We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco del Mar is the perfect place to stay in El Tunco”
Review of Eco del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eco del Mar
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
“Eco del Mar is the perfect place to stay in El Tunco”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

If you want comfort and great experiences in La Libertad area, look no further. Playa El Tunco is a safe, friendly small town with just enough night life and relaxation. From here you can venture out in to La Libertad and the other smaller beach towns.

The rooms at the Eco del Mar have A/C, surf board rentals, swimming pool, outdoor shower, fans, comfortable beds, fantastic balcony with hammock which is great for relaxing and watching.

Carlos (AKA El Avion) is the consummate host, making you feel welcome and comfortable. He knows everyone, so if you have any questions about ANYTHING El Salvador, he is the man to ask.

The swimming pool is a must in this environment because of the weather and the beach can be too dramatic with currents. There is not sand on the beach in the rainy season here.

Great for couples or small groups. There really isn't much to do in the area besides eat, sleep and surf. So you better get a comfortable place to stay. Eco del Mar is the perfect place to do this.

Room Tip: For great hammock views, stay on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mortypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    29
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
41
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utila, Honduras
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Wow what a little gem...

After being a little bit aprehensive about going to El Salvador, we were recommended Eco Del Mar by some friends we met in Nicaragua. After arriving with tica bus from Nicaragua, we were astonised to see how developed El Salvador was compared to other Central American countries.

We arranged to have a taxi pick us up from San Salvador & on arrival to Eco Del Mar, we were greeted by Carlos our main man and my girlfriends surfing instructor at the lodgings. Carlos runs the place and made us feel so welcome from day one. We both highly recommend staying at Eco Del Mar where they have everything that you could want including perculated coffee machine (thank you carlos). The rooms were spacious, modern, clean and 15 second walk from the beach in the town of El Tunco. El Tunco, where everyone is super friendly has everything you need including Belgium beers next door in the pizzeria and security on the street. We have never felt so safe and welcomed as we did here in any other part of Central America. We will definitely be back and will be staying here.

You can do your shopping at the big supermarket in La Libertad (a 15min bus ride away & 50 cents) if you want to take advantage of the mini kitchen within the room. Otherwise, all of the cafes & restaurants in town were delicious & good value.

Thank you Carlos, Wendy, Roberto and the team for making our month a great one.

Room Tip: get in early because the place fills up
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Eco Del Mar presents very well, but we had several problems. The shower pressure was very poor, it would not remove sand off our bodies and did not rinse shampoo out of our hair. The sheets on the bed were very poor. We both had numerous mosquitoes bites on our arms and legs from the many bugs that were in the room. The hotel staff were very nice and apologetic, however, for the price we paid, we would not recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calsurb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eco_del_Mar_Hotel, Owner at Eco del Mar, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please accept or most sincere apologies for the inconveniences presented during your stay. The hotel is currently connected to a new water source and has better shower pressure and we have improved the quality of our bed sheets. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Carlos and Wendy were amazing. Carlos was always willing to help and spoke very good English. The rooms were very clean and cozy. There are four hammocks and 5 rooms so the ratio is pretty good. It's right down the street from the beach. I couldn't have picked a better place to stay in La Libertad.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearnicely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

This hotel is on the same little dirt path that the Tortuga hostel is on, and steps away from the La Bocana beachbreak. El Sunzal is a short walk down the beach, and also all the beach bars. Overall the hotel was very comfortable, clean and quiet. We stayed for 8 days and heard other people in the rest of the hotel only a couple times. There are board rentals available and the staff (Wendy and Carlo) are especially cheerful and extremely helpful. The only complaint I may have had was that the satellite TV didn't work, but they had a small collection of fun DVD's to veg out to.

They recently added a pool during our stay, which was very nice to dip into during the hot afternoons. While we had one of the upstairs air-conditioned rooms, the lower rooms do not have them, so the pool might be a great boon.

A wonderful visit, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gnar_gurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2011

First time in El Tunco. What a nice place, surfers everywhere, the ambiance was very easy going. Hotel eco del mar, was a litte pearl between the trees. What a great place, surround by nature. The beach is just a minute away. Wachting night surfing was fantastic. The room was nice and big. I would recommend it to everyone.
Yes, we will go back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markal1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Excellent stay, 2 steps from the beach and the nightlife but still quite at night, very friendy and helpful managers and staff

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ullapeppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Libertad
0.5 mi away
Hotel Los Farallones
Hotel Los Farallones
#1 of 3 in La Libertad
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa de Mar
Casa de Mar
#1 of 1 in El Sunzal
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boca Olas Resort Villas
Boca Olas Resort Villas
#1 of 2 in El Tunco
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
SABAS Beach Resort
SABAS Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in La Libertad
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tekuani Kal
Hotel Tekuani Kal
#10 of 21 in La Libertad
102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mopelia
Hotel Mopelia
#1 of 4 in El Tunco
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco del Mar

Property: Eco del Mar
Address: Playa El Tunco, La Libertad, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > La Libertad Department > La Libertad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Specialty Lodging in La Libertad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco del Mar is located in the heart of El Tunco sorrounded by tropical forest, just walking distance from La Bocana and Sunzal breaks. Our hotel offers completely equipped rooms with 3 beds, a/c, cable tv, dvd, refrigerator, small oven and private bathroom.Located next to some of the finest surfing beaches in the world, only mere meters from the beach providing “out the front door” surfing. The hotel itself is a unique experience, it is sorrounded by trees so you can sit and relax on the deck to appreciate nature.In this enchanting small apartment hotel you will enjoy relaxation, adventure and surfing.Eco del Mar is a hotel made by surfers for surfers with a deep love for our oceans and the environmentEco del Mar is your best accomodation option in El Tunco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Eco del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Del Mar El Salvador/La Libertad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing