We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places to stay in the Dales!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bainbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Low Mill Guest House
Ranked #1 of 3 Bainbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best places to stay in the Dales!”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

My sister and I took my mum away for a two night stay at Low Mill. My parents have been before but this was a first for me and my sister. From arriving to leaving this wonderful bed and breakfast the service, the accommodation and the food was all fantastic. On arrival we were greeted by Neil who showed us our rooms and then offered us coffee/tea which was served with a lovely scone and jam in the lounge which was just what we needed. I stayed in the Storeroom and my mum and sister stayed in the Kiln Room both of which were beautifully decorated and the little touches made it that extra bit special.. Were do I start on the food Amazing! We ate in on both nights and there was plenty to choose from. Breakfast was delicious and wonderful produce used. The dining room is lovely and on an evening it is set out candles, a lovely roaring fire and relaxing music. Neil and Jane are the perfect hosts and can't do enough for you (when needed). This is a little gem and we all can't wait for our next visit to this wonderful place.. Thank you for a wonderful stay

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
256
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We arranged a weekend away to celebrate a friend's 60th birthday and took over all 3 bedrooms. This was our 3rd visit to this gem and we took a great deal of pleasure in introducing our friends to the delights of Low Mill and Neil and Jane's wonderful cooking. Once again everything was perfect from the moment we arrived with a welcoming round of tea and scones to Neil's demonstration of the mill working before we left. We gave over the Workshop (our favourite room) to our friend celebrating her 60th birthday, however enjoyed staying in the delightful Kiln Room which is charming and quirky with a separate sitting area. It is difficult to continue to find the superlatives to describe this wonderful Bed and Breakfast which is undoubtedly the No 1 B&B in Bainbridge and anywhere for that matter. Thank you Neil and Jane for another lovely stay and we look forward to our next visit later this year. No, we're no related or have any connection other than very, very satisfied customers.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlissedOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My partner and I spent 3 nights at this delightful Guest House in February 2014, and it surpassed all our expectations. Whilst attention was paid to every detail you could not ask for a more unobtrusive couple. They remained discreet but attentive and should you need anything then Neil and Jane are their to sort it for you with a friendly smile. Nothing appears to be too much trouble for them. When we were planning a day out we mentioned it to Neil and he went off and researched what was going on in the area. Bearing in mind that little happens in February, with his help we had a fabulous day out and explored places we never knew existed. Whist this Guest House is advertised as B&B, you can have evening meals if you let them know early enough. We had evening meals on two of the three nights and I have to say that these meals were a match for ANY restaurant I have ever been to and I've been to a few in the last 50 years. Whilst Neil is a top man I think Jane steals the title for food queen :) Fabulous food and very generous portions. I cannot recommend Low Mill Guest House or its owners highly enough. The rooms are fabulous, the beds are extremely comfortable and you can relax in front of a log fire in a cosy lounge with a nice local beer served by Neil. What could be better than that. Our heartfelt thanks go to Jane and Neil for making our short break very, very special.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponteland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed with some friends so we took all three rooms. I stayed in the Storeroom which is the smallest room but still a good size and very well done out. Everything included in room right up to chocolate bars! Nice bathroom with modern fittings and shower over bath. The other 2 rooms are larger and fitted to the same high standard.
Nice residents lounge with TV etc and log burner,all very cosy! It is obvious that a lot of money has been spent on this rebuild of the mill to turn it into an award winning B&B. Guest areas are separate from the owners living area.
We all ate dinner which was excellent and breakfast was the same standard. Neil will also show you how the mill works!
This is a prime example of perhaps paying a little more but getting a really good product. Will certainly put this one on my list to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same standard. Depends if you want a copper bath in your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

recommended by a friend,well worth a visit. jane and neil excellent hosts. stayed in the kiln room.
evening meal upon request, stayed 2 nights, ate in both nights excellent food. nice big lounge with a big fire for the winter. will certainly return

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dennis b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

beautiful unique place to stay & Jane & Neil are always warm & welcoming. We were in the Workshop again (cos it has the logburner!!) and we dined in both nights - the food is brilliant. Be back next year...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robotmanWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

WHAT a treat Low Mill Guesthouse was as a stop over whilst cycling Stage One of Le Tour de France this week . A warm welcome, hot bath, fine dining, plush bed and stellar breakfast awaited us. We can't recommend this place and its owners highly enough. They use local quality produce for everything they serve and we could tell. We indulged in a three course evening meal - delicious mushroom soup, belly pork with perfect crackling and lamb shank falling off the bone, beautiful local cheeses, an excellent wine etc - served in their candlelit dining room. The ambiance was perfect.
Great breakfast menu too - I had bacon, pancakes and maple syrup whilst hubby had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. We didn't even have to choose what we wanted the night before like in most guesthouses. It set us up lovely for cycling up Buttertubs Pass.
We were in the least expensive of the rooms - The Storeroom - and judging by it's luxury the others must be verging on opulent as they go up the scale.
Lovely little touches like loose leaf tea, real fires, proper milk in a flask instead of UHT in the bedrooms, bath robes, chocolates all over the place, and interesting decor make it such a treat.
The rich history of the mill is very interesting and all the artifacts are still in tact to have a nosy at.
This one's a keeper. They really have got it right.

Room Tip: They're all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sezra25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bainbridge
3.4 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
17.1 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bainbridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
5.1 mi away
Stow House
Stow House
#1 of 9 in Aysgarth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Mill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Mill Guest House

Property: Low Mill Guest House
Address: Bainbridge, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bainbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bainbridge
Hotel Class:5 star — Low Mill Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Late 18th-century stone built cornmill in the picturesque village of Bainbridge. Waterwheel and working mill machinery throughout the building. We have 3 luxury bedrooms and offer a full dinner, bed and breakfast service. Beautiful riverside garden, open fires and central Dales location make Low Mill an ideal base for exploring the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Low Mill Guest House Bainbridge, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing