We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice resorts and enjoyable trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Philea Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ayer Keroh
Seremban2
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice resorts and enjoyable trip”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Bought coupon for a night stay at Philea Resorts and it turn out to be a wonderful weekend with my partner.

Service is good, Staff are friendly, Food served is delicious, environment is romantic, and the list goes on....

I would certainly come back again in the future !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank castonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We are glad to learn that you have fully enjoyed your vacation at our resort and that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your kind words on our facilities and services are very rewarding and that you are planning to come back soon. It will be a great pleasure to host you and your partner again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    161
    103
    54
    48
See reviews for
155
135
6
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed at 3 units of the suites last weekend for Merdeka holiday. The rooms, pool and karaoke rooms look excellent and in tip top condition. Breakfast was terrible though. The tables were full and the workers were unfriendly and not organized. Waited for 10 minutes for an emptied table and another 20 minutes for forks & spoons. One waiter just ignore our request for spoons! Jawan Kiroh

Room Tip: The one near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jawankiroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the lack of service breakfast experience you had, we will share them with our team and take corrective measure to be sure that the quality of our staff satisfy your expectations in the near future. Last but not least, thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We family of 4 stayed in Philea Resort for 1 night in early August. When we were queuing to ride on buggy to our room, there is no queuing system at all. Drivers pick guests from front and back row as they like, made all guests who were in the queue feeling unfair and annoyed.

The resort is surrounding by green, good place for rest and relax. Kids love the wooden room and swimming pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smilec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We're sorry to hear of the inconveniences you experienced with our buggy service during your stay. Please rest assure that we will look into this matter immediately and rectify with our Concierge team. At the meantime, your kind words on our resort and facilities are very rewarding and it will be a great pleasure to welcome you back in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I just came back from a 3day 2 night stay at Philea with my family of four. We stayed at the Suprior Rooms with 2 single beds, and thank you for giving us the upstairs room, it was a lovely view from there.

Being a nature lover, stayin in a log cabin was a great experience! it reminded me of those cabins up in the rocky mountains i've seen on the tele. Plus it was great waking up to the sounds of birds chripping away, and the many insects singing away at night. Loved the swimming pool as the water was just perfect for a cool dip during the hot seasons we get here in Malaysia. Another thing I really enjoyed was the friendly staffs (thanks!!! ^^) and the beautiful surrounding, it was just gorgeous to walk ard!
The finishing of the cabins was very impressive too, from the exterior to all the little details in the room, both decoration and functionality (like the clip switches and special drawers they added)

Some downsides of the resorts though, and I think most of the previous visitors have alrdy highlighted them.
1. Not soundproof- I can hear my neighbour's conversation quite clearly and when the tele is on as well.
2. Air-con not powerful enough (and bare in mind that the area has not much breeze passing by so it can be really hot!)
3. Buggies passing by at night- this can be annoying when you're trying to get a good night sleep and suddenly some train like sound rolld by. they do sound like trains cause of the cobbled pathway the buggies are driving on
4. FOOD- Honestly I think this one really needs a lot of improvement, seeing that Melaka is known for their food, breakfast was really dissapointing, there's always a queue at the egg station, the tea was bland, no proper signages of what is served, etc. BUT the roti canai was AWSOME!!
5. Lack of activities- The only thing you can do there is eat sleep swim walk and laze around the pool/room (if it gets too hot outside)

Overall, it was a really great experience and I did enjoy myself, staying in a log cabin was a nice experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kamomedan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed the grounds of the Resort, the swimming pool and service of our associates. In the meantime, we regret that you encountered some downsides of the Resort and it did not up meet your expectations. We have taken note of your comment and we will certainly look into improving it.

We do hope you may grant us another visit in the near future to have the opportunity of another experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel operator called me 5 days before my arrival to confirm my booking. Was told take note on my remark it was my 10th Wedding Anniversary and informed will provide us a “cake” + “upselling” the room category.

After checking in to the chalet we received a call from Front Desk to inform that the cake is delivering soon. Waited from 2pm till 6pm, press 0 on the phone and speak to the operator to enquiry and it was transferred and told by the Front Desk staff it wasn’t have any remark and that’s no such request?!?!?!?

My Comment:
1) The room was not enough lighting.
2) The bed is too soft and felt like floating.
3) The toiletries in the bathroom were placing under the hand wash basin
4) Check in with 2 pax but only provided 1 hand and face towel and no bath mat
5) Light sleeper will have a problem during the stay.
6) Breakfast counter found lots of unwelcoming visitors “flies” !

Overall, nothing to shut about this place accept the landscaping.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RitaLimGoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear kamomedan,

Thank you for taking your time to share with us your 3 days 2 nights experience.

We would like to thank you for your commendation and would like to extend our humble apologies on the shortcomings mentioned. Please be rest assured that every effort has been taken to rectify the matters mentioned.

We thank you once again for sharing this with us and we look forward to welcome you and family back to our resort once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at this lovely place. It looks like we were overseas! This is the first log cabin resort in Malaysia and was surprised at how nice the place looked. It was just off the toll plaza right beside the highway and yet the resort area was quiet.

Stayed here for two nights and one thing I have to say is, it can get really hot in the cabin in the afternoon. Loved how they paid attention to every single detail in the room design. They surely didn't skimp out on the furniture and little things like the switches they use. Even their drawers had a safety feature! It doesn't slam when you close it hard. Bad thing was that I could hear everything my dad was saying in the room beside mine. The air conditioning was not powerful enough. Floor in front of the mini bar area was creaking.

The pool and landscaping were lovely. It's very nice to walk around the resort especially in the evening when it's cooler. One of the staff told me that the pool was filled with spring water.

I loved the unique concept and all BUT the breakfast was so bad! I mean we were expecting not a delicious but at lease decent breakfast for the price we paid. The buffet wasn't replenished fast enough. The breakfast spread included basic pastries, fruits, salad, cold cuts, fried noodles (which were yucky), dim sum, nasi lemak, congee, basic western food like eggs, baked potatoes with cheese, baked beans, super oily beef bacon, cereal and of course sausages (there were under trained. They couldn't even make a decent omelette. The only nice thing I liked was the fresh roti canai and yummy dhall..... There were flies in the salad. Cutleries were dirty. Drinks section: They served orange, guava, and apple cordial, and coffee and tea. The tea dispenser was always leaking and the tea was cold!

Overall: Beautiful, lovely resort, friendly staff but with horrible breakfast.

Room Tip: If you're staying in the pavilion room, I'd recommend the rooms on the upper floor. Try to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sher1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear sherlynn_88,

Thank you for taking your time in sharing with us your valuable comments. It was lovely to have you and family staying with us.

Your comments will be shared with our team and please be rest assured that every effort has been taken to rectify the matters mentioned.

Once again, thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us and we look forward to welcome you back to our resort once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We planed to stay here to skip the visit to the malacca town. But lastly we still visit to the town as around the hotel we can't found any good food. But overall we are happy with the environment which is really an escape trip to us. The room ambiance are nice. But the only thing is the breakfast. It seen that the staff is not enough, most of the table was not cleaned up and the food running out fast and not able to refilled on time (properly due to the prak period long weekend holiday raya + school holiday)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Chloe L,

Thank you for taking your time to share with us your experience.

We would like to thank you for your commendation and in the same time would like to extend our humble apologies on the shortcomings mentioned. Please be rest assured that every effort has been taken to rectify the matters mentioned.

We thank you once again for sharing this with us and we look forward to welcome you back to our resort once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayer Keroh
8.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,356 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
620 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#11 of 166 in Melaka
497 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,325 reviews
7.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 166 in Melaka
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philea Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philea Resort & Spa

Property: Philea Resort & Spa
Address: Lot 2940 Jalan Ayer Keroh | Off Jalan Plaza Tol, Ayer Keroh 75450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Ayer Keroh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ayer Keroh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Philea Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spanning over 15 acres, strategically located in the fast-developing Ayer Keroh in Melaka, Philea Resort and Spa is an extraordinary resort built utilising natural resources, including 8,000pieces of disused railway sleepers for the staircase and more than 6,000 tons of marble from Perak as block fencing. Recycled materials from shipwrecks are used as furniture in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Philea Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philea Resort And Spa
Philea Hotel Ayer Keroh
Philea Resort & Spa Melaka State/Ayer Keroh, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing