We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Days in April”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Umbertide
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo Calagrana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Spent 5 great nites at this Argiturismo and will return again as just can't quit thinking of all the wonderful dishes Alberto served up. No restaurant after leaving this establishment exceeded what we received here. So nice to be able to just cross the yard and not worry about driving anywhere else, heavenly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue6816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 81 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have had a house in the Niccone valley for 20 years and we were so very pleased when Calagrana arrived to delight us with the superb cuisine of Albi and Ely. We are never disappointed and always bring our visitors to dine or lunch on a Sunday. The best view in the area as well as delicious food always brings us to Calagrana when we first arrive. The highlight of our first Sunday in Umbria is our lunch on the terrace overlooking the green hills. Sheer perfection for us and a view shared by all our friends. We might even have a musical interlude when Albi brings out his guitar for a singsong. All the produce is home grown and cooked to perfection by his team, try the pate with Ely's delicious chutney for starters, followed by home produced lamb, and the hot chocolate pots are to die for. My mouth is watering as I type. Love it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Steph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

A terrific Sunday lunch in Dec ... Not that easy to find ... The welcome was warm and the room even warmer... A good start on a bitterly cold snowy Dec day... The menu was tempting... Superb soup... Even better pasta...and on hot plates!!! Followed by fabulous pork....home produced!! Outstanding roast potatoes.. The wine list is of equal quality...and good value. A cheese board second to none ... Delightful desserts...a treat from beginning to end....
The locals are missing an amazing experience... None of them there!!!! We came away with Albertos cook book... For cook he can!!! This was our first visit to Calagrano but will be the first of many...Alberto follows the Golden Rule of Cooking... Good ingredients without too much fuss...working in the industry we know what works...

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank AUSTIN l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I attended the cooking school with Chef Alberto and it was fabulous!! He is a great teacher, sharing many tips and also providing a book with all the recipes and notes from the day. I highly recommend making the time to do this. We also enjoyed dinner twice a Alberto's charming restaurant -- each meal a delight. Italian flavors prepared to perfection with a hint of all that you love about Italy. It's a great place to visit and to linger with a glass of wine. The owners Alberto and Ely are just delightful and as gracious as can be. We look forward to the our return in a couple of years.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We sat on the terrace overlooking and valley and enjoyed a very good meal. The chef really is genuine and knows what he is doing. We had lamb, but the steak Fiorentino also looked and tasted good.
The ambiance allows one to feel intimate enough for privacy, and special as guests. This is a good place for a celebratory night out and the menu is wonderfully reliable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank francesofPadova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We've visited this area 3 times and find this one of the top-3 restaurants in the area. You're sitting with a great evening view of the Niccone valley and you are served very delicated prepared food. You simply have to go there, if your in the neighourhood. You need to book in advance (2-3 days before). If occupied, go to Locanda di Nonna Gelsa in Niccone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BacioDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Calagrana sits on a level area just below Bastia Creti in the beautiful Niccone Valley. The Agriturismo is a beautiful Casa Colonica from the 1800's and houses the owners and guest apartments. All are renovated, roomy, appointed beautifully with local fabrics. The restaurant is amazing. A true family affair! Alberto, Ely, Sophia, and Ollie, run the show. What a show it is. The dining room is a rustic delight with views out over the valley. Ely will greet you with a beautiful smile and a table. Sit down and enjoy a glass of Prosecco. Ely will sing out the menu. A difficult choice. The menu changes with the seasons and the Chiappas creativity. I don't care how much water i'm retaining, I go for three courses and dessert. The kitchen, a closet, where Albi works his magic, provides antipasto, pasta, and main courses. You taste buds will thank you for chicken liver pâté, pasta alla norcia, and porchetta al forno. The desserts are wonderful and go well with a coffee. Help your digestion with a glass of Grappa. Sit back and relax, remember you own the table for the night. On warmer nights the BBQ will be fired up. Please try it, you'll love it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ajschlarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umbertide hotels
8 mi away
Castello Valenzino
Castello Valenzino
#8 of 25 in Umbertide
310 reviews
7.5 mi away
Villa Valentina Resort & SPA
4.3 mi away
Agriturismo Monte Acuto
Agriturismo Monte Acuto
#6 of 25 in Umbertide
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Camere Sotto le Stelle
Camere Sotto le Stelle
#14 of 25 in Umbertide
27 reviews
7.6 mi away
Goccia di Luna Agriturismo
Goccia di Luna Agriturismo
#13 of 25 in Umbertide
52 reviews
5.6 mi away
Agriturismo Alle Vigne di Pace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Calagrana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Calagrana

Address: Loc. Spedalicchio, 277, 06019, Umbertide, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Umbertide
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Umbertide
Price Range: $98 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the hillside of the Umbria Agriturismo calagrana offers you views over the beautiful Valley of Niccone ... Our home welcomes your four legged friends to both stay in residence and enjoy the restaurant... Calagrana has a salt water swimming pool for cooling off and relaxing in and a charming house with 8 en suit bedrooms with independent enterance. Dressed in Bussati linens and orthopedic beds, each room offers a stunning view over the hills and property. Our restaurant gives one the chance to enjoy a romantic terrace evening with prosecco and stars or a lazy Sunday lunch Offering you a frequent changing menu of delights to choose from ... all produce is made fresh in house or raised on our farm... from fresh pastas and breads to roasted lamb or suckling pig ... the choice is hard to choose from... A perfect spot for a relaxing get away... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Ristorante Calagrana Perugia
Agriturismo Calagrana Italy/Umbertide, Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing