We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff are cash hungry” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wayalailai Ecohaven Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wayalailai Ecohaven Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waya Lailai
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Staff are cash hungry”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stayed here in May 2012 with my boyfriend for 2 nights and couldn't wait to leave!

the location is beautiful and the rooms are pretty ok but the staff and service was horrendous!
on my first night i went to the bar to buy a bottle of wine which was $40, i handed the man Solomon a 50 and he held up a 10 and said i only gave a tenner! i didnt question it and handed him another 50! when i sat down i checked with my boyfriend about the amount of cash we had, and we knew we were missing 50! i went straight back to the bar and told him i was sure i gave him 50 in the first place, and he said yes! when i asked for it back he asked me for another tenner in exchange for a 20! he was just trying to confuse me, i got my 50 back in the end without an apology.
any time you go to the bar/restaurant the local people and staff are all lying on the floor and seem very unhappy about getting up when you ask them for anything from the bar!!

the resort claims to have electricity and hot water!! we had no hot water and the electricity is on for about 2 hours at night!! half of our light bulbs were gone and it was a struggle to get someone to change them!

we went to the village ladies to learn to weave, however the price changes as they feel like it, when it says $5 on the signs in the resort! they are also quiet pushy trying to sell you more and more jewellery!

on the second day we booked the sunset hike and i was asked for cash upfront and i said i would put it on the room and the man got really annoyed with me! when we were on our way we were told we couldnt go to the top unless we had a torch which we clearly weren't going to have! we went the half way and were told you dont actually see the sunset as it is the other side of the island! the man who brought us up again asked us for cash when we said we only had our card he still asked again and again!!

on check out the following morning we paid our bill at reception and two of the men came looking for my boyfriend later that day saying they wanted cash for the tour! they couldnt get into their heads that we were using our card at the resort!

the food was terrible and always cold even if you are there before they sound the drum!! to make things worse i got food poisoning from chicken on my second day which ruined my final day in fiji on the awesome adventures seaspray boat!!!

this resort was embarrassing!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcg88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    36
    27
    10
    14
See reviews for
11
66
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Hi Folks,

This time we give our comments in English so that as many people as possible can read it and hopefully the management and the staff or the resort as well.

We did quite some island hopping on the Yasawas and we saw good and bad resorts. We had basic food and 5* delux food. Wayalailai Ecoheaven was the 5th resort on our tour and please let us explain why we rated it as we did:

Staff: No welcome singing as you usually have - they carried our backpacks, but this was all. Then we got a short briefing in front of the office from a staff member. We are no native English speakers, but usually we understand the language. But what this gentleman was trying to tell us - sorry we did not really get it. Even our questions did not bring us any clear answers either he could not give understandable answers or just was not in the right mood for it. All other staff members were usually occupying the hammocks at the beach - of course always the ones well protected from the sun. So we could only choose to set up on the sand or in a hammock in the plain sun. All in all it appeared that rather the staff of the resort was enjoyning a nice holiday than guests.......

Food: Ok, just let's forget about this. A cruel mix of leftovers (from the staff?) and always cold. Of course, always the same. A hard bun with fish on top - at the first glance this looked like nouvel cuisine - but it ended to tast very badly.

Bure: We had booked a beach front bure which was of course not available. So we got one in the second row. The bure was spacious and nice furnished - to bad that we had no light. We went to search for someone to fix it and they tried - but at the end they just told us that the generator could not produce enough electricity. To bad for us that the TV for the staff had a higher priority than the light in the bures. So we ended in the bure at 09.00 with our single headlamp and asking us why we were there. In addition the staff must have seen the complaints on Tripadvisor about bed bugs - and done some treatment to the matress - unfortunately it must be some very strong chemical product, it started iching just in the minute we got to bed. So we used our silk sleeping bag. The second night we were given a beach bure - one with working light. Our neighbours there had for two nights the same problem as we had the night before - no light. At the day of departure we wanted to shower - but there was no water. Staff told us to fix it soon - maybe soon in another year or two......

Activities: We wanted to do the tour to the great rock to watch the sunrise. Unfortunately not enough people to do it. Two days in a row. Just the hand line fishing with Moses took place, maybe the only pleasant thing within these two days.

Other: The manager visited his resort on the day we left. About 10 minutes prior to his arrival all the staff was working (for once) and they even set up a kayak on the beach (we never saw it before) and the waitress in the kitchen was for once very busy. So apparently they would know how to do - but they just feel better not caring about guests and just pretending to do so when the boss comes for a visit. I do not need to tell you that he ate different food as all guests......

That's it - please check our other reviews of Yasawa Island resorts - there are some excellent ones!

Room Tip: Insist on beach front bure - then you have at least a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simone6005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waya Lailai hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

The beach here is pretty nice, the area is more of a bay as its such a big island compared to most. The bure was fine, fan/double-bed/ensuite...we didnt have any insect/bed bug problems which other people have mentioned. Like with a lot of the islands further away from the mainland, they run on generators for electricity which turns off about 11pm....so if you want to make use of the fan at night..best go to bed early :) As i said, the power is turned off at times of low use, but thats understandable.
The food here was pretty good..you can get seconds if you are quick enough, but sometimes you only get one serve. Like a lot of the other resorts also, you can buy snacks like chocolate/crisps if you want to.

One of the main attractions of this island is the amount of activities you can do here. As well as the norm snorkeling you can go reef shark snorkeling (which is amazing), go on an amazing hike up to the top of the island (this is a must do - only average fitness is needed), visit the nearby village and school, and although it sounds geeky - the weaving (rings/anklets ect) with the local women is great.

Every island is different and has different positives - for me this one was the activities. A great place to spend a couple of days before you move on to your next island.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stef933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
102 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

We spent 3 nights here, which was probably one too many. It is our second favorite, after Nabua Lodge.

The bures are ok, pretty big and spacey and looked more or less clean. There were some bedbugs in the dorms however, probably travelling from one island to another in the backpacks.

Food was pretty good, always a buffet and you can repeat.There is afternoon tea/coffee (free) with great cake (2 FJD).

The beach is nice but not nearly enough hamocks.

The setting is pretty dramatic, with the summit towering over the resort. We did the walk up there- it is VERY sweaty, but the views are well worth it. Its 10 FJD if you want a guide, but you can perfectly go on your own (just dont tell the staff :)

We also tried weaving bracelets with the local women, which was pretty nice.

There were some issues with some of the local men who hang out around the place (it is impossible that all of them worked there), specially in the evenings. One girl left some game cards on a table in the dining area, and some min later they were gone.. There was just her group of friends there and the local men. When she asked the group of men sitting there they said no (lying her in the face), becuz when she got really pissed the cards in some amazing way turned up (though some cards where missing).. The same happened with a pair of slippers and a football, and these didnt turn up.

Overall, a nice place but it does get a bit boring in the end... The evening entertainment is lame compared to other islands, but if you re happy just reading a book then this is the place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HannaF84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

The first thought about the stay in this hotel is the ocean coast. There is a very nice reef there and you may spend hours snorkeling there without going to organized trips. 100 methers away there was a rock where we could find tens of crabs. The resort is under giant rock where you can go for a trip twice per day. Summing up, the location is perfect.

We didn't stay in single bures but in the "lodge" (six rooms in the row, two used by the staff). Our room was clean but it was not modernized for a couple of years (it reminded me old-fashioned Eastern European resorts from 1970's). I think that private bures looked better.

The food was average - I can't understand why during our 4-night stay they didn't serve any fish.

The resort is run by the locals and one of the best things there is that you feel that the whole village is somehow employed there - they either clean the rooms or prepare the food or participate in evening "Fijian nights" for tourists. Such activities were every day and are really unforgettable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wfedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

We had no problem with bed bugs!
We stayed in a Bure which was wonderful - a real honeymoon paradise!
The food was excellent, and always plenty of it! The staff were all friendly and helpful. We went on a shark feeding trip to see reef sharks and it was great! You can snorkle from the beach.
There are plenty of spaces to relax in hammocks and watch the competative volleyball!
The local village is well worth a visit; I enjoyed the hand-weaving lesson!
We would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Pros: cute bures and layout. Location - this island has one of the best settings we saw of all islands, it's very beautiful. Good entertainment. Nice sunrise. Great Fijian night on Wednesday. Lots of activities to do around there.

Cons: bed bugs in bure so they switched us to another which had big cockroaches + even more bed bugs. Horrible! I was eaten alive. Don't think they deal with the issue at all.. they just air the mattress and put it back for the next sucker. No one stays more than 1-2 days so they don't care. No wifi - computer use is $5/30min (but no skype or downloading allowed and regular internet didn't even work while we were there). Beach isn't great at low tide as it has a bunch of coral and rocks - I cut my foot. Food was great (except for Fijian night on Wed). They ask for deposit for keys and towels ($10 each) - didn't give me a receipt even though I asked for one and then when I returned the towels to get my refund they asked me for a receipt. Not very organized! People are friendly but not much effort made when you have some issues. With better customer service and no bed bugs this would be a great place. Hope they improve and fix these problems!

Room Tip: Bring bed bug plastic cover otherwise roll the dice and hope you get a non-infested bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenpoint_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waya Lailai
0.0 mi away
Naqalia Lodge
Naqalia Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waya Lailai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Nacula Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.0 mi away
Octopus Resort
Octopus Resort
#1 of 3 in Waya Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barefoot Kuata Island
Barefoot Kuata Island
#1 of 1 in Kuata Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayalailai Ecohaven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayalailai Ecohaven Resort

Property: Wayalailai Ecohaven Resort
Address: PO Box 6353, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Waya Lailai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waya Lailai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Wayalailai Ecohaven Hotel Waya Lailai
Wayalailai Ecohaven Resort Fiji/Waya Lailai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing