We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday for families with small children”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Village Club Belle Dune
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We have just returned from a week's holiday at Belle Dune and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We booked a Select House for 5/6 people and our party was 3 adults and 2 children (aged 5 and 16 months). I was expecting the accommodation to be very small after reading previous reviews however we found there was ample room - there was space for our travel cot in either the double or twin room and plenty of wardrobe space. Our house was clean and tidy and very well equipped, particularly the kitchen area. It was also very comfortable. The staff were helpful and friendly and their English was much better than our French! We borrowed a high chair from reception for the week which was free of charge.

Belle Dune was lovely and quiet - our house was in the Hameau Quartier, beside the golf course. There is privacy between the patio's and the garden area is communal and very safe for small children as it is all enclosed. My 5 yr old son played out each evening with the neighbouring children even though they were all French. There was a lovely atmosphere and all the adults sat outside chatting one evening and everyone brought wine while the children played. The site has a small farm and a great adventure playground but the highlight is definitely the Aquaclub - the indoor pool is fabulous for all ages and my son enjoyed the 'secret door' that led to the outside pools. The opening hours were 10am until 7pm every day- although the pool is open to the public, we didn't find it to be too busy, even on the weekends.

We were lucky with the weather - it was dry most days and pleasantly warm which was better than expected. There are plenty of pretty towns in the surrounding areas - we visited Amiens, St Valery and Le Crotoy as well as Fort Mahon and Quend. The beach at Fort Mahon is spectacular and we enjoyed a trip on the little train through the back streets (the train from the resort wasn't running until later in July).

The shop on the resort is useful and the baguettes are lovely and fresh each morning but the supermarket is a just a couple of minutes drive away. The laundry room is also very useful and it was very satisfying to be able to go home with a suitcase full of clean clothes! I honestly couldn't complain about any aspect of our holiday here and we will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 3,178 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

Just returned from a 2 week stay in Belle Dune in House for 5/6 people. We were a family of 2 Adults and 2 Children and accommodation was ok, but wish we had opted for larger house for more space. The house was clean on arrival with linen and towels provided of a good standard- the cleaning pack was a good idea and was included ( washing up liquid, surface cleaner and dishwasher tablets). The kitchen area could have benefited from an extraction fan for when cooking as the cupboard above the hob got a bit steamy! The microwave was of a good standard and was even better when we worked out how to use the grill element ( there was no toaster in the kitchen). There was a good selection of crockery and cooking utensils.

We hired bicycles for the first week which was worth while and handy to cycle to either Quand Le Pins beach or Fort Mahon ( less than 10 min ride each way). Quand Le Pins has a really good bread/cake shop and did really nice croissants for breakfast and even nicer cakes.

Having read previous reviews on Tripadvisor with regards to the staff at Belle Dune we found all the staff to be pleasant and helpful. They were very patient with our bad french!

We stopped on the Fort Mahon side of the village on the outskirts and it was quiet, however there is some building work going on during the week on some new apartments/houses but this did not disturb us where we were. The Inside pool with the wave machine was very good, however the pool had restricted opening while we were there, was closed one day a week and other days opened either 11am -7pm or 2pm to 7pm. ( this probably isn't an issue in high season) Lockers are available but make sure you have 2 Euro coin ( this is returnable).

We Used the restaurant for a couple of evening meals and found all the staff very pleasant and helpful- the standard of food was good and we never had to wait very long for it to be served.

This resort is ideally placed if you like access to the beach and also in a good position for travelling further afield- we visited Dieppe, Hesdin, Abbeyville, Boulogne Sur Mer and Touquet.

Weather for first week was lovely, but second week ( 1st week June) was unsettled, some mornings foggy, some rain and very windy at the end of the week so if you have children either take a dvd player or plenty of board games.

Room Tip: Houses in Hameau area are quieter and have space behind houses for children to play outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Whitje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I won a holiday here on a local radio show. Had I have paid for it myself my views might be slightly more scathing. Spent the first weekend in June here and when we arrived after an hours drive from the ferry in Dover we were fairly impressed. It looks nice, and it was easy to find and park.

We booked in at reception swiftly and were allocated a studio flat directly above the restaurant, which was extremely well located for us as my husband has a broken foot and so couldn't walk too far. The balcony overlooked the seating area of the restaurant which got quite noisy at times, but it didn't interupt our enjoyment of the balcony, or interfere with sleeping. The apartment, although small, was well equipped (fridge, microwave, hob, kitchen equipment and a dishwasher that appeared to just throw sand all over the plates!!) I knew there was no oven so we had shopped accordingly. We had a bedroom with 2 bunks a sofa bed and a chair bed for 5 of us, which was a very tight squeeze but ok for free!! lol

The shop was just across from us and it sold necessities, although was rather over priced, they did sell french sticks for 1 euro and they were lovely.

Be aware they allow pets in the rooms here and so my allergies went mad. In the end we lifted the sofa bed to find that someone had swept a pile of dog hair under it and so had to clear that up to try to stop my allergies, it helped a bit but not a lot there were hairs all over the sofa bed etc.

The sun was shining when we got there so we immediately went to the Aqua club to swim. This was only half open. Apparently they don't open up fully until mid June, which wasn't told to us when we booked. The water slides were all closed except the indoor one. However the kids loved it and I spent 3 hours in the pool and another hour on the sun lounger watching them play in the small open outdoor pool. The pool has a wavee machine every 45 mins that goes on for about 10 mins and the older kids loved it! The younger ones liked it for a minute or two but as the waves were very strong they soon got tired of it and I saw a few tears!

There are some very funny rules and regulations in the pool complex; firstly there were two lifeguards in the whole pool area, and yet there were 5 "changing room guards" who made sure that nobody entered the chaanging room with shoes on or took bags into the swimming pool area. Another of thier jobs was to ensure that no one wore bermuda shorts into the water!! My husband and son both got told to leave as thier shorts were too long!! I've never know such rules also given that the changing room area is tiny (and the changing rooms themselves all single person rooms, no family change) it was ridiculous that there were 3 more of them than lifeguards. Also they made sure that no child under 10 went into the pool area without armbands on.

We spent the Friday evening on Fort Mahon beach, which is beautiful and pure white sand as far as you can see (my kids went swimming in the sea at 9pm on the friday eveing)! There is not a lot in the town though

Saturday we spent going for a walk to the sea along the footpath that is signposted on the site, my husband was on crutches and we were pushing a pushchair but we had to turn back after 2 km as the sea was nowhere near the camp!! lol, and the footpath was all sand which is hard to push a chair in! Still the walk ws beautiful and peaceful and if we had no been so impeded we would have carried on! In the afternoon we spent another 4 hours at the pool and sunbathing outside. It was lovely and we enjoyed our time.

when we had arrived we had been given a programme of thing going on in the site, however when we went to find them nothing was ever open, it turned out that the activities opened later in June!! Why bother giving us the programme then?

On the Sunday, we woke up to rain. Let me tell you there is nothing to do here without spending extra money, when it rains! The pool was cold and after an hour I was frozen so got out and left the kids to it! After another hour they got cold and got out and we were left with nothing to do. There is a mini farm which consists of a shetland pony, 2 sheep, 2 goats, 2 hens and 3 ducks but that's only interesting for about 5 mins. Plus there is small playground for the kids which mine loved but that is only good for 45 mins max.

Pedallo's cost 8 euros for 30 mins, Go carts 2 euros for 10 mins, electric boats 14 euro for 20 mins and that was about all there was to offer! Oh and a multisport astro turf area and tennis court but you had to pay extra for these.

We bumped into a number of english people who had paid to go for a week and were worrying in their first 24 hours about what they were going to find to do for the rest of the week!

Aall that said, we were there for 3 days and we certainly enjoyed ourselves for the first two days, but got a bit bored on the third.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mistrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Reason to go is the AquaClub (but ultra overcrowded during french week end and holidays)
It s a shame as the region, the beach, the nature are beautiful.
Ok when renting bikes (prohibiive price however); playing golf or do some running to the beach
But it is called an 'Eco-Village' and you are at Disneyland withou Mickey mouse!
It's a shame not playing authenticity and real connection with nature, particularly for the price paid
Prefered B&B, gites or Maison d'Hotes

Room Tip: I think you don' have choice about the house except may be when you rent for more than a long we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheFlyingFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

The houses look very romantic and their setting around the lake is beautiful (although a bit fake and artificial). The fact that there was no internet connection in the houses was very disappointing, especially if you have to pay 15 euro for internet connection which is only available in the restaurant. The sport facilities within the parc were rather poor. The mini golf was not very attractive and certainly needs renovation. To play tennis you can hire rackets and balls but these were in bad condition. Football was possible on a small area but in a not so attractive surrounding and too small. The swimming pool was OK but not very surprising and poor compared to the sub tropical swimming pools in centerparcs in Belgium. The changing rooms were old and renovation is welcome. The facilities for teenagers (playstation,...) was not available although it was holiday period. Conclusion : nice for a short stay to relax a bit but not for a long visit with children who love to play sport.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kristel_VdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Visited in October Half-Term staying in 2 bedroom house for 5/6. Two good sized bedrooms plus sofa bed in lounge. Up and down stairs bathrooms. Clean, comfortable and well appointed, although would be a little compact for more than four as others have said. All much better than the quite poor description on PV web site. Staff had limited English but were helpful. Other guest seemed to be mostly French but very friendly. It is a large site so take comfortable shoes! We stayed in L'ile aux Oiseaux area which was 10 minutes to main square but too far to walk to Fort Mahon or Quand Plage, especially in winter, but other areas are nearer. Easy to get to from our home in South East including quick and pleasant ferry crossing and would certainly return here rather than sit in endless traffic heading to Devon or Cornwall. Only downsides were shop which stocked disappointing little, although local Carrefore Market was only couple of minutes drive. Also bar didn't seem to open in evening. Overall more than happy to recommend.

Room Tip: Some appartments over main square. Would not recommend those in high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tracey114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We booked a 4 suns (refurbished), 3 bedroom house for 7/8 people - we were 4 adults, one child and a baby. The house provided enough room for us all and had 2 showers and toilets and a well equipped kitchen. We were located in the Hameau quartier which was overlooking the (very picturesque) golf course, had a big garden and was quiet and safe. We could watch the sun set over the dunes.
The walk to the Aquaclub was only 5 minutes and was a pleasant walk. The pool itself was very popular with our 8 year old who loved the slides and the wave machine!
We found the staff to be very helpful, polite and spoke good english.
The small town of Fort Mahon was only a 10 minute walk away with a fantastic beach and a good selection of restaurants.
The drive from Calais was easy and not too far considering we had a baby and travelled during the day.
We were pleased we chose Belle Dune and would recommend to anyone with children who wants a laid back resort with good facilities and location.

Room Tip: Choose a house with more space than you think you will need - we took this tip from Trip Advisor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caroline1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort-Mahon-Plage
1.4 mi away
Le Fiacre
Le Fiacre
#1 of 2 in Quend
235 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Terrasse
Hotel La Terrasse
#2 of 5 in Fort-Mahon-Plage
400 reviews
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#4 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Jardins de la Cote d'Opale
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les ...
#9 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
595 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Berck sur Mer
5.3 mi away
Neptune Hotel
Neptune Hotel
#2 of 10 in Berck
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Village Club Belle Dune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Village Club Belle Dune

Address: 1 Promenade du Marquenterre, 80120 Fort-Mahon-Plage, France (Formerly Pierre & Vacances Holiday Villages Belle Dune)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Fort-Mahon-Plage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Fort-Mahon-Plage
Price Range: $60 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pierre & Vacances Village Club Belle Dune 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming eco village on the Opal Coast only an hour from Calais Indoor and outdoor aqua centre, children's club, petting farm and many more activities Home to the famous 18 hole Belle Dune golf course, one of France's best golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Village Club Belle Dune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre & Vacances Resort Belle Dune Hotel Fort-Mahon-Plage
Pierre And Vacances Resort Belle Dune
Belle Dune Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing