We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Swan at Ascott
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Lamb Inn(Shipton under Wychwood)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bell Hotel(Charlbury)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Swan & Minster Mill(Minster Lovell)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burford House(Burford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lamb Inn(Burford)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fox(Chipping Norton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveler rating
85
28
8
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
28
8
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubroaring firesauvignon blancfull englishboth nightsexploring the cotswoldsfish chipschipping nortonpuddingsunday eveninglarge bednight staylovely villagenext morningduckeggs benedictlocation is great
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 128 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We popped in to the Swan Inn for Lunch and what a gem of a Traditional Cotswold Inn we found.
Beautifully refurbished by new Owners, we had a wonderful Lunch served in the Patio Garden then joined the locals in the bar for drinks.
We are looking forward to a weekend stay soon in the boutique style en suite rooms after being shown around the inn by the charming owners.
Great Food and a good selection of Ales.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chentertain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Swan reopened under new management at the beginning of July having been sympathetically refurbished to a high standard. We have been three times in the last two weeks and were always received with the warmest of welcomes. The food is excellent, choose from bar or restaurant menu. The prices are very reasonable either way. Cozy relaxed atmosphere and no loud music. A warm welcome awaits you in the cozy bar, the restaurant or the garden.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

We had a great stay at this quiet little pub just South of Chipping Norton and North of Witney. The rooms were really comfortable and modern but the stars of the show (in no particular oder) were the pub atmosphere (no juke boxes or TVs), great beer and wine, superbly efficient and pleasant staff, and a wonderful menu - think Michelin star quality but not Michelin star prices! And all this in a quiet little village a short drive away from some Oxfordshire tourist traps and gorgeous countryside. Ricky Lait is a very welcoming host and his kitchen brigade and staff a group of real winners. Typical meal for 2 with wine is below £75 - a bargain for the quality you get.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonythebigfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Have just returned from a weekend stay at the Swan and felt compelled to write to say how much we enjoyed it - the welcome, the service, the room, the food, the beer, the location - everything was just perfect and made for a wonderfully relaxing trip.

The Swan offers a high quality yet personal service which is a million miles from the bland corporate approach experienced in so many 'top class' hotels. There was a willingness to help without being 'in your face' which struck just the right chord for us.

The quality of the food was exceptional with a varied and imaginative menu which made full use of fresh, local produce.

We would definitely recommend this hotel for the perfect weekend retreat in the Cotswolds!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

We stayed here for two nights in February. Everything was first class, from Richard, the owner, to the rooms, breakfast and dinner. We would certainly recommend this as a weekend getaway to recharge your batteries. We stayed in the Cocoon Room at the top of the building. The room has been refurbished to a very high standard but without losing any of it's olde worlde charm. We took dinner in the bar on both evenings - the menu and presentation of food would not be out of place in more expensive restaurants. The village is great to wander around and we found the locals to be very friendly - how often do you walk down your street to be greeted with a "hello" from all you meet! We will certainly put on our list to return at some time in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clb1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews