We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice food, simple atmosphere”
Review of Ristorante Capponi - CLOSED

Ristorante Capponi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: THE CAPPONI restaurant, and three generations, synonymous with typical Umbrian cuisine. We offer traditional recipes in key slightly innovative. This concept is clearly expressed in dishes such as Cappelletti soup, tagliatelle with porcini mushrooms, burrata cheese hats in black truffle of Norcia, the rabbit and stuffed pigeon, duck and lamb roast. All the pasta is homemade, like the dessert (the rock of Assisi, brustengolo polenta ..) We are open all year.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“nice food, simple atmosphere”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We are spending a couple of weeks on holidays in a country house over the hills surrounding Umbertide, a wonderful area. We reluctantly stepped into this restaurant, considering the exterior look of the place (a bit old fashioned), but were immediately captured by the nice, friendly atmosphere. Food is authentic and well cooked. Prices are absolutely proportional to the quality and quantity of food. The only little flaw is the not very good familiarity with English (in the menu and the waiters). Very good experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Akke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    89
    23
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perugia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Original Food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Original Food with a good vegetarian selection. The owners are lovely people too and they have a small outdoor eating area in the Piazza.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Typical Umbrian fare”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Samantha the manageress is wonderful and provides a really friendly service delivering delicious food. The menu is translated into understandable but not perfect English and she has a knowledge so you will not be totally in the dark if you do not know any Italian. The food is cooked in the typical Umbrian way and is very reasonable. Her three course menu is 15 euros and you can be guaranteed of a satisfying and different meal. Well worth a visit.
In the summer you can eat outside but the tables do face the car park so it can be a little noisy at times. However the inside is spacious and tastefully decorated.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best food I ate in Italy in the 15years I have been visiting!”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Authentic Italian food like my grandfather used to eat. I am vegetarian which usually means insalata mixed, pizza and/or pasta and a few side vegs (read: zucchini) but this restaurant has tons and tons of choices, eg. Chick peas prepared with mashed potatoes in a tower over a stewed and ground cabbage, gorgeous cheese platters with nuts, honey, homemade marmalades (I had quince). there are many, many choices of cheeses, cow, sheep and goat. I'm awfully fussy about cheese and had my choice. Grilled veg platter is not run of the mill (half-raw) eggplant, zucchini, etc but instead beautifully prepared and executed spinach 2 ways (one in a creamy, mini souffle), crunchy-tender eggplant, artichoke, raddichio, etc. You get the idea - not run of the mill, instead, really well thought out. A very diverse menu for both veg and non veg. elegant service, beautiful and spotless restaurant. Lovely!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“An old friend”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Came back aged 32 last eating there when I was 11 and they remembered. Lovely welcome. Choice of 2 set menus 15 euro 'of the day' or 24 euro 'traditional' which we took and included wine, water and coffee. Food v good, house wine v good, pasta excellent - particularly homemade Umbrian variety. Dining room a little dark and dated but I expect livelier on a weekend. Hope it is still here when I return again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aljam7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Capponi also viewed

 
Umbertide, Province of Perugia
Umbertide, Province of Perugia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing