We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surf, eat, drink, sleep... repeat. Basic place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Sombra Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Libertad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Sombra Hostel
Haleiwa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surf, eat, drink, sleep... repeat. Basic place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at La Sombra. It's a very basic place. If you're a surfer, it's all you need. Easy barefoot walk on the beach access gets you to "La Bocana" surf break. It's a 10 minute walk to paddle out at El Sunzal. There's a laundry business nearby, although a bit expensive. The pool is super clean. There's an outdoor shower to use after you get back from surfing. Wifi signal is good in the common area, and a little weaker in the rooms (upstairs). There's a very basic outdoor kitchen and refrigerator you can use, but it REALLY needs new cookware. Don't count on good pots and pans. Free coffee and water refills. I recommend labeling your food and beer to avoid any confusion.
It was a mostly a younger crowd during our stay. So if that's where you fit, then you'll enjoy meeting a bunch of people. If you're sensitive to cigarette smoke, you may consider a room further away from the outdoor common area. Of course it all depends on who's staying... Some are more polite than others. We stayed in a double with a private bath and a floor fan for $20 a night. Seems to be one of the cheapest in El Tunco. Heard the dorm is around $7 a night. Easy to get cold beer nearby.
Hints: 2 ATMs in El Tunco, don't accept MasterCard, but I think Visa is okay. Good grocery store and more ATMs are in La Libertad at "El Faro" mall. Talk to locals about the busses.... We found out the San Salvador busses aren't always running. We got lucky catching the only one of the day on a Wednesday.
Basically, you're here to surf, eat, drink beer, sleep... Repeat.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    20
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
29
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

There are a lot of places to stay in El Tunco, but this is a great hostel, that is close to the action, but quiet and laid back. It has been around for years and has the vibe of the easy going traveller and surfer. If you want to head to the party and the restaurants you don't have to go far, but if you want to hang out in a hammock or by the pool reading a book, you don't have to hear the thump of music all night. As a woman traveling, I always felt safe here. The staff is courteous and helpful and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have been in many hostels across South America during our 5 month trip and this was definitely one of the better ones. We chose a private room with bathroom and AC and fan for just $30 per night. Although the water is a little smelly, the bed is comfy and the place looks great. The verandas overlooking the pool and forest are great and good place to chill in the hang mat. The open kitchen and common area are basic but just right and of course the best part is the clean and cool pool! Everyone sort of hangs around there so it's great to get to know everyone and share stories.

Highly recommended when coming to El Tunco!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timmeronline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trollhattan, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed one night in La Sombra since we discovered bed bugs in our bed. Had a private room on the top floor. Have in mind to check your bed before you sleep there! The owner seemed responsible about it though. Its only one shower and one toilet to share which is not enough for that many rooms. On the plus side they had an OK pool and the fan was great!

Room Tip: Had bed bugs on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronjaandguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose P, Propietario at La Sombra Hostel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thanks for your opinion, we are changing some beds and are working on new bathrooms, my apologies for your bad experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

La Sombra hostel was part of our trip through central america surprised to find a budget place with a very relaxing vibe and clean room is one of the best hostels we visited on our trip much we loved the combination of the beach and its little world of trees and birds that offers around of the hostel is a good place to make friends my favorite part was the pool I recommend this place 100%, Thank you Jose

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eduardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Was staying at La Sombra for about a week, enjoyed it for a while, until a very strange night went to pass. We went for dinner and then returned my friend who'd changed from a private to the dorm was met with the owner, who's name is Josue, sitting in the common room next to my friend's backpack. We were all in high spirits because we'd come from a fun dinner, and Josue is sitting there telling my friend that he can't stay in the dorm because there'd been a reservation. We looked to the dorm, no one was in the bed. My friend asked if he could stay in a hammock then for $5 or something, as it was already nearly 11pm and he didn't want to leave the group. Josue, the owner, then said 'no' that my friend had to leave. We were all confused, as we'd been at dinner and there no reason why he would have to leave. My friend then said "Can I stay in a private room then?" ..."No, you have to leave" My friend tried to discuss whatever the issue was with the owner, calmly trying to find out the reason for his forced departure, as did I and a few others, because we all wanted him to stay. Eventually the owner got bored and asked his Box-head security guard to grab my friends bag and throw it out of his hostel. we were all totally confused, and decided the next day to follow my friend out as well, but what of him for the night? Luckily there was a guy at dinner with us who was driving to Santa Tecla and, as my friend had to go to San Salvador the next day anyway, it seemed logical just to get a ride and get his business done the next day. I went with him. Now, after arriving to San Salvador, that's when we realised WHY my friend had been kicked out. He had had about $500 in his backpack when we went to dinner, because his bank card was falling apart and he was scared of its future abilities. When we got to our new place in San Salvador, he checked his bag because we needed to pay... nothing. ALL his money was gone, luckily I went with him and could pay for the room. We are suspecting that the 'laid back' owner might be getting into the white rocks, because his attitude had been flipping and he'd been acting weird, but we didn't expect to find out the OWNER had stolen from one of his guests, then kicked him out for safe and good measure. WTF!!!?? This comes after hearing how another guest was robbed in the dorm as well, but everyone had suspected it was another guest, now, we are not too sure. Very dodgy. I wouldn't recommend it at all. Luckily there are plenty of other places to stay nearby of the same value. Good luck!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LukeSmith132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose P, Owner at La Sombra Hostel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Our team understands your bad intentions with your review but the real story you can read in the others reviews from our customers, good luck....always the best ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

La Sombra was as it said, Manuel cleaned our room to perfection, the birds sang and nested in the trees,it is feet away from great surf and yards from great food (opposite the entrance to the side road!)
We stayed for ages and loved it!

HOOKS JOSE!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We had the newest end double which was perfect for us, but the older ones have a shadier balcony in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelemcinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Libertad
1.4 mi away
SABAS Beach Resort
SABAS Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in La Libertad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Los Farallones
Hotel Los Farallones
#1 of 3 in La Libertad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boca Olas Resort Villas
Boca Olas Resort Villas
#1 of 2 in El Tunco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roca Sunzal Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Tunco Lodge
Tunco Lodge
#3 of 21 in La Libertad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eco del Mar
Eco del Mar
#1 of 28 in La Libertad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sombra Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sombra Hostel

Property: La Sombra Hostel
Address: Calle Litoral Km. 42 | Playa El Tunco, La Libertad, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > La Libertad Department > La Libertad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Specialty Lodging in La Libertad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Sombra Hostel. Within just a few minutes' walk you can enjoy the beach with 4 surf spots La Bocana left point, Bocanita beach break , Sunzalito beach break and Sunzal good right point. For just a few minutes' walk, you can enjoy Restaurants, Bars, ATN, Laudry and Mini markets and you can catch a minibuses to Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua. Our accommodation is perfect for budget travellers and backpackers, we have kitchen which you can use, surfboards for rent, swimming pool, 24 hours security, wi-fi, and Free coffee every morning, Come and share the experience of Playa El Tunco with us. You will really enjoy your stay!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Sombra Hostel El Salvador/La Libertad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing