We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS CHEF - WARM HOSPITALITY”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Umbertide
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo La Chiusa
Ranked #2 of 8 Umbertide B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My husband my boy and I spent 2 nights in La Chiusa and that was a highlight of my trip in Italy.
We couldn't have asked for a better host like Masha and Luca. The accommodation was nice and the restaurant was excellent! I also had a cooking class with Masha, she is a wonderful chef, so knowledgable & passionate about cooking and food. The cooking began with preparing for my favorite Italian dessert Tiramisu, then we did a handmade pasta from flour and egg. and then made the truffle sauce of the pasta, and ended with the Umbria-style chicken. Every dish was easy but the taste was FABULOUS!!
La Chiusa is the best organic farm I have ever been, I highly recommend this experience on your next trip to Umbria.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Hsiaoling C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 103 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our family (kids 8 and 10) spent over a week at Masha and Luca's wonderful farm, in one of their little cottages, returning nine years after a having had a dinner at the farm's restaurant. We had planned La Chiusa to be our "home base" for touring Umbria and it turned out to be very much a home away from home. With Masha's terrific dinners - each night a unique menu with local or farm produce, prepared in a traditional way - and Luca, as the warm gracious host, always looking for ways to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Our kids loved the pool, the farm animals (chicks especially) and their two sweet dogs (Nino and Cheeky). The farm is nestled in a gorgeous Umbrian valley, with lovely sunsets each night (supplemented by with Luca's ample bartending experience), and was ideal to visit the region's towns - Gubbio, Perugia (incl Perugina Factory tour), Todi, Assisi and Siena. While everything is close by, La Chiusa is away from the hustle and bustle giving one a chance to really disengage and slow down. Also did lots of hiking in the area and a great thermal springs trip recommeded by Masha. Many, many great memories with our well travelled kids crying their hearts out as we drove away on the last day..

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank ArdeaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The Chiusa was first visited by parents 15 yaers ago, when the buissness was starting. This time they came back with my brother & I and we loved the whole experience, they enjoyed it even more. This lovely place gave us a break from the crowds of Venice and Florence, while bringing us to the heart of Italy. We dined three times there and every time Lucca and Masha had something delicious and creative to offer us. With a two dish selection with localy grown ingridients for every course and a special wine seletion from Lucca (he knows more about wine than any waiter you'll ever meet) you could enjoy the stunning view of Umbria's green lanscape and the company of your loved ones in an intimate, calm atmosphere. About the stay in the hotel: the room had two beds and rooms, there was an issue with the shower but Lucca and Masha fixed it efficently. The view was lovely and I slept even better than at home. I highly reccomend this place for an alternative (meaning better) experience than staying at a regular hotel in the city. You can still visit many worthy towns of Umbria including Asis, Gubbio, San Sepolcro, Orvieto or Spoleto (we were following the route of Piero della Francesca) I hope you can enjoy this experinece too.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lugamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Fantastic evening spent at La Chiusa in the delightful Niccone Valley. Vey warm welcome from Luca and Masha the hosts, who took the time to talk us through their approach to food and its sourcing either on the farm or locally. No published menu - a choice of two dishes for each of four courses based on what was available and freshly prepared on the day, at a reasonable 35€. Imaginative antipasti, then pasta or risotto, followed by beef or pork mains and a choice of desserts. Locally sourced organic wine recommended by Luca was spot on. We were treated like personal guests and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank psychoeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The restaurant was delicious and was like having a personal cook. The service was excellent and very friendly. The quaint and secluded environment made this restaurant all the more enjoyable. The menu is limited to a few options every day in order to maintain freshness of the selections. And the freshness of the food was incredible. Because our family couldn't decide between the options, they prepared a little taste of all they were serving that night. From the anti pasta, to the soup and pasta, to the meat, which was delicious local pork loin and homemade meat balls, everything was amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trents405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have visited La Chiusa many times and it remains one of our favourite places. Luca and Masha who run this organic farm are delighful and energetic hosts. Food is exceptional. Masha uses only the freshest of ingredients from their garden and meals are absolutely delicious.
The tranquil location, high in verdant hills overlooking the fertile Niccone Valley is idyllic.
The ancient historic towns of Perugia, Gubbio and Assisi are less than an hour's drive away. Sparkling Lake Trasimeno is nearby and Umbertide with its lovely old square, is just next door.
If you do not feel like sight seeing, you can stroll around the grounds or take a walk in the surrounding hillsides. If you are feeling particularly lazy, you can relax by the swimming pool, gaze at the ravishing countryside and dream about the scrumptious meals to come!
Claudio and Alex, Bury St Edmunds

Room Tip: 2 self contained apartments stand apart from the main house and give independence. You can sit out a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaudioBuryStEdmunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This place is full of character. From the moment you arrive you are greeted by a real family feeling. It is in a very romantic setting boasting beautiful scenery of the Umbiran hills and is a very intimate place if you want a tranquil and peaceful setting. It is also a unique experience of traditional Umbrian cuisine. The food is spectacular and of a very high quality using the freshest ingredients from the farm and full of flavour.
The hosts make every guest feel special and make the experience personal.
I would definitely recommend this to friends or people wanting a true Italian country experience. Also the accommodation is homly and caters well for families. If you want to live something very authentic I think this stands out from the crowd.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank lmsjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umbertide hotels
6.1 mi away
Villa Valentina Resort & SPA
7.3 mi away
Castello Valenzino
Castello Valenzino
#10 of 25 in Umbertide
306 reviews
5.4 mi away
Agriturismo Collina dei Fagiani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
La Casa del Falegname
La Casa del Falegname
#5 of 8 in Umbertide
26 reviews
3.1 mi away
Agriturismo Nestore
Agriturismo Nestore
#20 of 25 in Umbertide
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agriturismo Abbazia di Montecorona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo La Chiusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo La Chiusa

Address: Strada Statale del Niccone | km 2,9 Molino Vitelli, 06019, Umbertide, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Umbertide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Umbertide
Price Range: $53 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Chiusa is a farm house, situated in the Niccone valley, on the border between Tuscany and Umbria . Since 1979 our family have dedicated ourselves to the loving restoration of this building and its grounds with the aim of creating an intimate dining atmosphere. Our service are : the hotel with 5 rooms, the restaurant and the cookery course. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo La Chiusa Italy/Umbertide, Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing