We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Hotel Tekuani Kal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tekuani Kal
Ranked #7 of 20 La Libertad B&B and Inns
Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We enjoyed this beachfront hotel. Staff was very accomadating. They had security guards at both entrances. Kids loved the two small beautiful pools. Free breakfast was very good. Loved relaxing in the hammocks on the beach. We were able to rent surfboards inexpensively in town (5 minute walk). Local restaurants were good. Only complaint was the shower (no hot water). But, it was so hot outside, shower was almost refreshing.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tailwhipped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    39
    25
    10
    5
See reviews for
19
36
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

My family and I stayed here for one night in the double rooms on the bottom level. Upon entering the hotel grounds, you'll fall in love with the lush landscapes and unique art pieces. It's so beautiful! They have small infinity pool which also flows into a waterfall down the rocks to another small pool that they refer to humorously as the "spa." Both are fantastic. We ate in the restaurant and the service and food were both very good.

My only con and it's a big one, are the rooms. The ones that we stayed in were actually carpeted - who's idea what that??? They were stained and smelled moldy as most places on the beach tend to get. The bed frames were cement - old and rock hard. Luckily, I like a firm mattress. Our toilet was leaking and the shower is one stream of cold water that comes out of a bamboo pipe. I felt like I needed to wear a decontamination suit in this place - the blankets were dirty too.

Needless to say, the rooms really need improvement. This place has so much potential but I hated being in our room for more that 5 minutes. I'm torn on whether I'd stay there again.

Also, You should also know that the beach at El Tunco is littered with large rocks that make getting to the water quite difficult. The waves are enormous and t5he current is pretty strong so bring your sea legs.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kmart820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Libertad hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Went for my yearly visit to El Salvador to visit family and spent a day and a half at this hotel, what a nice relaxing end to my vacation!

We went during the middle of the week, so the place was less crowded, about 4 of the 7 rooms were taken. I believe there are 4 on the second floor and 2 on the first floor. I think the suite was behind the main area of the hotel, by the entrance and did not have an ocean view. The food was delicious, I had lobster and my wife had some skewers, they do have exotic items like iguana, rabbit, and stuff of the like, but seafood was the most I would experiment with!

The beach in front of the hotel is rather rocky and its hard to bathe in if thats your sort of thing. There is a less rockier beach down by where the main strip is located and thats about a 5 minute walk. The views are amazing and so beautiful, but you do get to see the strength of the ocean!

My wife and I spent most of our time at the pool, which was small, but had the best view of the ocean. We were here by ourselves pretty much the whole time! but I think if there were a few more people it would seem awkward as it really is small so be aware of that. There is enough room for about 4 beach chairs total.

There are hammocks down by the ocean so you can spend time down there if the pool is crowded. I did not see any attendants though if you want to order water, beer, drinks, etc, most of the time I just walked to the bar, which is near the pool and main dining area.

The rooms are nice and well kept, the AC was strong and cool so you could get a break from the heat, the waterfall from the pool is rather loud and some room are in front of it but it does get turned off around 8-9ish for a quiet nights sleep.

As someone previously stated, there is quite a bit of nightlife around this area. A short walk out of the main driveway gets you to quite a few restaurants, shops, etc...

All in all, this was a great find and a good value!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nycwbyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

After a lot of research sometimes you just have to a little faith and go for it. What a terrific Tekuani Kal provided. Great beach, wonderful service, lovely food, peaceful environment, great rooms for the price. You just cannot go wrong unless you need 5 star amenities. The wifi worked well, tv good, walking close to other restaurants. We were only going to stay a couple of nights but ended up stying a week. As a 60 year old couple we really enjoyed our stay to the max!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidG916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
625 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at TeKuani Kal after a week in San Salvador. This was a wonderful way to end our trip to El Salvador. Like any developing country, you can't expect modern functionality. However, the rooms were clean and pretty large. The beds were firm and comfortable, and the bathroom was large. Yes, all the water comes from one faucet, and it is all cold. But it is so hot here that a cold shower actually feels OK. Don't drink the water in El Salvador. Always buy bottled water for everything, including brushing your teeth. The room had a window type air conditioner which was noisy, but worked well.

The staff understand little English. We had several Spanish speakers in our group, so that was not a problem, but I knew enough phrases to get the basics. It is always worth dragging a phrase book with you.

The grounds are beautiful, with many small areas of different vegetation and ponds. It is a small property, but the landscaping of separate areas makes it seem bigger.

Supposedly there is free wireless access, but I could rarely get to most web sites. I connected only a couple of times for a brief period. Others in my group seemed to have better luck.

The pool is very small. The water runs down into it from a short waterfall, then runs over the edge of the pool (like an infinity pool) to a course that feeds the top of a lower waterfall near the beach side rooms. Looking over the edge of the pool is quite awesome. You are floating about 100 feet above the ocean. You look out over a wide expanse of surfer's paradise. This is apparently a well known surfing beach. There are plenty out their, and the waves are breaking good for some long rides.

Go down the steps to the ocean level. There are more rooms ocean level, with small areas in front for sun bathing. There is an outdoor shower, then a gate to the beach. There is a row of hammocks under a canopy of vines where we spent the better part of one whole day - sleeping, reading, watching the waves. The beach is pretty stony, with a few patches of black sand where you can actually swim. Mostly it is a surfing beach, so be careful not to get in their way. The water is bath water warm. At high tide, the water rolling back out to sea over the rocks makes a sound like hundreds of firecrackers, as the rocks roll on each other in this natural tumbler.

The sunset is amazing. I took several dozen pictures of it. None do justice.

The food here is good, and the prices not bad. We enjoyed breakfast (which comes with the room) and also bought lunch and dinner. We stayed away from the seafood because of a bad experience with amoebas back in San Salvador. They also have exotic dishes like Iguana.

Walk up the beach a little way and you run into all the surfer bars and hotels in the noisier section of Playa El Tunco. We were too tired to head up there at night, but the bars looked inviting. Open air, and ads for bands.

This was a very pleasant 2 1/2 days!

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms down near the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkrissel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
282 reviews
263 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

The hotel is situated in the laid back surfing village of Playa El Tunco which is just off the main coast road and around 40 minutes drive from San Salvador international airport. You enter the grounds of the hotel up a dirt track and then up a small incline to where the hotel buildings are situated on a small hill overlooking the sea. You enter the open plan hotel by crossing a fishpond on a wooden bridge and there are various quirky artefacts around the restaurant which overlooks the sea. There are 8 rooms - 4 on the upper floor have sea views, the ones below have a garden view but are just steps from the beach through the garden.

The rooms are made of wood- we had room 1 which was at the end of the block so had the best sea view. The room was simply decorated but clean. The bathroom had a shower with pebble base and the water came from a bamboo poll - it was cold water only but not a problem in the heat.

The hotel has a couple of small plunge pools, one is a an infinity style pool overlooking the sea, the other a more natural effect with water pouring in from above.

The staff were friendly and helpful but spoke little English. Breakfast was included in the price and was tasty and good quality.

The hotel is situated 10 minutes walk from the main ‘action’ of Playa El Tunco so is away from the noise that you would get from the hotels further down the road.

In summary, we liked Playa El Tunco and enjoyed ours stay at Tekuani Kal, though at $86 the price is quite expensive for El Salvador

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

After a 4-week organised tour of 5 countries in Central America, we felt that we wanted to relax a bit before returning home. Booked 4 nights at Tekuani Kal and although it looked nice on the website it turned out to be even better in reality!

Location right on the beach perfect for surfing or just having fun in the waves. There are also some hammocks in the shade if you would like to relax with a good book. Very tasty Salvadorian breakfast was included in the room rate and really good food was available from the restaurant, a good choice from a very varied menu. Restaurant / bar was in great location overlooking the sea. We were here two weeks before Chrsitmas and some days we seemed to be the only guests! Staff was very friendly and very good service was provided. I liked the room and the bathroom with the funny shower with stones on the floor. Only one negative: please replace the carpet in the rooms with wood or stone floor - you will always bring in some sand from the beach.....not easy to keep clean.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ulla V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Libertad
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Farallones
Hotel Los Farallones
#1 of 3 in La Libertad
185 reviews
1.4 mi away
SABAS Beach Resort
SABAS Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in La Libertad
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roca Sunzal Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boca Olas Resort Villas
Boca Olas Resort Villas
#1 of 2 in El Tunco
189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa de Mar
Casa de Mar
#1 of 1 in El Sunzal
126 reviews
21.6 mi away
Rancho Estero y Mar
Rancho Estero y Mar
#2 of 2 in San Luis Talpa
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tekuani Kal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tekuani Kal

Property: Hotel Tekuani Kal
Address: Playa El Tunco | Tamanique, La Libertad, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > La Libertad Department > La Libertad
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in La Libertad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tekuani Kal 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tekuain Kal is a small beachfront hotel located on Playa El Tunco, one one the best beaches in the world for surfing! We count with 12 rooms: 6 beachfront room, 2 suites and 4 other rooms. We have an ocean front restaurant, 2 pools (one infinity and one cascade), 1 bar, 1 temazcal (indian sweat lodge) and 1 massage room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tekuani Kal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tekuani Kal El Salvador/La Libertad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing