We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Philea Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ayer Keroh
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a quiet and low density gateaway, this hotel will suit you well. The rooms are fairly big but I do think that the housekeeper could do a better job because I could feel the dust flying around. I could even wipe the dust under the chair with my hands. The bathroom also could've been cleaner. Dont forget to bring aerosol spray together if you are allergic to mosquitos that sometimes fly into the room immediately when you open the door. Overall, nice and cozy surroundings covered with trees. Felt like camping in the forest. Big pools. Breakfast was okay though not much variety. Recommended.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Rizuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 442 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

Went there couple of years back, room was huge and the bed was excellent. The down part is the pool was poor maintained. Nothing to shout about. Its best to go for the upper deck suite since you could hear noises from the top. The villa is another option for you and its pretty near to the pool. Hence, you could always get a buggy to move around.

For kids play centre was ok but there was no supervision at the time, the best is bring your own maid or etc to look after your kids should you go for a spa session.

Anyway its an average stay compare to the value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omar_Lana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Omar_Lana,

Thank you for staying with us and it was a pleasure to receive a list of valuable feedback from your goodself. On areas where expectation was not met, we would like to apologize and we will definitely improve on it.

Once again, we thank you for your kind feedback and we wish to be of service to you and your family once again.

Have a good day ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My girlfriend and I found a deal for Philea Resort & Spa on Groupon and decided to check it out.

From the moment we checked in to the minute we checked out, everything about Philea Resort was awesome. The front desk manager was super helpful during the check-in process as well as checking out.

The room was cozy and really comfortable; was one of the first few times my girlfriend and I got any proper sleep.

Would definitely be back again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilTeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear WilTeh,

We are honored that you have selected Philea Resort & Spa, Ayer Keroh on your recent trip and we thank you for sharing the entire experience and services rendered.

We look forward to your return and have a good day ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

It was fairly late when we got to the hotel. The lobby was really nice. Took us some time to check in but at last we got onto a buggy and made our way to the rooms. The view was amazing. Felt like I was in a remote island somewhere. The decorations and the environment made it even better. We got to our room and it was really really hot. The room was made of wood, and they did not turn on the air conditioning, so naturally it was boiling in the room. We had to wait about 20 mins to let the room cool down. The toilet was impressive but I expected more from the room itself.

We took a walk later in the evening and was amazed at the scenery. The pool was gorgeous. They even had a waterfall. I was slightly disappointed that they didn't have a bar by the pool as i was looking forward to enjoying the view. The money we paid for was definitely worth the view and the experience we had there. I wouldn't pay that much just for the room.

We went to the spa and it was a really good massage experience. The price was also reasonable. We didn't get to try the food there though. It is located slightly further from the city, so for those who want to go into the city often, it wouldn't be ideal. They had really good service too, the people were very friendly and helpful.

However, we did get a room next to a family with two small kids. This irritated us a little as they were making so much noise. We did not complain because we were only going to be there for a night. Overall, pretty good experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selinawongg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Selinawongg,

We are honored that you have selected Philea Resort & Spa, Ayer Keroh on your recent trip and we thank you for sharing the entire experience and services rendered.

As we aim to provide you and your family with genuine personal service and gracious amenities in your travel experience, we are happy to hear that you have experienced the entire Philea Resort & Spa service and product standards.

Once again, we thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcome you back to the Philea Suite! Here’s wishing you a great day ahead and have a good week ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I have always wanted to visit this resort as i have read so much great comments about it. I must say i am fully satisfied during my stay.
We were warmly welcomed by the friendly staff, they serve us drinks and cold towel while waiting for check in. Reception staff was very helpful and friendly, dint take us too long to check in. The resort provide us free buggy ride to our rooms during check in and check out time.
This resort is really the place for you to relax and enjoy yourself. The design is beautiful and they have planted lots of tress along the pathway,such a beautiful view!

The room is so spacious and comfortable, its actually more like a log cabin but with 4 rooms.We stayed at the upper level room, the upper level room has a small balcony where you can enjoy yourself there with the beautiful views around.Everything is just so perfect, the bathroom was good, the bed was comfortable, they have free wifi with strong signal in the room.

There are restaurants in the resort and some facilities where you can enjoy(ex:pool,gym). We did not go for the restaurant as we decide to dig some nice food in the town.The distance between the resort and the town is kinda far,and the road going out to town is dark and a short distance with no street lamp,lots of monkeys sit in the middle of the road, so it can be pretty dangerous when you drive. so just be careful! i would suggest you bring some food just in case you get hungry in the midnight.

Overall, i enjoyed so much during my stay.This resort is worth to visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janemei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear janemei,

We are honored to received your valued feedback and very happy to know that you had a good stay with us.

Thank you for your kind commendation and we appreciate your valuable comments.

We look forward to your return and have a good day ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We was travelled as a group and it was a special birthday trip for one of our friend whose birthday on 23 March 2014... Therefore we planned to stay in a nice and special hotel - Philea Resort. No doubt, it is a nice, peaceful hotel with freindly staffs and nice swimming pool.

However few things would like to highlight:- (1) Water leaking from washroom ceiling (2) Toilet cannot be flushed (3) Our room floor was dusty when we check in (4) Wifi cannot be used during our stay (5) 45mins before check out time (11.15am) our room got blackout while we all busy packing for check out. However our friend’s room next to us was ok (no blackout). This is really upset and disappointed...

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iLov3Trav3L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Apple_gurl2014,

Thank you for staying with us and it was a pleasure to receive a list of valuable feedback from your goodself. On areas where expectation was not met, we would like to apologize and we will definitely improve on it.

Once again, we thank you for your kind feedback and we wish to be of service to you and your friends once again.

Have a good day ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed one night in this hotel on a tour. Check-in was rather efficient and welcome drink was good. The area was very green with lots of tress around. Our cabins were very close to the reception and it was less than 2 minutes walk. Each individual log cabin consisted of 4 rooms which was very spacious but lights were a bit dim. Upon check-in and check-out, our luggage were handled by the bellboys without any problem. There could be disturbances if guests in the room above or below you made noises. However, as we were being forewarned in advance on the coach, everyone was careful not to disturb others. The bed was very comfortable but I was bitten twice by a mosquito in the middle of the night. TV channels were very limited but free WiFi reception in the room was strong and steady. We requested for additional amenities and housekeeping delivered it within 10 minutes. The pools looked very nice and it was a pity we didn't have time to swim there. On the way to the pool, there was a cafetaria area overlooking the whole area and plants showing 'I love you' were planted there.

Next morning when we went for breakfast, we only realized one had to walk down the steps in order to reach the restaurant from the lobby area. When we enquired whether there was lift available for my mom with weak legs, the reception suggested the buggy car could take us there. Breakfast selection was average, although salad was good, fresh fruit selection was not enough. There were several made to order corners like naan bread with 2 choices of curries, egg and noodle corners. However, when guests had their hands full with food from these corners, they could not re-enter the restaurant as the door separating the two areas wasn't sliding door. So they had to wait for someone to open the door for them. Also failed to understand why the restaurant used paper cups and knives were not given on the table. Even if guests could use spoon as knives (like in the Philippines), butter knives still need to be served as we could not spread out butter on bread with spoon and fork. We called for the buggy car service again after breakfast and they sent us back to our room. All staff were very polite and helpful.

Overall, the hotel and area was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cutiedoggy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Istrimalek,

We are honored to received your valued feedback and very happy to know that you had a good stay with us.

Thank you for your kind commendation and we appreciate your valuable comments.

We look forward to your return and have a good day ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayer Keroh
7.8 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 168 in Melaka
1,462 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#12 of 168 in Melaka
570 reviews
8.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 168 in Melaka
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mudzaffar Hotel Melaka
Mudzaffar Hotel Melaka
#1 of 9 in Ayer Keroh
8 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 168 in Melaka
654 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 168 in Melaka
2,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philea Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philea Resort & Spa

Address: Lot 2940 Jalan Ayer Keroh | Off Jalan Plaza Tol, Ayer Keroh 75450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Ayer Keroh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ayer Keroh
Price Range: $101 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Philea Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spanning over 15 acres, strategically located in the fast-developing Ayer Keroh in Melaka, Philea Resort and Spa is an extraordinary resort built utilising natural resources, including 8,000pieces of disused railway sleepers for the staircase and more than 6,000 tons of marble from Perak as block fencing. Recycled materials from shipwrecks are used as furniture in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Philea Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philea Resort And Spa
Philea Hotel Ayer Keroh
Philea Resort & Spa Melaka State/Ayer Keroh, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing