We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST!”
Review of Hilltop Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greencastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hilltop Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Greencastle B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We were fortunate to have been referred to this property while in Greencastle for a wedding and after reading the TripAdvisor reviews, we were looking forward to our stay. Other reviewers raved about the luxury of the accommodations and the wonderful view and the great breakfasts (especially the Irish Fry) and all of that was true. But what made our stay truly exceptional was the personal care and attention we received from Roy and Loretto. They went out of their way to make us feel at home in their home and we really appreciate everything they did for us. We regretted having to leave when the weekend was over and we will definitely return when we are next in Donegal. As an example of their exemplary hospitality, Loretto went to a significant amount of trouble to ship us some of our belongings that we had inadvertently left behind. I can't imagine that anyone else would have done what she did. Our belongings were returned to us the next day, and they were vitally important to the next leg of our trip.
We enjoyed chatting with Roy and Loretto over tea and we feel like we made some new friends.
Ask them about their family and get Roy to share his experiences as a Division 1 footballer with Norwich. Fascinating! And on top of that, Roy was a scratch golfer.
Great people, a great place and a great weekend! If you're anywhere near Greencastle, stay there. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MarkinChilliwack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 33 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed here 2 nights and we should have stayed longer. Loretto and Roy were brilliant and so was the breakfast! The room was clean and tidy and the bed was so comfortable.I would thoroughly recommend this B&B to anyone. The views are fantastic and on a clear day you can see fromPortrush to Londonderry, a distance of 55 miles!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laxeylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

The earlier reviews have got it ; Roy and Loretto are lovely hosts and make their home very welcoming to guests. From an offer of tea/coffee/herbal tea on arrival to fresh fruit salad with breakfast, they go the extra mile to meet the needs of visitors. By going the extra mile off the main road you get a super view over Lough Foyle and it is an ideal spot to while away some quality time. The local village of Greencastle has some excellent pubs and there are blue flag beaches, fishing and golf in the area.A very positive experience and a far better bet than local hotels, unless you want a bar or leisure facilities on site.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gpdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Stayed here one night recently, the place has the most amazing view and the couple who run it was really nice as was the breakfast, rooms and coffee on arrival!!
Would totally recomend to anyone wanting a great B&B in the greencastle area!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macsdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

A lovely welcome from Loretta and Roy. There's a big hill to climb unless you get a taxi from Greencastle, but hey the view is spectacular...a sight I will never forget.

The facilities were good, the decoration inside was full of character and everywhere was spotlessly clean. Being cooked breakfast in the morning felt like you were at home with family.

Can't wait to go again.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
Thank ShaunM1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

We spend four fabulous days in the house of Loretta and Roy. I'll recommend this place highly. It surely makes the warm feelings I have for Ireland greater. I hope I will come there again.
Rita Van Gerven
Belgium

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

I recommend this B&B very highly. As the name suggests, it it high on the hill overlooking Lough Foyle. The views were absolutely amazing. The hosts were also very charming and thoughtful, and made a really good breakfast. Great coffee too! I wish I could have eaten more. The rooms are furnished with modern pine furniture and the bathrooms are large and very new.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seamonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greencastle hotels
189.3 mi away
Dunagree Bed And Breakfast
Dunagree Bed And Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Greencastle
21 reviews
1.2 mi away
TempleView Lodge
TempleView Lodge
#1 of 3 in Greencastle
32 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lighthouse View Accommodation
Lighthouse View Accommodation
#3 of 3 in Greencastle
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
On The Rocks Bed and Breakfast
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Strand View House B&B
#5 of 5 in Greencastle
2 reviews
0 mi away
Cragnaferry B&B and Craft School
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Lodge

Address: Carrowhugh Road, Greencastle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Greencastle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greencastle
Price Range: $49 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourist Board Approved. Stunning Panoramic Ocean View Luxury Accommodation - All rooms ensuite. Underfloor Heating Throughout. Large open log fire. Double/Twin Rooms available. Full cooked and/or continental breakfast. Local Amenities include : Sandy beaches, Golf Course, Excellent pubs and restaurants, Horse riding, Fishing, Scenic Hiking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing