We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely pleasant stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brookside B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunmore East
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brookside B&B
Ranked #3 of 10 Dunmore East B&B and Inns
Isernhagen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Extremely pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Recommended by a lady we stayed with on one of our previous trips to Ireland, we enjoyed one of our best accommodations on our tour round the “Green Island”.
Brookside is situated at the end of the village, but in walking distance of a very good pub with excellent food (The Spinnaker Bar). Even the village is not too far to walk.
The rooms provide ample space, are neatly decorated and immaculately clean. This impression recurs throughout the whole house. Of course off-road parking and free wifi are included in the exemplary service.
The full Irish breakfast really deserves its name and gets you going for the whole day!
Karen and Alan are extremely pleasant and helpful hosts. The warm and friendly welcome we received from Karen when arriving made you feel relaxed and comfortable straight away. It was like meeting friends you’ve known for years!

I should not recommend this B & B too vigorously, as it will reduce my opportunities in being able to book accommodation the next time we visit Ireland, but by writing this review I will suppress my egoism!

On behalf of our friends and us, thank you Karen and Alan for a wonderful stay and looking forward to the next time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curthwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shefford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Our 4th trip to Karen and Alan's delightful B&B did not disappoint us - their kindness, service and hospitality thankfully remains unaltered. They are fantastic hosts and we look forward to seeing them and Brookside again next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emacdwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Karen and Alan are the most genuine and welcoming of hosts. Of particular note for us, apart from the warm welcome, were the general cleanliness and attention to detail in the room, the en-suite, and the dining room.

We stayed one night this month on a quick trip to the south of Ireland for personal reasons and instantly realized we had made a sound choice. After a long trip, the friendly welcome, comfortable bed and great breakfast restored us.

Go and stay here. Whether traveling on business or for pleasure, you won't regret it. And it's good value for money, too!

Room Tip: Let your hosts guide you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NLJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shefford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

Just got home after our 3rd time staying at Brookside - Karen and Alan are such a hospitable couple - as usual, they couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable - even driving us to the local restaurant, plus an enormous help in getting up early to make our sandwiches and coffee for our ferry trip from Rosslare. Thank you both for your hospitality and kindness. We look forward to returning again next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emacdwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabiya Lebanon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

My wife and I stayed 1 night at the Brookside. We were treated like a king and queen. Every thing, the reception, information about the region, the wedding cake, breakfast... was EXCELLENT.

Thanks Karen you made our stay wonderfully memorable.

Room Tip: small twin bed but comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wizardphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forresters Beach Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

Brookside B&B owned and run by the wonderful Karen was a highlight of our trip, the B&B is lovely, large pretty room, immaculately kept, great bathroom and delicious breakfast. The surrounding area is magnificent with local pub and restaurants adding to the experience. Karen is a fantastic ambassador for the Irish hospitality and really enhsnces the B&B experience. If Dumore East is your destignation Brookside is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Forries2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed one night in this comfy little gem.

Everything has been said by other reviewers - not to be missed.

We were advised where to eat that evening and what to have. Great pub and lovely meal.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank montydb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunmore East
0.6 mi away
The Three Sisters Inn
The Three Sisters Inn
#2 of 3 in Dunmore East
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Strand Inn
The Strand Inn
#1 of 10 in Dunmore East
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Tir Na nOg Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Dunmore East
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Beach Haven House
Beach Haven House
#2 of 11 in Tramore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Strand Townhouse
The Strand Townhouse
#7 of 10 in Dunmore East
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gaultier lodge
Gaultier lodge
#1 of 1 in Woodstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside B&B

Property: Brookside B&B
Address: Dunmore Road | Ballymabin, Dunmore East, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dunmore East
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Dunmore East
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karen & Alan welcome you to their spacious modern bungalow situated in a quiet location on the outskirts of the charming fishing village of Dunmore East. We offer excellent accommodation and have 4 rooms on the ground floor, tastefully decorated with multi channel TV-Tea/Coffee and hairdryers. We are local to all amenities and have safe off road parking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing