We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monkey Lala El Tunco Suites
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Went there on a Saturday to have some drinks and watch the sunset and was suprised by a party that was going on that evening. It was very nice, they build a bonfire, had a dj with lounge music, good food, good service and nice people!
I could get a peek of one of the rooms and it looked very modern and clean. I would definitely stay there!
The only reason why I didn't give a 5 star rating was because there was a limited selection of drinks. They had mostly just beer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SylvanaA372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Monkey Lala El Tunco Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 54 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights and loved it! The beds are comfortable, the rooms are very clean and the air conditioning is greatly appreciated! The location is the best... perfect view of the rock that the sun sets behind, there's a crowd hanging out almost every night at sunset to watch all the surfers. The food and drinks were great, the staff is absolutely unbelievable, and the overall vibe is perfect for a little getaway. On weekends there's often a DJ, but most days they'll play music in the afternoon. It's still quiet at night, and very safe.
I dealt with Yazmin to book the room and she was absolutely fantastic. Her responses were timely and full of information. We had some flight issues and had to extend our stay and she was very accommodating to make sure we were able to stay there and enjoy our holiday without worries. The other staff were also great to ask questions to, and just to have a general conversation with.
El Tunco itself is fantastic... a great crowd! One of the local surfers took us to some local waterfalls and everyone is willing to give advice on where to eat and what to do!
Loved this trip!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I have had the pleasure of staying here for ten wonderful days
Big room , great Ac , cable tv , great food friendly staff and super relaxed
Lots of waves just in front of your room , with amazing sun rise and sun sets
I was felling like home in just hrs
With comfortable bed and a strong Ac its a surfers dream

Yes it can be a bit more expensive from the budget places but a million dollar view is worth it

Tytti was my host and looked after me with jasmine and Armando giving the great advice where to go

Can't wait to go back thank you guys for super great time

Room Tip: Room number 2 was my choice I could hear it and see the surf from my window Dosent get better th...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ned B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I recently visited El Tunco for 10 days, and while the accommodations at Monkey LaLa were out of my price range for this particular trip, I would highly recommend stopping by here at least. For 10 days straight I spent every evening enjoying sundowners at their beachfront bar watching the most beautiful sunsets imagine able. Staff were so friendly and accommodating, they have cheap beer and good snacks at the bar and the hotel facilities always appeared immaculate. They sometimes DJ live music at sunset at this bar which you don't want to miss! I give this place 5 stars and would stay here in the future on account of the great atmosphere.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Jipsy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

It was a wonderful stay. The moment we were met at the airport we know that Monkey LaLa was going to be home away from home. Yazim is professional and detailed. The communication before our trip with our rates, travel and pickup was seamless. We had the opportunity to be in El Tunco for two and half weeks, Monkey LaLa being our home for the entire time. When we left to go home it felt like we were leaving part of our family behind.

The rooms are clean, and spacious. The staff is always present in case you need an extra towel or some thing extra. Orco the french bulldog is a friendly companion to sit by your feet while you have morning coffee. The hotel has the perfect setting just off the main street for quietness but close enough for the stroll into the other bars or dining options.

The entire group of Monkey LaLa is spectacular. I can't wait for next year!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katieber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed here with some friends as a splurge from the rest of our budget vacation. The best parts-- BIG comfortable rooms, the BIG beachfront pool, and it's impossible not the mention the hotel dogs..they are the sweetest part of the hotel! It stormed all night and these two slept outside our door as guarddogs. And if you don't like dogs, don't worry, they were a spunky addition because we encouraged their attention, but if you don't want them to be part of your monkey lala experience, they are not loud and will not bother you. The monkey lala staff is also incredible-- the ladies are very sweet and helpful. I felt safe, happy, and able to truly relax at this hotel in El Tunco.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stampy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Loved Monkeylala, it´s a fantastic beachfront spot, perfect for watching sunsets and enjoying a sundowner, and it´s right in front of three different surf points (la bocana, la bocanita, and sunzal). They just finished the hotel, so rooms are new and comfy (nice beds, A/C, TV for rainy days, nice furnishings) and even with emergency lights if power in town goes out. There´s a really pleasant design to everything. The hotel´s in a great spot since you can walk easily to everything in Tunco, but you don´t hear the noise at night. If you´re not into surf, they can arrange other activities for you. It´s a great beachfront hotel with lots of character, couldn´t be more highly recommended!

Room Tip: Although it´s a bit more, go for the beachfront room instead of one of the side rooms...it´s really...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Libertad
0.5 mi away
Hotel Los Farallones
Hotel Los Farallones
#1 of 3 in La Libertad
191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa de Mar
Casa de Mar
#1 of 1 in El Sunzal
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roca Sunzal Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Boca Olas Resort Villas
Boca Olas Resort Villas
#1 of 2 in El Tunco
195 reviews
1.5 mi away
SABAS Beach Resort
SABAS Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in La Libertad
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tunco Lodge
Tunco Lodge
#3 of 22 in La Libertad
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkey Lala El Tunco Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkey Lala El Tunco Suites

Address: Km.42 Carretera el Litoral Playa El Tunco, La Libertad 0000, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > La Libertad Department > La Libertad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Specialty Lodging in La Libertad
Price Range: $60 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly opened hotel Monkey Lala, offer a beatiful and tranquil reprieve in el tunco where you can relax in comfort, and privacy in one of our 5 suites. our beachfront hotel gives you direct access to 4 different surf breaks, and a great selection of restaurants, surf shops, live music, dancing and nightlife. our hotel suites come equipped with: Air Conditioning,Flat Screen TV and cable,WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Monkey Lala El Tunco Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkey Lala El Tunco Suites El Salvador/La Libertad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing