We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Bainbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“All round amazing”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Had 1 night here for me and my wife's 1st anniversary. Really amazing building ,rooms were really clean and the breakfast was very very nice :-). Roxana couldn't help us more on what to do and where to go , we will be coming back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank burkey89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxana M, Owner at Riverside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you to you both for your great review. It was lovely meeting you, especially on such a special occasion. I wish you both all the best for the future!

Best regards, Roxana M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
166
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This B&B is in an idyllic location with wonderful views from the window - in fact I could have spent the whole time just enjoying the view! We had a warm welcome with lots of advice about where to go and what to see. The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. We had a really good night's sleep. The breakfast was superb with lots of extra touches which made it memorable - the homemade jams were delicious! We will definitely go back. We also wish we had stayed longer. Excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxana M, Owner at Riverside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. It great to see you enjoyed your stay here even though it was a short one. At least you had a nice ending to your holiday. I look forward to having you as my guests again in the future.

Kind regards, Roxana M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Booked 2 nights at the Riverside to attend a wedding at Yorebridge House. We took our 2 teenage boys and my husbands parents and all agree that we chose the best b&b in the dales. Hostess was lovely, welcoming and helpful, rooms were spotlessly clean with spacious bathrooms, breakfast was great, very good value for money. Setting is idyllic in a quiet village with interesting small towns nearby.
Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10lizzy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxana M, Owner at Riverside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. It was a pleasure meeting you and your lovely family and I'm happy you enjoyed your time here. It was nice to see that your sons liked the area because it looks "stuck in time".

Best regards, Roxana M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scunthorpe
2 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013

stayed beginning of july the rooms were beautiful breakfast was excellent, Roxanne was a wonderful hostess very bubbly person couldn,t do enough for you, well worth going will certainly be back , wish we had stayed longer

Room Tip: all rooms great have all you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxana M, Owner at Riverside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments and for taking the time to share your experience. I look forward to having you as my guests again in the future.

Kind regards, Roxana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Back again for the second year running, Roxanna runs an amazing little place. Was here in Nov 2012 and back again July 2013. A good base to explore the dales, lovely little village, short trip to Hawes and Leyburn for a few more amenities, a faultless hearty breakfast with great rooms to stay in. Full of character and the best B&B i've stayed in.
To top it off where else do you stay and the hostess gives you a hug as you leave.
Thinking of 2014 already!
YOU MUST STAY HERE.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxana M, Owner at Riverside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you very much to the both of you for your brilliant review, it was lovely seeing you again. I must say you were a bad influence on us, we had to go to Bettys after seeing your photo :) . Thank you again and I look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards, Roxana.

P.S. That's what happens when you keep coming back here, you get hugs :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

What a wonderful, quirky place to stay. A converted watermill with original beams set in the quiet little village of Bainbridge in the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Roxana, is a gem of a host and her full English breakfasts are definitely "up there." Always smiling, she was helpful in advising where to visit.

Rooms are clean and compact with wooden floors - ours had a four-poster bed.. Guest rooms and breakfast rooms are on the third level of the building (2 sets of stairs for anyone with mobility issues).

An excellent base for exploring the Dales being close to Hawes (Wensleydale Creamery), Aysgarth Falls etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMLaycock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxana M, Owner at Riverside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, much appreciated. It's great to see you've enjoyed your stay here, it's a shame your wife struggled a bit with the stairs. The 2 flights of stairs shouldn't be a surprise to anyone though, there are photos of them and on the accessibility part we do make it known that we are not able to accommodate guests that have difficulty with stairs. The good bit is that because we're so high up, we have amazing views over the river and the Dales. Thank you again and maybe I'll see you again in the future.

Best regards, Roxana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Lovely B+B, great location for relaxing walking and visiting the dales.
Roxanne was a fantastic host always smiling and very helpful. (sorry i missed you in the pub Roxanne). Great breakfast, gutted we could only stop 1 night.

Room Tip: Try the local pub for drinks only, I don't know if its just on Friday's but when we were the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOwls93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxana M, Owner at Riverside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review, I'm very pleased you enjoyed your short stay here, and don't worry about missing me in the pub, next time I'll be a bit louder :) . Lovely meeting you both.

Best regards, Roxana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bainbridge
1.7 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
392 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
2.4 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bainbridge
213 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Hazels Roost
Hazels Roost
#3 of 3 in Bainbridge
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Bed and Breakfast

Property: Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Address: High Mill Cottage, Bainbridge, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bainbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bainbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Up until the 1890's, High Mill was the village corn mill, after which it became a sawmill. In 1912 the Bainbridge Electric Lighting Company took over the site but The National Grid reached Upper Wensleydale a few years later and the mill returned to being a sawmill, driven by the old water turbine. It now has a different role that welcomes the discerning visitor, inviting them to delight in its heritage. We offer three rooms with generous en-suites, the two doubles with Four Poster Beds and a twin bedded room with stunning views, all furnished in keeping with the surroundings. All rooms have hospitality trays, hairdryers and flat screen TVs with DVD player and there is a separate TV lounge to relax and unwind in should you so wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riverside Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Bed And Breakfast Bainbridge, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing