We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic but have to bear with it's weak points”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Philea Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ayer Keroh
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Romantic but have to bear with it's weak points”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed one night there to attend my friend's wedding ceremony.

It is a nice place, surrounded with trees and leaves.

The room is unique and is romantic for couples.

But because of the wooden concept, you can easily hear any voice from outside. For light sleeper, it will be a disturbance.

The variety of breakfast is ok, but they take time to clean the tables and refill the food.

Room Tip: Higher floor is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YTSJb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear YTSJb,

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to be of service to you once again.

Have a good day ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    161
    101
    53
    48
See reviews for
153
134
6
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

During Mothers Day, My brothers drove all the way from KL hoping to spend time dining at Philea Resort. Let me tell you what went wrong. First, no parking. Most hotels and resorts have basement parking to cater for guest. Upon arrival, the Security told me no parking. Park where ? Outside at the road and mind you, the road level is much higher than the hotel. Never mind... Mother's Day. Sacrifice.. Walk a bit. As long as mother happy.

Upon arrival at the Cafe, the girl at the Cafe asked us for our reservation. My wife made reservation on Friday 10th May at around 11 plus am. But her name was missing. She was not on the list. My wife insisted that she made bookings. Instead of apologizing, my wife was made to felt like it was her fault by your staff. Another guy came by, he asked us to sit outside because the reservation inside was full. We asked that they checked who was on duty on Friday. My wife said she spoke to a girl but never took her name. She confirmed the booking for my wife and yet forgot to put her reservation in the book.

We were all disappointed. Not Only for not getting to have High Tea. We drove all the way to Philea, but were made to feel like it was our fault by your staff. Not only did they not try to pacify us but tried arguing with us and ignored us when we asked them to check and help.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Santawang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Santawang,

We thank you for your valuable feedback and we regret to hear about your experience with us. Full investigation on this matter has been carried out.

Please be rest assured that every effort has been taken to rectify this matter. We thank you once again for sharing this with us.

Have a good day ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ayer Keroh hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were planning a bridal shower for a close friend who is getting married soon and she loves nature. We read reviews and the photos of the log chalet looks promising which then we decided to book 2 rooms with king size bed from Agoda that comes with breakfast for 4 person and 2 kids and it cost below RM900 on a weekend (2 day 1 night) trip.

The hotel is located near the Ayer Keroh highway exit, so you get to skip the heavy traffic in town to reach the highway but for good street food, you have to go to town to eat which is about 30 minutes away unless you are prepared to eat in the hotel restaurants.

We arrived before 2pm but they allow us to check in as the rooms were ready. A buggy took us to our room which was located at the end of the resort. For rooms nearer to lobby, it is mostly twin sharing. There are 2 private villa concept that comes with a private pool in the area which is quite convenient. Buggy service is 24 hours but there are only 7 buggies for the whole resort which is not so convenient when there are many occupancy in the rooms. We waited about 10 minutes for a buggy but non came so we end up walking down to the lobby at about 4pm on a Saturday afternoon. Did not see any buggy at sight along the way but at night when we came back, we asked the buggy driver to bring us on a round trip around the resort and he happily showed us the premium chalets, etc.

Wifi is complimentary but our rooms were at the far end of the resort which the signal is weak and even our local number mobile phone do not have data access. Noticed the there is no covered walkway linking from one place to another which is inconvenient during when it is raining. However, they do provide umbrellas in the room, we noticed one room has 2 but another only has 1. It would be better to have 2 umbrellas in the rooms as it reduce the chance of getting wet. Outside of the room, there is an umbrella stand for wet umbrellas.

The chalet was nicely done up with the logs and wood that gives a natural touch and nice wood smell. However, Our room switch lights was quite hard to find and 2 of the lights (1 at the bedside, another over the bed) was not working. As we had read the reviews earlier, we requested for 2nd floor but we can still hear the footsteps of family staying downstairs when the kids is running about as the floor is quite thin. The room has a cosy feeling and the bed looks inviting. Unfortunately, one the bed has this creaking noise whenever we climb on top of it which probably some part underneath is broken and it can be quite irritating.
The toilet door is heavy and it has an unusually lock, like the olden chinese door which you need to slide the lock. The toilet space is quite small and tight especially the sink area, which i find the sink a little too shallow until all the water splash easily. The rainshower head in the standing bathroom was excellent, but the bath tub water pressure was quite slow to fill up. However, the toiletries set is complete and well equipped, there are 2 sets for each rooms. The rooms took some time to cool down although air-conditioner was at the lowest temperature. TV channels choices was excellent, from cartoons channels for kids to FOX Premium Channel. It would be a nice touch to have long couch instead of 2 armchairs in the room. There are white sugar to go with your choice of coffee or tea in the room but no brown sugar.

The hotel also have buffet dinner and also ala-carte. We saw a few pool tables at the pub area near the coffeehouse, which are only open from 5pm onwards daily. It is the same operator as the karaoke. Karaoke price is about RM90 per hour per room but as we have kids with us, we had to skip that.

We passed by the waterfall lookalike swim pool but didn't get to swim as the weather was drizzling and raining the weekend whenever we wanted to go swim. Morning time when we called the buggy service to bring us to the coffeehouse for breakfast, the buggy came quite fast. Breakfast selection was average, brewed coffee was good, but there are flies if you sit outside. They have stalls that make fresh omelettes, roti canai, pancakes and waffles.After breakfast, we had to walk a bit under the rain to get to the staircase to go up to the lobby and the area was slippery that I nearly slipped and fell. There was no shelter or covered area for guest to walk to the lobby from the breakfast area which is really inconvenient and dangerous as the walkways and steps are wet and slippery.

During check out, We were waiting for our receipt. After we asked the staff (same staff that checked us in) only then she told us since we book through Agoda, the receipt will be issued by the online website and they will not be issuing a receipt. She should have told us earlier instead of letting us stand around waiting for the receipt. Also, we were not informed that the soft drinks and the slippers in the rooms were complimentary which I feel the counter staff could have mentioned to the guests when they checked in. Overall, it was a good and relaxing trip though we didn't get to enjoy all the facilities in the short period of time.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer to the lobby are mainly twin sharing, but it will save the hassle of waiting for buggy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kohlydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear kohlydia,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.

We have noted on all the points raised and will rectify them with the team. Regret for the inconveniences caused. We look forward to your return and here is wishing you a good day ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

First the good. The concept is great and the log cabin rooms are eye catching inside and out. The rooms were clean,too. The food was of a high standard but my goodness the hordes has polished of the breakfast by 8.30 am. I am afraid it was the guests who , during our stay last night , pulled it down. We were expecting to stay in a five star resort and spa and found ourselves on a holiday camp for families. There appeared to be between four and eight in the surrounding rooms and the noise went on to 2am. This was not a tranquil retreat. I thinks the advertising for Philea is misleading. Is it a luxury spa retreat or a desitination for foreign tour groups or family groups from KL. ? Nothing wrong with this but branding has to be clear.
Exhausted guests

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Englishgabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Englishabout,

Thank you very much for your valueable feedback. We are looking towards the points raised and regret on the inconveniences caused to your good self.

Have a good day ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We truly enjoyed our weekend getaway in this resort despite traveling for more than 10 hours back and fort from Singapore, its all worth it! Whew!

The check-in was very fast and efficient. From the lobby, you'll already feel comfortable and relaxed. We were also allowed to early check-in. When we reached our villa, we were given twin bed, so we went back to the receptionist then eventually given a King sized bed.

The villa is AWESOME! We were surrounded with logs, trees - great romantic ambiance! There's complimentary canned drinks aside from the usual bottled water :-) The hotel pen is also made of wood, very cute!

We had fun in the buggy ride :-) Just call then the buggy will be right there in few minutes.

The In-Room Dining food are OK, i loved the pickles in their triple deck sandwich! Buffet for breakfast are standard, It was good to have fresh berries in the table.

Pools are great, love the falls concept.

The downside is there's no convenience store near the resort. Also, we traveled all the way to town proper and ride taxi cab back to resort wherein we can actually alight right after the tollgate but we were afraid to do so because the bus driver said that the resort location is from the opposite direction and far from the tollgate. Maybe the management should advise the bus operators about this. We have wasted 45 mins travel time and RM35.

Overall, we had great stay in this resort. We'll definitely come back here.

Room Tip: Request for 2nd floor. And bring beer as they don't serve it in In-Room Dining
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coco_kuting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear coco_kuting,

Thank you very much for your commendation and we look forward to be host to you once more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I booked this hotel on Agoda. Got cheaper than rate from hotel. I pay 500++ instead of 800++ for a Pavillion Twin Room. Including breakfast for 2 Adult and 2 Kids. The surrounding is green and natural at it's best. There is a buggy service to take you right to your room doorstep. The swimming pool is amazing, my kids love to play there. We also had a lovely delicious steamboat at night in Bayu Cabana with really affordable price. While having a dish, my kids enjoy playful time in Philikidz room. The staff is friendly and even call me to inform they found my sister's bracelet and watch in the room. So overall, it's awesome experience. Will definitely go back if time and money permit.

Room Tip: Please make sure you request for upper floor because you can hear noise of the above room from lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mummy_fiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear mummy_fiza,

Thank you very much for your kind commendation and we look forward to be host to you once more.

Have a pleasant day ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

impressed by the log villa.The environment is even grater with big trees and plants .Walking along the pathway infront of villas is lovely.Even siiting at balcony ,reading newspaper and sipping coffee in the greens, listening to the chirping birds is unorgettable as well. Overall service is good.The 24 hr buggies is convenient. I didnt try the pool but it looks great.The only ugly thing is the so called river.It looks artificial,with water definitely not clear,and part of it is totally dr.....As for food .we tried cravocravo .I think u should forget about it . choice of food is limited ,taste is so so..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xinmeiMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear xinmeiMalaysia,

Thank you very much for your time and valueable comments.

We look forward to welcome you back to our resort and noted on the points raised. Thank you and have a wonderful day ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayer Keroh
8.2 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
8.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#9 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Seri Malaysia Melaka
Hotel Seri Malaysia Melaka
#2 of 7 in Ayer Keroh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philea Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philea Resort & Spa

Property: Philea Resort & Spa
Address: Lot 2940 Jalan Ayer Keroh | Off Jalan Plaza Tol, Ayer Keroh 75450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Ayer Keroh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ayer Keroh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Philea Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spanning over 15 acres, strategically located in the fast-developing Ayer Keroh in Melaka, Philea Resort and Spa is an extraordinary resort built utilising natural resources, including 8,000pieces of disused railway sleepers for the staircase and more than 6,000 tons of marble from Perak as block fencing. Recycled materials from shipwrecks are used as furniture in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Philea Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philea Resort And Spa
Philea Hotel Ayer Keroh
Philea Resort & Spa Melaka State/Ayer Keroh, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing