We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get to know the real Fiji”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wayalailai Ecohaven Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waya Lailai
Reviewed July 18, 2010

This was our second trip to Fiji and our first to the Yasawas. We chose Waya LaiLai because it is Fijian owned and operated. It was so relaxing and everyone welcomed you to what is essentially their home. Unless you were reading or actively doing something you were never alone and the more interest you showed in their way of life and culture the more you gained from the whole experience. Sure there was no hot water at the resort but with the sea temperature being 27 degrees and above who needs it. If you can't go a few days without a shower maybe this is not the place for you. The meals were regular and huge and there was always enough left over for seconds if wanted. Sometimes the meals were great and sometimes not to my taste but you can't please all the people all the time. The diving was beautiful and would recommend the sunrise trek to the wobbling rock. Definitely not a leisurely stroll but well worth it in the end. We will be going back to spend more time with our new Fijian friends.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Wayalailai Ecohaven Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 140 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2010

Hello all!
I am going to be as fair as I can be in this review. I stayed in the yasawas for three weeks. I went to a lot of places and this resort is horrible. Cold water.The rooms are small and dirty, with rats and huge black and yellow spiders that come into your room. Ok so say rats don't phase you.....
The food is served at set meal times. This means if you are like me and you have a good, normal appetite you will feel starved. They serve you tiny portions of ill-cooked and bad food 3 times a day and if you don't like cold rice and meat in a yellow sauce then you have to starve. Now, this may be hard to imagine. Getting small portions. How hard can that be?! Well I was of the same inclination until I actually stayed there and I was ravenous.
So painfully hungry. It was like eating a bowl of cereal for breakfast and then half of that for lunch and half for dinner. It was awful. You feel drained and without energy all day long. Truly.
The food is bad and not just slightly less than average bad. I am talking of vile food. Mustard was spread on spinach one night and chicken was covered in ketchup. The chicken was dry and one chicken was shared amongst 40 guests!I don't understand why people don't complain right there and then! People were cearly unhappy and not enjoying themselves. We chatted to at least half of the guests there. No-one is very content!
The staff charge you £3 for 15 minutes internet. That is just absurd.
The beach here is terrible. Shingley, covered in rocks and bland. Ever been to Thailand?Now there are some gorgeous beaches. Fiji can claim nothing on Asia.
The worst thing you can do is book a trip with the company "Awesome Adventures" or "South-Sea Cruises". They are a corrupt and terrible corporation. This resort is awful but even worse is booking your trip with that company. They sell trips to you at double the rate they are worth and try and keep costs in each resort to a minimum. They can give you hot water and better food. But they choose not to because they want maximum profit.
I seriously don't recommend this company or resort. As I have said in other reviews of the yasawa Islands, I am easy going and very fun loving so for me to be so disappointed by all these resorts is really quite a novelty to me. But this is what is was like.
I hope you find this useful and I want you to have a great trip. Don't go here!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalya050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

The Title for this review is true......

For those of you wishing to travel to the pristine Yasawa Islands then try to accomodate yourself at Wayalailai Eco Haven. It is the the gateway to the Yasawa Islands.

Should you wish to feel at home that is the place.

If you worried about your safety while trying to relax and enjoy then you have found it.

The staff and community are fabulous with lovely hearts that is willing to share with you their culture and experience out there...

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynn_nasaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

I stayed here for 4 nights at a beachside Bure. This resort was fantastic. The accomodation was surreal, large, spacious, clean and best of all facing the beach. The entire village had such a great community feel and you'd constantly see the friendly locals here and there with a "bula" greeting, it never grew old.

Food was excellent. Portions were just right and variety was great too. We had breakfast, afternoon tea, lunch and dinner all of which i found rather enjoyable. There was always salads for vegetarians and some days i almost couldn't finish the plate our servings were that generous, nice tropical food and some western food too.

Activities were great, myself and my travel partner barely had any time to just sit down and do nothing, there was so much to do here. My top reccomendations are Kayaking to the Island of Kuata (20-30 mins one way). It is open ocean Kayak so go in calm conditions, its amazing to just sit back in the middle of the two islands in serenity, the feeling of accomplishment and exploration of Kuata was unreal, two very different islands. I'd also reccomend the trek up to the rock of Wayalailai overlooking the resort, they do sunrise and sunset walks. I did the sunset, this is NOT an easy walk but i highly reccomend it, bring decent shoes and water - enjoy those perfect views of the Yasawa Island chain.

Nightlife was not so happening but things were always on. This is not a party island like beachcomber suited for partyhead backpackers, this resort is social, friendly, community feeling and calming. Yet there are a few nights which involve Kava Ceremonies, amazing fire shoes, guitar playing and some dance sessions that gets everybody involved, so there is fun during the nights, just nothing excessive. If your idea of fun is getting drunk and partying loud like its 1999, this might not be your island.

The beach is stunning but varies depending on the time of day and weather conditions, for the most part the beach was gorgeous and we often swam by the big black rock, infact we titled this our very own beach because we never saw anyone swim there except us. The wildlife on the other hand was lacking comparing to the neighbouring island of Kuata, i barely saw any animal life here, but there were some gorgeous fishes while snorkelling, yet nothing else too different. The amazing thing about this resort is the isolation, you feel like you are here alone and you only really see other tourists during meal times, otherwise explore and most importantly meet the locals. Meree the chef, Big Jerry the events co-ordinator, Barry the tour guide, Rachael the jeweler, Sara the office worker and much more, go out there say Bula to everyone and chat to the locals, most of them love it.

Overall i experienced perfection in this resort, an amazing and affordable experience that we will never forget. Thank you Wayalailai eco-resort for a magical time :-).

-Ramey and Martina
Australia, Sydney.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramio1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

I spent two nights in the dorms at Wayalailai as my introduction to the Yasawa islands, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Unlike other resorts, this one is right on the edge of the village, so you get more of a feeling of being a part of the village and not in your own little resort.

The food was ok - very carb heavy - and you aren't given any choice. Some fresh fruits or something more for breakfasts would have been nice.

The dorm was good, with plenty of ventilation and a good mattress.

The major issue was that the bathrooms beside the dorm had a sewer backup during my stay, so being in bed with that smell wafting through was not pleasant.

The beach isn't very good relatively speaking, but the scenery from hiking up and around the island is gorgeous.

For the price I paid (F$70/night), it was good value overall and I'd recommend it to other budget travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tch77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We did an Awesome Adventure tour which included staying on a number of islands and this one was by far the best! We stayed here for 2 nights and loved every minute!

If you choose to stay here, as an activity i recommend doing The Summit Walk which you can do at either sunrise or sunset. We did the sunset walk, which must've taken around 1 and a 1/2 hours up, 1 and bit hours down. You'll love Berry, he's the guide. He gives you a good little insight in to Fiji's and Wayalailai's history aswell as making you laugh alot through out the walk. The views from the summit will leave you speechless- remember to pack your camera and make sure it has plenty of battery life! We took a heap of photos all the way up to have the battery go completely dead when i went to take a photo of the view from the summit! Whoops!

There's lots to do here but another activity I recommend doing is, if you are ther on a Sunday, go to church! Not something I would often, if ever do of a Sunday back home but it was a great experience in Fiji. Berry, the summit walk guide is also the head of the Church Choir and teaches you a hymn to sing, and I mean teach, getting the girls to go for the high notes and all! The locals at church, when hearing the girls go for the high notes would clap their hands in appreciation of their efforts it was so funny. It was truely amazing to hear the beautiful voices coming from the children too.

I could go on forever... the beach volleyball with the locals, the waterskiing, the friendliest barman in the world, watching the sun rise laying back in the hammock...

Anyone who faults Wayalailai Ecohaven Resort, simply must have been looking for the time of their lives in all the wrong places!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HobartCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

I'm a huge fan of Wayalailai, as I was fortunate enough to make several visits here in 2007, spending a total of 8 weeks on the island. Wayalailai is a perfect choice for travellers who really want an authentic Fijian experience. It is an intimate resort operated by the local village, and you really get a chance to know the villagers. The same Fijians who drive the boat and carry your bags up the beach are the ones entertaining you in the evenings entertainment, which I find very charming.

First of all, the setting is stunning. Beautiful beach and lovely bures just up the hill. Besides incredible scuba diving and snorkeling (they have a PADI dive center on site), they have several daily activities available, based on guest demand. There is a gorgeous peak that overlooks the resort that you can take a guided hike to. This is best done as a sunrise hike, takes about 3 hours roundtrip. They have kayaks available for a small rental fee. You can easily paddle to a couple of small little beaches just to the left (as you look out at the water from the beach) of the resort. Each time I did this, there was nobody else there but me - your own private beach! Volleyball is available on the main resort beach - sometime organized matches, sometime not so much! They have different nighttime activities, such as beach bonfires and Fijian dance demos. Finally, there’s no shortage of wonderful hammocks to just stretch out in the shade and read.

There are a couple of small villages you can visit, one within a five minute walk, and couple of others a short boat ride away. You are welcome to wander over to the village next door and visit on your own, just be sure and respect their village customs (no hats, sunglasses, and cover your shoulders & knees). Remember that in Fiji their homes extend out into their gardens, so be respectful - but I wouldn't be surprised if you make friends! It's such a shame to come to this lovely place and just stay within the resort grounds the whole time - by all means, wander over and get to know the locals! They also have organized visits by boat to the larger villages on the island, including on Sundays to attend church service, which is meant to be incredible with the singing and all.

Regarding a bar and nightlife, they don't really have a fancy bar. Rather, they have a large outdoor patio attached to the dining hall, overlooking the water, with different arrangements of tables - some long for groups, some smaller for couples. The local vibe varies nightly depending who's on the island. If there are tons of backpackers, sometimes there will be a pretty energetic group party atmosphere that goes into the wee hours... other nights, not so much. Generally speaking, if you are looking to party hard and whoop it up, dancing to loud music til dawn, this is not the place! It is the perfect place, however, to sit around the kava bowl and appreciate the local pace of the islands.

What makes this place unique is the extent to which the staff are happy to include you in their regular social activities. There will usually be a few staff seated on a mat drinking kava, and as the evening goes on, the guitars come out and the singing begins, making for a truly special experience! Some of my favorite memories were after midnight when the generator shuts down, out come the kerosene lanterns, and the singing, guitar music and kava drinking continues by moonlight. The staff are genuine people; they won't put on fake smiles just to charm you, but if you approach them with respect and understanding for their culture, they are more than happy to share it with you. That is the charm of this place - if you show an interest and make friends, they are they warmest people in the world, and you'll get so much more out of your visit!

I could go on and on about Wayalailai.... if you have any specific questions, feel free to ask!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SafariGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waya Lailai
0.0 mi away
Naqalia Lodge
Naqalia Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waya Lailai
191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Nacula Island
1,408 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort
0.0 mi away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
455 reviews
0.0 mi away
Octopus Resort
Octopus Resort
#1 of 3 in Waya Island
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayalailai Ecohaven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayalailai Ecohaven Resort

Address: PO Box 6353, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Waya Lailai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waya Lailai
Price Range: $15 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Wayalailai Ecohaven Hotel Waya Lailai
Wayalailai Ecohaven Resort Fiji/Waya Lailai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing