We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surf. Solitude. Service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mizata Point Resort
Ranked #1 of 21 La Libertad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tofino
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surf. Solitude. Service.”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Mizata Point Resort offers three of the things I love most- surf, solitude and great service! The surf was ridiculously under-crowded (we scored the point break all to ourselves TWICE!), both the resort and the beach are beautiful, quiet, private and extremely relaxed, and everything about the service exceeded our expectations (George even baked me a chocolate cake for my birthday!). Try the shrimp skewers- they are amazing! And give yourself at least a few nights here to relax and enjoy the luxuries of a little tropical paradise. Thank you George and team!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyheartros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    22
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
25
50
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Del Mar, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

What a great spot in the middle of the jungle.vExcelant food, and staff, with beautiful rooms, right on the beach. Surf is fun and uncrowded, the location and ammenities are top shelf, with delicous creme brulee! I will be back! Robert Houston

Room Tip: Every room is right on the ocean, with pristine views of what El Salvador is all about!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent 5 nights in mizata point resort and was awesome the food quality and quantity exceed my expectation and the resort is clean comfy and everything you need for a familly vacation.George and his familly are very welcoming and great host(George picked up himself from our last surf spot) rooms are big might need a fridge to be more accomodating.Beach start in mixed sand and cobblestone and end in a nice sandy beach with great sunset.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Gr8 stay at Mizatapoint resort for 6 nights. Were there in September -12. Its completly new built. The rooms are large, very very nice beds. Satelite tv. The bathroom is beautiful, and also with warm water. Wonderful family how runs the place. They cook exellent food! Missed refrigiator in the room. In restaurant they were some bugs, should smoke out this. Seen it been done at other places. The pointbreak dident really work for us, some locals surfed it the first day, stone hazard. Not the reef break either. The beachbreak is fun. A couple of peaks, friendly locals at the beach and in the water. 2-8 surfers in the water max, not crowded at all. If you want to surf uncrowded beachbreak this is the place. Dont leave anything at the beach tho. Mizata is a nice place and im sure in a couple of years there will pop out some more hotels in the area.
Good value for the price of the rooms including breakfast.Best place so far in El Salvador.

Kalle from Sweden

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kallegbg81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at Mizata point resort for a week and wish it could have been a month. Everything is as advertised, clean comfy room, excellent service and hospitality, and wonderful food, and of course waves. Uncrowded surf is what you dream of, and this place delivers, it stayed between solid chest to a few feet overhead our entire stay. The beaches are clean, the locals are freindly, and the veiws are amazing. George and Wendy, the owners, are super hosts, they really make you feel at home. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a spectacular surf getaway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had an amazing time at Mizata Point Resort, and it was definitely the best and most welcoming experience we've had throughout our entire time in El Salvador! We stayed here for 3 nights and George, the owner, made us feel like we were right at home. George made us breakfast and dinner while we were here, and his wife and kids are absolutely adorable! They are also one of the only places we came across that has running hot water, and all the facilities are extremely clean!

We stayed during turtle hatching season and turtles come up to Mizata Beach to lay their eggs... you can watch the action if you get lucky just a few feet away from your bedroom!

Mizata Point Resort has direct access to the beach, and it is pristine and basically your own! If you are into surfing, you can catch major waves at the point break every day :) The point and the beach are visible from almost every room, and you can fall asleep to the sound of the waves at night! The entire staff is so friendly, from the security guard to the guide and surf instructor that was SO helpful to us! The prices are extremely reasonable, we had a spacious, wonderful room with AC and 2 queen beds and an amazing bathroom for $80 a night... PARADISE! Also, breakfast was included!

This place is so great I almost want to keep the secret to myself :) But I will highly urge anyone traveling to El Salvador to stay here if they are going to be in the area!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephtc87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Had a fantastic time at Mizata Surf Resort. Came in July and enjoyed amazing consistent head high to overhead waves. The resort was clean, comfortable, relaxing and beautiful and the owner was very gracious. The food was delicious!!! We had fresh lobster tacos one night that were incredible and inexpensive. Loved walking around the town, as it is one of the more remote and uncrowded places in El Salvador. Highly recommended for getting great waves to yourself!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Libertad
14.9 mi away
Hotel Los Farallones
Hotel Los Farallones
#1 of 3 in La Libertad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
15.8 mi away
SABAS Beach Resort
SABAS Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in La Libertad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
14.6 mi away
Boca Olas Resort Villas
Boca Olas Resort Villas
#1 of 2 in El Tunco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Casa de Mar
Casa de Mar
#1 of 1 in El Sunzal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
14.2 mi away
Roca Sunzal Hotel & Restaurant
14.5 mi away
Hotel Tekuani Kal
Hotel Tekuani Kal
#7 of 21 in La Libertad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mizata Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mizata Point Resort

Property: Mizata Point Resort
Address: Lote 15 Santa Lucia, Mizata | Km 86 Careetra Litoral, La Libertad, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > La Libertad Department > La Libertad
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in La Libertad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mizata Point Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Where tranquility and peace meet great surf." Quiet, uncrowded surfing resort with private rooms with all the necessities, pool, restaurant, almost on the water rooms with views to die for. For the surfer looking for the out of the ordinary place to stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mizata Point Resort El Salvador/La Libertad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing