We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel, friendly service and good food”
Review of Hotel La Terrasse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Terrasse
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Have stayed 2 days here. The hotel is basic in a good way and well maintained . Clean rooms, daily clean towels and toiletries supplied. The staff friendly (one exception: the guy in the bar who was always closing early in the evening),willing, helpful . i had room 19 with a stunning view at the beach. We had two suppers here both sea food and other. For a small seaside town of course the seafood stands out here but the duck is also very nice. The service was very friendly and correct, (good breakfast too)

Room Tip: i had a corner room 19 with a really nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rudi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 409 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

Off season this is a wonderfully quiet seaside base. It's an easy drive from the Chunnel and the easterly Channel ports, is close to Le Touquet and Arras and, sadly, many World War I sites and graveyards. The hotel is reasonably priced, unpretentious, comfortable- it was most comfortable bed I have slept in ( in a hotel) for years and lashings of hot water- , the staff are helpful and friendly. The restaurant is fine.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view- a dramatic sweep of sea and sand -see the sand yachts and people having a good t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richard r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

so this is cheating slightly, but we didn't stay at the hotel, but we did pop into the restaurant. We both had sea food, and for a small seaside town (albeit a few miles down from Le Touquet) the food was excellent. The service was immaculate but relaxed, a kind of stereotype of French provincial gourmet culture, without much (to guess by a glance at the other eaters) snobbery, though there is the usual gentle communal enforcement of food behaviour.

The shallot and vinegar dressing for the oysters was superb, and in general the sea food seemed a class act. Good unstuff wine list. Not expensive (though not cheap either) A gem in what can look like a bit of dour town out of season. D. C. Andersson.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank dcandersson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Le Fort Mahon Plage is a very small, very French seaside resort. The beach is fabulous. The hotel gave us a friendly welcome, and the secure parking at 6 euros is advisable, given how busy the place is in high season and pretty good value. The room was pretty small with an adequate, clean bathroom. The bed was on the small side. The problem was that given the heat one had to keep the window open, but there were a number of people who chose to shout outside our window, well into the small hours. I have no problem with exuberance, but a little draining if you are trying to sleep. I guess this is a high season problem. The restaurant is good, and the food of a pretty high standard...definitely worth a try. Care with wine selection advised as they are a trifle greedy with their pricing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here during February 2013 for one night. We opted for a room with a sea view which although on the small side was tradionally furnished. The room was clean and the bathroom adequate. The beds were very comfortable and a good nights sleep was had. Staff in the hotel were very friendly and efficient. The hotel boasts a large restaurant serving a wode variety of fish and seafood dishes with a local twist. Some of the dishes can be rather heavy and the cooking is very tradional with a lot of cream based sauces and dishes. There is an extensive wine list if a little over priced. The hotel has ample ar parking which is secure. Will definately be staying again.

Stayed: February 2013
Thank Wolvescyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel is right on the sea front and the superior room was large and comfortable. It was nice to be able to leave the balcony door ajar and be lulled to sleep by the waves. The evening meal was nothing special considering the 3 pot Logis rating. The oysters were quite expensive and the lack of Rose' wine for my wife was dissappointing. (I had to drink a whole bottle of rather nice red on my own) The breakfast room is in the basement with paintings of the sea on the wall to compensate, plus there was a lack of choice with the breakfast. I would stay there again but would eat out!

Room Tip: Go for the standard room, I think they might have a better view and are a bit cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Have stayed here at least 2weeks a year for last 12years. The hotel is basic but good. Exceptionally clean rooms,frequent bed changes and daily clean towels and toiletries supplied. Secure parking available at additional cost. Staff all friendly,willing, helpful and trustworthy which is worth a lot these days! The owner maintains a constant presence and 'runs a tight ship'. The food in the breakfast room is plentiful and of the continental buffet style whilst that in the restaurant is exceptionally good and of a high standard - but you must like sea food as this forms the basis of all priced menus. To our knowledge wine menus are always offered and House Wine is always available, we are not 'drinkers' so offer no comment as to the price. Superior rooms offer a superb sea view with amazing sunsets most nights. These rooms offer plenty of hanging space and more than adequate 'drawer' space - and we are not light packers. A shame the new flat screen televisions offer no English speaking channels but we are abroad. Please remember this is a Logis style hotel not a 5 star - the price is reasonable, but competitive and the facilities more than adequate but basic. We shall definitely return.

Room Tip: Room with a jacuzzi bath are slightly larger than superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort-Mahon-Plage
0.8 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Village Belle Dune
0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Chipaudiere
Hotel Restaurant La Chipaudiere
#4 of 5 in Fort-Mahon-Plage
119 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Fiacre
Le Fiacre
#1 of 2 in Quend
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Neptune Hotel
Neptune Hotel
#2 of 10 in Berck
611 reviews
2.8 mi away
Les Augustines
Les Augustines
#2 of 2 in Quend
79 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel de la Baie de Somme
Hotel de la Baie de Somme
#2 of 5 in Le Crotoy
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Terrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Terrasse

Address: 1461 avenue de la Plage, 80120 Fort-Mahon-Plage, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Fort-Mahon-Plage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Fort-Mahon-Plage
Price Range: $56 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Terrasse 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel La Terrasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing