We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True luxury”
Review of Yorebridge House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bainbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yorebridge House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bainbridge
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Superb stay at the Yorebridge. We booked the Mougins room and it was stunning. Beautiful decor and a freestanding bath with amazing views overlooking the green countryside. Lots of seating to relax with a book and a glass of wine. The meal we had in the restaurant was one if the best meals we have eaten. The service was 5star with wine recommendations to suit each course. The staff were very welcoming nothing was too much.a great find in Wensleydale. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmalou20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,093)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

608 - 614 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Having read many of the reviews of Yorebridge House, and booked three nights for my wife's 40th on the strength of them, I was nervous about whether the hotel would stack up to our collective expectations. I was not disappointed and my wife was thrilled. We stayed two nights in Jasper and one in Greenwich. Overall the hotel is excellent. The rooms are very good if a little quirky with some compromises (Jasper does not have a view - sadly, the two windows which would look east with magnificent views down the dale are not transparent as otherwise, I think, they would overlook another room's hot tub! Greenwich -which we loved- has the lovely view east from the wonderful bathroom with the twin baths but you have to crouch to get into the bed which is under the eaves - but these are very minor niggles). The restaurant is good. The service is extremely friendly, very attentive and always professional. The setting, in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales is outstanding. It was quite an outlay for our three nights and two dinners but we came away with great memories and feeling we had got pretty good value for money. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view, check as I'm not sure all of the rooms have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeodB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights fr a birthday celebration on arrival the receptionist was lovely giving us lots of time and settling us all in we were a party of 6. The menu catered for a very select palate with little choice for non game eaters.On the sat we asked to eat from the bar menu ....well what a fuss that caused we were told no bar menu at weekends!!!!!! seriously!!! eventually they agreed we all ordered steaks 3 of which had to be sent back as incorrectly cooked. In the morning at 9am for breakfast they ran out of mushrooms!!! The heating in 2 rooms didnt work properly. The french waiter was fabulous funny and very helpful. We didnt think the whole place lived up to our expectations .When we left we passed on our comments to the receptionist who was very apologetic and assured us the manager would be in touch......one month on still waiting !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pugsandxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I got married at Yorebridge House in April 2013 and it was amazing. The venue itself is stunning and the whole wedding planning process was very straight forward. They helped me with lots of prep and nothing was too much trouble. We chose this venue due to the quality of the food and it didn't disappoint. On the day the quality of the food was outstanding. All staff were so helpful and friendly and I will never forget how pleasant and enjoyable they made my wedding day. Needless to say the day went without a hitch and I want to thank everyone for their efforts especially charlotte the owner, who was also my wedding co-coordinator. A superb job by all and I would highly highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katypam w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel and one of the best hotels we've stayed in. We found Yorebridge House by chance when scrolling through Twitter (it came up on #yorkshirehour) and we decided to book for a short break after seeing the rooms, and hot tubs!
We stayed in the Nishiki room, which had a hot tub outside. The bedroom and bathroom are great: lovely, comfortable bed, and a huge bath & separate double shower area. It was lovely to have the doors open to our own private patio area, even though it was frosty outside!
We opted for dinner, bed and breakfast. The restaurant is lovely and we really enjoyed the whole experience. The food was outstanding and the wine we chose was lovely too (can't remember what it was called).
The service throughout our stay was impeccable; the staff we dealt with were friendly and attentive - special mention to the restaurant staff who were lovely!
We also picked a couple of walks from the Yorebridge House website to try out - they are all fairly easy.
We can't wait to plan our next visit to Yorebridge House!

Room Tip: Get a room with a hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat000021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stopped at the Yorebridge Hotel for three nights. We stayed in the Kariega room with the hot tub outside overlooking the river. The room itself is lovely. A little dark due to only having a very small window, but still lovely. The rest of the hotel and grounds too are very nice. We enjoyed having the back door open and listening to the river whilst relaxing, but whilst others have said the lack of a door on the bathroom is a strange omission and definitely spoils the romantic ambiance of the room. I don't understand why they cant put a door by the toilet - they don't even necessarily have to have one covering the shower if they don't want. The only other issue with the room was that the temperature controls didn't seem to work. The thermostat was set to only 10 degrees all the time we were there, but it was so hot that I had to turn the radiators down manually.

Our only real qualm with the hotel was with the restaurant menu. It seems most people only stop for one or two nights and with us stopping three nights, the lack of choice became difficult.

The menu is quite pretentious. We've eaten in several Michelin star restaurants before and not had a problem with the food but we struggled for choice at Yorebridge. Foods like eel, oyster, lobster, venison and veal only appeal to a select group of people (which we don't really fit in to) and there was little alternative. If I remember correctly there was a choice of only 4 starters and 5 mains.

Our stay was immediately after our wedding (hence the 3 night stay rather than just one or two) and we booked as part of a package which gave us a slight room rate discount and things like strawberries and champagne on arrival as well as a picnic hamper on the 2nd day and free evening meal on the 2nd night; the only catch was that we had to eat in the restaurant every night. Otherwise we would probably have eaten there only once and then gone to nearby villages to other bars or restaurants for food. Personally, unless you're a fan of very rich, taste-specific foods like those I've listed above, I would opt for bed and breakfast only.

The local area is quiet and relaxing which is just what we wanted after our wedding, but the weather wasn't always great while we were there and there's very little to do in the hotel if its not sunny. One day we watched a DVD (the hotel stocks about 300 apparently) and chilled in our room, but frankly it could do with maybe a spa or small pool on the premises.

We had a room with a hot tub thankfully so we could enjoy that when we wanted and it was nice whatever the weather. The only slight issue was that the hot tub in Kariega seems to catch a whiff of some unpleasant smell around the area. I don't know if it's from the river, the hot tub itself or perhaps sewerage around the area, but the hotel could do with looking into the source of that and clearing it up if possible. It wasn't strong enough to spoil the hot tub experience but it would've been more pleasant without it. Also my wife burned her leg on one of the outside lights near the hot tub at night which was scalding hot. We reported this to the receptionist.

I think if we'd stopped in one of the rooms without a hot tub I would probably give the hotel 3 stars, but the hot tub was such a great experience that I've given it 4. I would go back again, but only for one or two nights and would opt for bed and breakfast only.

Room Tip: Kariega has a private hot tub and overlooks the running river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ministe2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Attentive friendly service. Wonderful food and atmosphere. Nothing was too much trouble if requested. Comfortable bed and v quiet. Amazing hot tub on the terrace. Cant wait to return. Perfect birthday.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank legalbegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bainbridge
3.4 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
422 reviews
17.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
610 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
19.5 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
17.3 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yorebridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yorebridge House

Address: Yorkshire Dales National Park, Bainbridge DL8 3EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bainbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bainbridge
Price Range: $287 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Yorebridge House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yorebridge House is situated by the river on the edge of the unspoilt village of Bainbridge, Wensleydale in the North Yorkshire Dales. All Yorebridge's thirteen spacious bedrooms are individually inspired with sumptuous fabrics for complete comfort. Sky HD and DVD players available in all rooms. The bathrooms have been created for luxury and relaxation. All rooms have stunning views of the dales and some have their own terrace with hot tubs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yorebridge House Hotel Bainbridge
Yorebridge Hotel Bainbridge
Yorebridge House Bainbridge, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing