celebrate Irish produce and use products from recognised Quality Assurance Schemes, specialising in Roast Rib of Prime Irish Beef and locally caught seafood. Food is served all day. As a must for music lovers we have live music in the bar most weekends and on the new outdoor stage on Sundays in the summer months. Children are especially welcome and we host Family Fun Sundays throughout the summer with live music, bouncy castles, ice cream and BBQs. As The Haven started life as a private home all our bedrooms are different sizes to accommodate families and couples alike. They have recently been completely renovated and refurbished, and each boasts comfy beds with crisp white sheets, a flat screen multi-channel television, hairdryer, tea/coffee hospitality tray and free WIFI. We have 12 bedrooms in the main house - many with stunning sea views. We have a further six bedrooms in the Garden Rooms. One of our bedrooms on the ground floor is wheelchair accessible. Our bridal suite comes complete with four poster bed. We look forward to meeting you at The Haven Hotel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing