We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss Arasha!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arasha Tropical Rainforest Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arasha Tropical Rainforest Resort & Spa
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss Arasha!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2008

Arasha is AMAZING
Date June 17, 2008

We were lucky enough to take our vacation to Galapegos and Peru. The unexpected highlight of the entire trip was Arasha. Paradise in the middle of the rain forest. The food is 5 star with an incredible selection. The service is top notch and you are catered to by an amazing staff. You can keep as busy as you like, or just relax. Our guide was amazing and planned every day with us and we had the option to change our mind. The pool is amazing and the grounds are absoultely spectacular. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. Another highlight was the spa! A 2 hour full wonderful treatment was only $60 and I would have paid double for this. Don't miss Arasha if you are in Equador!!!!

Jane in Denver

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 7444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    28
    33
    22
    11
See reviews for
51
29
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2008

We enjoyed our time at Arasha. When we arrived we were assigned a private tour guide named Geovanny Rojas. He worked very hard to please us. We sat down together and planned our 3 days of activities and he was with us for all of the activities. The resort was not very full because it was mid week, but I feel that it wasn't full because it is over priced.
I thought food was good, especially the shrimp and ceviche dishes.
My husband thought the food was fair.
We enjoyed the Macalleres hike, chocolate workshop, horseback ride and loved the Cascades hike.
Since there is no entertainment at night, we took advantage of the massages. I highly recommend them.
The staff was very accommodating. There seemed to be way more staff than guests(15 guests).
The weather pattern was predictable; cloudy in the morning, clearing until 2-3 pm, heavy rain until dawn. Being used to a climate controlled environment, I found the humidity a pleasant but unusual feeling. Of course nothing dried, so don't take denim or jeans, they will never dry. We did half of our activities in the rain. On the last day we used the laundry, just so we wouldn't have to pack wet clothes. But you should expect that from a rain forest. Use lots of insect repellent, we got loads of bites, especially in the water falls and river swims.
We saw some interesting insects- huge beetle, weird slug, leaf cutter ants, termites.
All in all we enjoyed our time there. I do believe that it was way overpriced. We paid $1800 for 2 for 3 nights.

  • Liked — I loved being awakend by the birds songs.
  • Disliked — I felt that the resort was overpriced.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JJNewJersy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2007

We visited Arasha after exploring Quito, The Andean Highlands and before Galapagos.
I was drawn to Arasha by their website which is extremely welldone BUT when you get there, at least when we were there in April 2006, it was NOT all that it was represented to be.

The jacuzzi was shut down. The mini golf was shut down as well. The night walk with torches, although interesting to see lichen glow in the dark, was a walk 50 feet down a path. A disappointment... The biggest scam is the shaman. First of all, he walks around beforehand wearing a Ralph Lauren shirt and nice jeans accompanied by his daughter and son, and talking on his cell phone. Then you see them with their dress on. His kids do these anti climactic dances while they smirk to one another as if to say, "look at what these tourists will pay to see". The Shaman does his thing which is interesting but you're sitting in a cheap plastic chair and well, the whole experience lost its WOW in a big way. From seeing him beforehand to getting your spirit cleansed seemed a bit silly. This was not what we were expecting. It certainly wasn't anything like they built it up to be. And it wasn't cheap, that's for sure.

On a plus note, the food was good. The waiters were super friendly. My husband took a bird walk before the sun rose with a private guide and it was the most amazing experience. Many thanks to her. She made up for the shaman downfall. The staff is great with kids. One very kind man always let my son go visit the toucans which was sweet. The Ecuadorians want to please and they do go the distance when asked.

Overall, an okay experience with great Highs and some bad lows.

  • Liked — The private guided bird walk
  • Disliked — Shaman scam
  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrisdiannefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pedro Vicente Maldonado hotels

Las Palmas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2007

We stayed at the ARASHA in August 2007. The first impression was so-so for several reason:

1) The driving in Ecuador is insane for western standards. I highly recomend not traveling when it is dark. If you arrive after 4 p.m.at Quito, I highly recommend you stay at a city hotel. We stayed at the Dann Carlton. It was clean and nice. The trip to Arasha takes about 2.5 hours. The trip back takes about 4 hours since if is mostly uphill. Tell your dirver to take it easy if you feel unsafe.

2) Ecuador is a beuatiful country, but a poor country. The houses and people that live by the roads on the way to the resort belong to the economically unstable population of Ecuador.

3) The place is very humid and some of the rooms (we had 5 rooms in our party) had that humidity aroma to it. Make sure you turn on the ceiling fan while you are away from the room.

The second impression was different for several reasons:

1) The pool is wonderful and its color is very inviting. The jacuzzi was great too.

2) The restaurant had a deck overlooking the pool which was also great. The food was very good. We were told that the water is treated and passed through a filter so that there is no danger with water born diseades. Therefore we drank our drinks with ice cubes. Four weeks later no one in our party has felt sick after the trip.

3) There are 2 rooms per house (cabaña). So our children stayed in a room right next to us. You can hear almost everything that is happening in the other room. So be careful with you do or say.

4) The massages were great too.

5) There were hardly any mosquitos or other biting animals.

6) After the first night we felt right at home and adpated to the jungle.

A few words about the activities.
1) Do not expect to see any wild animals here. The jungle around is spotty and saved from the destruction of man because it is inaccesible for cows or farming.
2) I highly recommend the Nocturnal Tour, the Primary forest of Macallares and the Cascade in this precise order. The Macallares and Cascade tour require coordinatioin and strength, since some spots are rough. My father who is 67 and healthy had it difficult, even thought he did not want to admit it.
3) The chocolate and artisan workshop were fun too.
4) The bird watching at 6 a.m. is not worth it unless you are really into birds.
5) The negrito beach is nice, but not inviting.
6) If you plan to fish for your dinner you will die of hunger. Although there are many tilapias in the pond, they do not bite because they are so well fed.
7) We had the Shaman do a cleaning for us. It is done at a large room in the resort. The mood was not well set there. The Shaman played a drum, a second person played a marimba and a young couple danced a traditinal dance. After 10 minutes de Shaman started doing his cleaning to a person in our party making strange sounds. The kids could not help it and started laughing histerically. After a minute all 12 of us where having great dificulty controlling ourserlves. It was fun and interesting.

All in all I would recommend staying at ARASHA as an experience prior or after a galapagos trip, especially if you have kids. Kid will have a blast there. I would not recommend it as a romantic escapade, for that I would stay at Hacienda Cusin.

Regards
Valentino

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ValentinoLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2007

My husband and I and friends went to Arasha for an overnight stay. The site is secure; all guests are given wrist bands to wear during their stay. The kids loved the pool and the jewelry-making workshop. I felt the Chocolate Workshop was worth while. Please note, English is not spoken well here. So if your Spanish is limited, you may experience some frustrations.

The rooms are clean, but I had a problem with the smell of dirt. There is no air conditioning...bring light clothing. Don't forget your bug spray. These are not rooms I would "hang out" in, but the porches, definitely!

Evening entertainment is limited. They show a movie in the theater, bu this is for the kids. The movie, Dr. Doolittle, was an old one, so the kids were not interested. It also started later that we would have liked.

The pool water is warm...not very refreshing, but the kids loved it. Arasha was not crowded when we went, but there were only 10 lounge chairs at most...they may have more stored somewhere, but I didn't see them.

We recommend the torch light walk...it is not an hour long, but again, don't forget the bug spray!

The restaurant offered one menu for lunch and dinner. Everyone enjoyed their meals, including the kids. They say that three meals are included, however, they don't specify the meals. We wanted lunch, dinner, and lunch before we left. My friend and her husband asked at the reception desk if this was ok. The manager said yes. After we had lunch the second day, we were presented with a bill. The manager admitted that he made a mistake, but did not rectify the situation to our satisfaction. It was not a great way to end out stay, to say the least.

Note: There is no place to secure your wallets/important papers. This was frustrating.

Because of our limited stay, we did not take advantage of the spa. We did visit, and it looked nice.

  • Liked — the pool
  • Disliked — no air conditioning and smelly
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Loren3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2007

Relaxing atmosphere, great food, wonderful spa treatments, beautiful grounds, friendly staff. My husband and I loved it!

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank ROMY35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadillac, Michigan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2006

A wonderful rain forest stay. The staff was wonderfully attentive. The rooms were well decorated and very well kept. You barely leave the room and it is made up for you. Downside is that there is no air conditioning. The birds will sing you awake in the morning which you can experience no where else. The night time tour of the rain forest is not to be missed. Make sure to spend time in the river pool! The food is well done with sufficient variety.

  • Liked — Birds singing in the morning
  • Disliked — NO AC
  • Tips/Secrets — Take the daily rate not the all inclusive rate
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank phantom_49601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pedro Vicente Maldonado
20.5 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#4 of 7 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
24.8 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
25.0 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#2 of 7 in Mindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Kapari Natural Lodge & Spa
Kapari Natural Lodge & Spa
#1 of 5 in San Miguel de los Bancos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hacienda Rio Blanco
Hacienda Rio Blanco
#3 of 5 in San Miguel de los Bancos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
22.8 mi away
Kashama Eco Resort and Spa
Kashama Eco Resort and Spa
#1 of 5 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arasha Tropical Rainforest Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arasha Tropical Rainforest Resort & Spa

Property: Arasha Tropical Rainforest Resort & Spa
Address: KM 121 Via Quito-Calacali-Pedro Vicente Maldonado | Mindo Area, Pedro Vicente Maldonado, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Pedro Vicente Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pedro Vicente Maldonado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arasha Tropical Forest Resort & Spa is located about 2 hours car drive from Quito, the capital city of Ecuador. We have been Awarded 12 times from 2004 to 2012 by "World Travel Awards" an institution in London, United Kingdom as "Leading Resort & Spa in ECUADORPlease visit. We have on premises Primary and Secondary Forests which can be visited. 17 different Attractions to keep you busy or you can relax choosing a more distant bungalow from entertaining centers.Our Restaurant El Bosque and Choco Bar will make you so happy you don't want to leave. Ecuadorian and International Food prepared in our kitchen by 14 employees make sure your taste buds dance. Hope to see you soon with us. Gustavo DiezPresident & CEOArasha Ltd.Pedro Vicente Maldonado (Km 121 via Quito-Calacali-La Independencia)PichinchaEcuador ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Arasha Tropical Rainforest Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arasha Tropical Rainforest Hotel Pedro Vicente Maldonado
Arasha Tropical Rainforest Resort And Spa
Arasha Tropical Rainforest Spa
Arasha Tropical Rainforest Resort & Spa Ecuador/Pedro Vicente Maldonado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing