We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor value and shabby”
Review of The Strand Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Strand Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Dunmore East B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2009

We would echo the comments made by others this month - why so out of tune with previous guests. They were unhelpful and couldnt have been less interested in their guests. The food was good but overpriced (7.50 Euro for a ice cream dessert) and was eclipsed by the Spinnaker Bar round the corner which was great in every way (good food,music and friendly service). The room (15) was nothing like the picture on the website and we too had to pay upfront from a disinterested bar tender. We tried to get a hairdryer on two occasions but they were unable to find one at all! No-one checked to see whether all was well and the owner was much more interested in chatting to the local dignatories and monied guests. Overall very dissapointing and expensive for what it was - we would suggest staying somewhere else in Dunmore East which is a lovely village - we would eat at the Spinnaker Bar.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UkCookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 336 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2009

Having booked a nice romantic week-end in the Strand with my hubby, romantic it was not. After arriving at check in, we had to wait nearly twenty minutes in the bar, to receive our room key,as there is no reception. We were asked to pay in full up front before seeing our room.When I asked if we could see the room before I paid, the lady behind the bar looked at us as if we had ten heads.We were given a room in the attic. We had no sea views which was disappointing.After taking a walk in the beautiful village we dicided to have a drink before dinner in the strand. My glass was filthy as was the interior of the whole pub, a lick of paint would brighten the place, but the biggest ray of sunshine that they could do with is to have friendly staff. Never in my life have I met the most unplesant grumpiest staff, so much for a friendly Irish welcome.We ate in the Resturant which was over priced, the vegtables were soggy.The Lady in charge came to the table beside us and told them that if their child made noise it would have to be removed. She was the most unplesant person I have ever encountered.No wonder the Irsh travel industry is down in numbers.The Strand has so much potential but staff trainingg on friendliness is needed.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bikinidiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clifdenfoyle, Owner at The Strand Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2011

Hi,

I really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with, my staff are normally terrific so I was very upset to
Hear your complaint, the lady in question has since moved on as she wasn't really suited to the hospitality industry. The food in our restaurant is fantastic, but I've taken your complaint re the soggy veg on board . Clifden Foyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

Pros: *location, next to a nice beach in a lovely town.
Cons: *No hotel reception area, you will need to chase down unfriendly and inattentive bar staff to check in. They also had no record of my request for oceanview rooms and made no apologies for not providing them.
*Rooms are dated, not very clean, and do not contain many basics. One of our rooms had no television and overlooked a back area containing overflowing containers of cigarette butts and empty cans of cat food.
*The building itself appears to be a fire hazard. I went to go for a walk at 5.30 am and found all exit doors locked downstairs. The only way out was down a back stairway that had a door propped open. (By the cat food area) I had to walk on a neighbors property to leave the premises
* Restaurant: We had reservations for 8.30 pm, and by 9.00pm we still had not been seated in the restaurant. The staff appeared to be very disorganized and made excuses as to why we were not being seated in a reasonable amount of time. They also made no apologies for our inconvenience and tried to have us eat in the bar area instead of the restaurant. We ended up eating at the Spinnaker Restaurant instead and the service and food there are highly recommended.

This inn has a wonderful location, however it is a shame that more attention has not been paid to the property and customer service. The Strand Inn has tremendous potential to be a great asset to visitors and the community instead of the embarrassing shambles it currently is.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank laura25ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

After viewing the pictures placed by the Inn on the internet decided to stay and was looking forward to it immensely after 8 days travelling through Ireland . When we arrived we were excited location was perfect next to the bay and busy setting . We spoke to a bar lady and checked in she seemed very uninterested she gaves us a room key to room 15 when we got in our faces were that of horror. Chenille bed spreads from the 70's room had two bedrooms with shabby old furniture nothing like the web site pictures ,bathroom was shocking and view of nothing. I went downstairs to complain that this was nothing like we expected or seen on the internet and was told try another room and asked how many people were staying and I stated just myself and partner , expecting a more intimate room. We were given two rooms to pick from room 3 and 6 . We tried room 3 only to be met with a couple lying in bed ! Quite embarassing but diverting my eyes I could seee they had a view of the water as window was open. We then quickly went into room 6 bed had a doona appeared slightly more modern but the bathroom was a joke the website states all rooms have king size bed ( not really!) also states " allrooms have spacious bathrooms" well believe me the shower was a struggle to get into without touching the tiles , it was old with doors that were half painted and did not close , the shower knob kept falling off . In addtion we had a window that was cracked and the base and was sealed shut hence no ability to open for any fresh air and no air conditioning although it was not hot you could not recylcleany air and was stuffy. In addition the room is directly above the Karaoke/bar/disco and we had music thumping from the floors till after 1 am . Really disappointed . The Breakfast was very good however . We ate at the restaurant and agian overly priced for what was offered , I had a seafood pie that consited of what looked and tasted like cod only for 24Euros very steep , happy to pay if quality. Positive note the bar was good and so was yhe refurbished sitting area downstairs. This place has perfect location but needs to get serious about the rooms and they way it advertises them.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarlaKcbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

We travelled to Ireland principally to see U2 in Dublin - but extended our trip to take in a bit of Ireland too. We sort of ended up in Dunmore East and decided to stay the night in this idyllic place.
There are choices in Dunmore for accommodation - but the Strand is right there next to a little bay with fabulous views - the smell of the mussels being served to hordes of people outside was very enticing too.
The staff at the Strand were great - laidback, easy to get on with and very helpful.
But the decor is a bit tired and seemed a bit 'unloved'. The doors to several of the rooms, including ours, had obviously been forced open at some stage...the room had a wonderful view but again the decor wasen't great and sadly the cleanliness was barely acceptable. We decided to stick with it but advise checking this out first. Great breakfast. The food in the restaurant seemed pricey considering the fresh seafood haden't travelled very far.
Nothing that a coat of paint and more attention to detail on the cleaning won't solve.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ukscubatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

This was our second visit to the Strand Inn in two years and we just love it! A great menu with fresh seafood and everything beautifully prepared and presented. The setting looking out on the ocean is to die for. Louise is delightful and makes everything even more memorable. We'll be back again!

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank wiskaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Gerard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunmore East
0.5 mi away
The Three Sisters Inn
The Three Sisters Inn
#2 of 3 in Dunmore East
76 reviews
7.2 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
8.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arthurstown
687 reviews
6.6 mi away
O'Shea's Hotel
O'Shea's Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tramore
195 reviews
7.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Inn

Address: Dunmore East County, Dunmore East, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dunmore East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dunmore East
Price Range: $141 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand Inn, Dunmore East is a contemporary Inn with a relaxed beach style. The Inn has fifteen stylish bedrooms, most with outstanding panoramic ocean views. The hotel is nestled in the South East Ireland coastline, on the edge of Dunmore East. Discreetly set in a unique position, with the terrace being the perfect vantage point to admire the views across to Hook Head. Just below is the stunning Dunmore East beach and cove, perfect to unwind on. The Strand Inn is owned by the Foyle family and has been totally transformed to blend contemporary cool with coastal comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Strand Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strand Hotel Dunmore East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing