We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best choice!”
Review of Eco del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eco del Mar
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The best choice!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for a night, the hotel is very nice and clean, full of good details , and great service. The room was spacious and clean, the a.c. worked wonderfully! the food in there is really good and at a fair Price ($10dlls complete meal and a beer!) :)
Its really well located, near everything but at the same time, is very secured on a private area.
Maybe there are cheaper hostal near, but this is a hotel and it is really worth the extra money. They have a great pool to chill out, surf board rental , hammocks, etc.
note: you will actually need to buy a mosquito repelent on any nearby store!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southerninc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    29
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
41
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

After my international delegation/conference ended, I needed a getaway place where I could relax, nap, be at peace close to the beach. I am happy to say that eco is exactly the place to go. Its a few steps from a walking path to the beach, off the main road. They provide 24 hour security which gave a sense of ease to enjoy the short stay. The rooms are clean, roomy, the AC works well (Much needed in the humid months). I enjoyed the hammock on the balcony for afternoon naps & reading a book.

This is small hotel, but perfect for a romantic or solo stay to recharge your batteries. The staff is very friendly and attentive.

The only reason why they didn't get a score of 5 is because I had to ask staff to tell other guests to leave my balcony. They should tell all the guests that if their room does not come with a balcony, its not a shared space.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stopped in to el tunco enroute to Nicaragua and was so glad we found Eco del Mar. We got the upper unit with porch looking over the pool and it was so relaxing.. loved the hammock and listening to the birds chatter in the trees. The pool was great for a cool off dip and the food at Eco del Mar was really yummy! The room is spacious with a little kitchen area and the porch/hammock combo was really perfect! I got a quick response when making the inquiry and that made the difference for me too. Just a short stroll down the path to the beach and just a 2 second walk to the main strip with all the restaurants and food stalls.. easy to get around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRLCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Booked a room and transfer from the airport. Alex the taxi driver was there on time with a sign, made it nice and easy for the transfer to the hotel. Friendly staff, 24 hrs of security on site, large rooms, porch with personal hammock and A/C, Clean pool with shade and nice landscaping, surf board rentals and one minute walk to La Bocana surf break. Attracts nice travelers, kid and pet friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauren d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have been going to El Salvador since 1992 and spend a majority of my time at the beach in Sunzal and El Tunco. This small well appointed hotel is a wonderful spot to enjoy life's simple pleasures. The rooms are fresh and clean with a a/c..cable tv...refrirgerator!! Additionally they serve a wonderful lunch from thee grill.
It is a 3 minute walk to the main street in El Tunco and the famous Bocanita surf beach. The staff is wonderful, courteous, attentive and makes you feel at home every minute of your stay. I loved it and will be back in April...!!

Room Tip: Any room is great...there are 4 to choose from..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neptune666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We ended staying here after my first choice never booked my room and we're all full. I wasn't sure what to expect going there with my family with 3 kids (14,9,3). But it was perfect. Great staff. The restaurant was great, I ate banana pancakes from there at least once a day, and my son had a burger almost every day and loved it. Food was priced good, there was a small convince store right outside of it. It was a short walk to the beach. Room was perfect, the hammock outside the room was a great touch, everyone wanted to relax in it. A pool that my girls swam in every day. Roberto was great, took us to view some falls which was amazing and setup our airport transfer. We flew in early in the AM, 12AM. I rented a board from there a nice 6'2" Rusty board, asked Roberto if there was a way to have the board in my room when we arrived so I could do some dawn patrol in the morning. When we got to the room the board was there and ready for a 6am surf session. The place was just perfect. I will stay there again for sure. Two words of advice they only take cash no credit card, which isn't a big deal if you know that going in. And second there is no hot shower, again not a big deal. Most places don't have hot showers there and if you shower during the day the water is actually quite warm.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Cute, clean, close to the beach. Great price and friendly staff. I read about Eco del Mar here on TripAdvisor and was very satisfied with the accommodations. There are cheaper and more expensive spots nearby, but this is the perfect place in between. Will recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thefannypack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Libertad
0.5 mi away
Hotel Los Farallones
Hotel Los Farallones
#1 of 3 in La Libertad
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roca Sunzal Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Casa de Mar
Casa de Mar
#1 of 1 in El Sunzal
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Boca Olas Resort Villas
Boca Olas Resort Villas
#1 of 2 in El Tunco
189 reviews
1.4 mi away
SABAS Beach Resort
SABAS Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in La Libertad
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tunco Lodge
Tunco Lodge
#3 of 20 in La Libertad
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco del Mar

Property: Eco del Mar
Address: Playa El Tunco, La Libertad, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > La Libertad Department > La Libertad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Specialty Lodging in La Libertad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco del Mar is located in the heart of El Tunco sorrounded by tropical forest, just walking distance from La Bocana and Sunzal breaks. Our hotel offers completely equipped rooms with 3 beds, a/c, cable tv, dvd, refrigerator, small oven and private bathroom.Located next to some of the finest surfing beaches in the world, only mere meters from the beach providing “out the front door” surfing. The hotel itself is a unique experience, it is sorrounded by trees so you can sit and relax on the deck to appreciate nature.In this enchanting small apartment hotel you will enjoy relaxation, adventure and surfing.Eco del Mar is a hotel made by surfers for surfers with a deep love for our oceans and the environmentEco del Mar is your best accomodation option in El Tunco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Eco del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Del Mar El Salvador/La Libertad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing