We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay, nice wave, awesome hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mizata Point Resort
Ranked #1 of 20 La Libertad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“great place to stay, nice wave, awesome hosts!”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My fiance was looking for a nice surf spot and I was looking for a nice room, good food and a pool. We were so lucky to find this resort! The rooms are big, clean, and air conditioned with great bathrooms and comfortable beds. The area is very nicely landscaped, well maintained and very safe. It's right in front of a nice right point break that can get very powerful. I could literally see my fiance surfing from our room and from the pool! The food was delicious and the outdoor covered restaurant area is perfect for relaxing in the shade. The owners, George and his wife Wendy were amazing! I unfortunately got very sick from eating at a roadside restaurant down south and they took great care of me. Wendy even took me to the clinic up the street and made me chicken soup! We really can't say enough about this resort and the owners. We highly recommend staying here and will definitely stay here next time we're in El Salvador!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephhatchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    22
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
25
51
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2010

One of the best resorts I have ever been to. I do not exaggerate. If you look through the photos set up online, I can personally promise that is exactly what Mizata Resort is. There is no false advertising here. Food is great with a full range of breakfast, lunch, and dinner, rooms are cleaned daily unless asked not to do so (with full control AC), the nearest town is about 45 minutes away so you're pretty much guaranteed an empty line-up, and if you happen to break your board the resort can rent out longboards, shortboards, or fishes if preferred. Rooms are a little expensive but you can cram 4 people per room and if you split that $65 into 4 people thats about $17 a night! Workers here are very nice and if respectful to the locals they will definitely be one of your friends.

Clean rooms that can comfortably occupy 4 surfers, plenty of surfboard rentals (i saw about 8 boards in the back), an empty lineup with warm water, and on-call masseuse.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpap4271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mizata P, Owner at Mizata Point Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
This review is not for my hotel. there was a mix up on your end and this response is for another hotel. Please remove this response from my page
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

i usually am not one to criticize, but i was very unsatisfied with the mizata resort. very first thing, the bathroom in our hotel smelled horrible!! i found the source, which was a large amount of rat poop. the rooms were decent, nothing special what-so-ever. this is ok, but not when you're paying $65 a night, to stay in a secluded resort. the food menu was unaccpetable. they had nothing to offer....nothing. their menu states that they even have "an exclusive menu," if you choose to see it.........whatever, not true. also, this is a surf resort, and your advertising is tremendously geared toward this type of traveler. however, how is it that you have literally 4 surf boards for rent, that's it! the closest town is over 45 minutes away, and you only have 4 surfboards! luckily, the people working for this resort, are very friendly, and try to help as much as possible. the owners are obviously thieves. rat poop, overpriced, no surfboards, and no food........nuff said.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank photogalnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mizata P, Owner at Mizata Point Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
This review is not for my hotel. There has been a mix up between my hotel and another. Please remove this response from my page
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Libertad
14.9 mi away
Hotel Los Farallones
Hotel Los Farallones
#1 of 3 in La Libertad
185 reviews
15.8 mi away
SABAS Beach Resort
SABAS Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in La Libertad
85 reviews
14.6 mi away
Boca Olas Resort Villas
Boca Olas Resort Villas
#1 of 2 in El Tunco
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Casa de Mar
Casa de Mar
#1 of 1 in El Sunzal
126 reviews
14.2 mi away
Roca Sunzal Hotel & Restaurant
14.5 mi away
Hotel Tekuani Kal
Hotel Tekuani Kal
#7 of 20 in La Libertad
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mizata Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mizata Point Resort

Property: Mizata Point Resort
Address: Lote 15 Santa Lucia, Mizata | Km 86 Careetra Litoral, La Libertad, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > La Libertad Department > La Libertad
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in La Libertad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mizata Point Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Where tranquility and peace meet great surf." Quiet, uncrowded surfing resort with private rooms with all the necessities, pool, restaurant, almost on the water rooms with views to die for. For the surfer looking for the out of the ordinary place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Mizata Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mizata Point Resort El Salvador/La Libertad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing