We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Strand Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Haven Hotel(Dunmore East)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
The Three Sisters Inn(Dunmore East)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Woodlands Hotel(Waterford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveler rating
159
79
46
38
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
159
79
46
38
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmusselssea viewoverlooking the beachgorgeous foodlemon solehook headbed linenamazing locationmain coursesaturday nightbar and restaurantyogurtdunmoreclifdenlouiseirelandpint
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
302 - 307 of 345 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Charming, family run hotel in a beautiful setting above a small cove overlooking the Irish Sea. Friendly helpful staff always on hand. Soft comfortable beds with good linens and towels. We were a big family group and we all had dinner in the restaurant both nights. Everyone loved the food. Great Irish Breakfasts. There is lots to do in the village, scenic walks, fishing, sailing and all kinds of water sporting activities. Great beach for sunbathing. Good nightlife.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishboysandgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

i stayed with my husband and 2 children the staff were great and the BREAKFAST STAFF were great even though they were very busy. also the rooms were very clean and the cleaner margaret was a great help.i would come back next year again

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddyg1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Probably the most fantastic view, atmosphere and food in Ireland. If you have not stayed at the strand then go. Treat yourself, your boyfriend/husband, your mother or anyone else you truly want to spend a delightful afternoon with to a night at the strand.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nosl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

First let me say, this is not a quiet place. It's above a very lively pub/restaurant right on the ocean, where Clifden, one of the proprietors, claimed there was a microclimate that kept the weather unexpectedly lovely. But we were jetlagged and without luggage and welcomed very nicely.

The room was lovely, overlooking the ocean, about as quiet as they could have. The pub food was really delicious - and you could tell the seafood was fresh. Very friendly. We enjoyed our brief stay immensely. And the free wifi helped us sort out our luggage issues, which was very helpful.

Be patient about the hotel check-in/out and breakfast service as they don't really act like a hotel is their primary business. They have a desk but it's staffed only if you find the person to help you. But it's not a big place so that isn't hard to do. But that's a minor caution - we'd gladly be back and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pezworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

I recently stayed in The Strand Inn and would just like to say what an excellent time I had.

The service and hospitality in this hotel are exemplary. Lovely rooms with beautiful views, great food and the best service I've experienced in years.

The hotel manager manager, Cliff, was incredibly accommodating and helpful, a credit to the establishment.

Thanks for a wonderful stay! I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LornaDublin31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews