We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mizata Point Resort
Ranked #1 of 21 La Libertad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pismo Beach, California
1 review
“Sweet Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Had a fantastic time at Mizata Surf Resort. Came in July and enjoyed amazing consistent head high to overhead waves. The resort was clean, comfortable, relaxing and beautiful and the owner was very gracious. The food was delicious!!! We had fresh lobster tacos one night that were incredible and inexpensive. Loved walking around the town, as it is one of the more remote and uncrowded places in El Salvador. Highly recommended for getting great waves to yourself!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    22
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
25
49
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Mizata Point resort is the nicest place I've stayed in El Salvador, and at very reasonable rates. From your front porch of your cabina you can look out directly into the point break, million dollar view, uncrowded and excellent wave, beautiful beach, and totally undeveloped. The owner is extremely nice and personable, an American guy, and he loves to grill American "down home" cooking in the evenings for his guests. Rooms are very clean and built to high standards--cleanest and nicest bathrooms I've seen in Central America. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Stopped by here on a month trip through El Salvador, primarily to surf. Found the owner to be a real friendly and interesting guy with an obvious eye for detail. For the prices of this place there is a ton of attention to detail and the construction is atypically solid and finished for this area. All the food was good (burger was the most U.S. style I've had in this country. Don't get me wrong I like the local burgers, but sometimes you crave what you are used to).
Really don't have a bad thing to say about the place..good surf break, not very crowded, really friendly local surfers and staff, and all for over half the price you'd pay for the same thing in El Tunco or somewhere like Costa Rica (and you'd deal with a much more crowded break on top of it).

Room Tip: He has a couple of rooms with a view of the point break, I would go with those if they are open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank branden157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I just visited Mizata Point at the end of a surf trip up the coast of El Salvador, and I was pleasantly surprised with the entire experience. We had a lovely clean room right on the beach and could literally check out the surf from the comfort of our spacious bed! Unlike many of the other locations we visited, we had the waves to ourselves and the beaches were pleasantly void of other tourists. The owner George and his family were fantastic, and with the help of the ever smiling chef Mike, they kept us full of great food, warm company and plenty of cold beer! Will happily be returning to Mizata at the next opportunity before the hoards of surfers discover this little piece of paradise.

Room Tip: they all have ocean views so you cant go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elesha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
84 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

My fiance was looking for a nice surf spot and I was looking for a nice room, good food and a pool. We were so lucky to find this resort! The rooms are big, clean, and air conditioned with great bathrooms and comfortable beds. The area is very nicely landscaped, well maintained and very safe. It's right in front of a nice right point break that can get very powerful. I could literally see my fiance surfing from our room and from the pool! The food was delicious and the outdoor covered restaurant area is perfect for relaxing in the shade. The owners, George and his wife Wendy were amazing! I unfortunately got very sick from eating at a roadside restaurant down south and they took great care of me. Wendy even took me to the clinic up the street and made me chicken soup! We really can't say enough about this resort and the owners. We highly recommend staying here and will definitely stay here next time we're in El Salvador!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmegeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

One of the best resorts I have ever been to. I do not exaggerate. If you look through the photos set up online, I can personally promise that is exactly what Mizata Resort is. There is no false advertising here. Food is great with a full range of breakfast, lunch, and dinner, rooms are cleaned daily unless asked not to do so (with full control AC), the nearest town is about 45 minutes away so you're pretty much guaranteed an empty line-up, and if you happen to break your board the resort can rent out longboards, shortboards, or fishes if preferred. Rooms are a little expensive but you can cram 4 people per room and if you split that $65 into 4 people thats about $17 a night! Workers here are very nice and if respectful to the locals they will definitely be one of your friends.

Clean rooms that can comfortably occupy 4 surfers, plenty of surfboard rentals (i saw about 8 boards in the back), an empty lineup with warm water, and on-call masseuse.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpap4271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mizata P, Owner at Mizata Point Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
This review is not for my hotel. there was a mix up on your end and this response is for another hotel. Please remove this response from my page
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

i usually am not one to criticize, but i was very unsatisfied with the mizata resort. very first thing, the bathroom in our hotel smelled horrible!! i found the source, which was a large amount of rat poop. the rooms were decent, nothing special what-so-ever. this is ok, but not when you're paying $65 a night, to stay in a secluded resort. the food menu was unaccpetable. they had nothing to offer....nothing. their menu states that they even have "an exclusive menu," if you choose to see it.........whatever, not true. also, this is a surf resort, and your advertising is tremendously geared toward this type of traveler. however, how is it that you have literally 4 surf boards for rent, that's it! the closest town is over 45 minutes away, and you only have 4 surfboards! luckily, the people working for this resort, are very friendly, and try to help as much as possible. the owners are obviously thieves. rat poop, overpriced, no surfboards, and no food........nuff said.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank photogalnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mizata P, Owner at Mizata Point Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
This review is not for my hotel. There has been a mix up between my hotel and another. Please remove this response from my page
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Libertad
14.9 mi away
Hotel Los Farallones
Hotel Los Farallones
#1 of 3 in La Libertad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
15.8 mi away
SABAS Beach Resort
SABAS Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in La Libertad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
14.6 mi away
Boca Olas Resort Villas
Boca Olas Resort Villas
#1 of 2 in El Tunco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Casa de Mar
Casa de Mar
#1 of 1 in El Sunzal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
14.2 mi away
Roca Sunzal Hotel & Restaurant
14.5 mi away
Hotel Tekuani Kal
Hotel Tekuani Kal
#8 of 21 in La Libertad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mizata Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mizata Point Resort

Property: Mizata Point Resort
Address: Lote 15 Santa Lucia, Mizata | Km 86 Careetra Litoral, La Libertad, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > La Libertad Department > La Libertad
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in La Libertad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mizata Point Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Where tranquility and peace meet great surf." Quiet, uncrowded surfing resort with private rooms with all the necessities, pool, restaurant, almost on the water rooms with views to die for. For the surfer looking for the out of the ordinary place to stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mizata Point Resort El Salvador/La Libertad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing