We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Plaza Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Reviewed January 5, 2008

We stayed at the Plaza hotel from 26th dec - jan 1st 08 purely because we had no choice our hotel in Malindi (Scorpio Villas) was burned down - which was a terrible shame and also vey frightening - to arrive at this concrete jungle was a shock to the system we are 4 adults and 3 children we came from a wonderfull spacious enviroment that was truley autentic to this place.
The rooms are small with very hard beds a dirty fridge and a t.v that has seen bertter days (this makes the hotel 3 star plus !!) If you are on the 3rd or 4th floor you have many stairs to climb and it is not safe for children on there own - especcially the balcony which by the way has 1 plastic chair on it that sticks to you.

it is quite dirty and need of total refubishment. The foood was terrible kept warm for hours - the majority of our party had deli belly !! We ate out every evening we stuck to freshy prepared scrambled egg in the morinng we ate the lunch at the hotel because it was cooked directly in front of you- be sure you do this the moment the lunch is laid out and stick to the BBQ only.

There is a brothel next door but one to the hotel where our husbands were propostioned. The were many prostitutes in the hotel one young guy and one 60 plus year old in particular had more than 3 visiting in one week.

I really need to add that the staff are wonderfull people that work so hard it makes you sad the pool attendant and the cleaners work from around 7.00am to 8.00pm the annimation and waiters much longer hours for just over £1.00 per day (as do all the staff) they then have to get on a bus (nearly a 1/4 of the earnings) to mambassa where the majority workers live. They are happy colourfull people how they keep it up amazes me especialy when you witness tourist being rude to them !!

The sea is really lovely and once the beach guys recognise you after saying "no thankyou" they pretty much leave you alone and it is safe they are real kind to the children also. The annimation guys also work hard to ensure the kids are kept happy.

On the whole i would never reccomend this hotel unless you dont mind the above and acknowledge that is is a 18 - 60 year old holiday with all the pitfalls expected of a 18 - 30's holiday. As a family we have a number of holidays a year and are not over fussy but have a certain expectation when working hard to pay for these holidays with young children. So if you want a truley authentic holiday in Africa where the food is good and the hotel is clean and the staff are not overworked then do not choose this hotel.
I have to add that i struggled with this perice as i do not want to see the staff out of work but also realise that we look froward to our holiday and only want the best.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank love2bliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 82 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2007

stayed at the plaza beach from 4/11/07 to 19/11/07. the hotel is a good 3 star the rooms are clean and bright if a little small but have big bathrooms. the food was pretty good but does get repetitive . we ate out at yuls restraunt on the beach about 800 yards from plaza and it was lovely. dont be scared of going on the beach at night just be sensible and you will be fine. entertainment at the hotel was a little poor but it was alittle quiet so lacking atmosphere . we booked last minute at 380 for 2 weeks h/b and were very pleased at that price. overall it was very good for the price a good base clean and tidy with lovely grounds staff are good especially josiah at the pool bar.
if booking a safari try chico on the beach we did and saved £120 each on a 3 day safari to tsavo and amboseli. first choice will tell you they dont have insurance etc but they do trust me!! you go in the same buses stay at the same lodges etc etc you just pay a deposit and balance when they collect you it really is worth doing . overall a great hol kenya is lovely but be brave dont stay in the hotel and definetly do a safari.
and the weather was just perfect hot and sunny every day

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank dicko1Stafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2007

Just had a holiday of a life time at the PBH. Staff were superb, always happy and smiling and so friendly,we felt really at home. The room overlooking the sea added that extra bonus. Food was delicious, the service first class, and everwhere was so clean. Wilfred and Benson are wonderful, they look after everyone. The animation team deserve a medal, and their dance show is excellant. The beach boys are lovely once you get to know them, a holiday we really hope to repeat.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank naany13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2007

What a fantastic plae kenya is. The Plaza Beach is a great hotel. The staff are brilliant, the hotel is spotlessly clean and the food is good. As in other reviews Wilfred is one hell of a man, and Checo on the beach is the man for your trips. Don't belive all you hear abot the beaqch boys. The animation team at plaza would rival and better any other entertainment team in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hunty1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2007

We stayed at the Plaza Beach hotel for our second honeymoon, and after doing our homework on trip advisor, we thought that it looked a nice place to stay, although some reviews called it basic. Well it could be called basic if it's 5 star luxury you are after, however all the facilities you need for a wonderful holiday are there and what it lacked in luxury it more than made up for in the friendliness of the staff, the location and the whole atmosphere of the place. Nothing was too much trouble for all the hotel team and they all made us feel very welcome. The rooms are spotlessly cleaned everyday and beds made with fresh linen and towelling, they also have a great beauty salon, and we can recommend the massage which was wonderfully relaxing and cost next to nothing. We booked a 3 day safari through (Chico) one of the beach boys, which was out of this world. And although they can pester you a little, you can also have some good natured fun with them, after all they are only trying to make a living. We will definately be going back to Kenya and in particular the Plaza Beach. we had a wonderful holiday, made some lasting friends and cannot thank the hotel and staff enough.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank SnMKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2007

We booked our holiday last min, We were abit worried about the reviews we had read about the hotel, But when we arrived we were happy with every thing. The hotel was clean and the staff were lovley, I would like to say dont forget the bar staff they get payed very little wages and the hotel have you paying on a bill so the staff miss out on tips.The food was very good. The hotel was a bit tired but it was being refirbished as we were leaving. The boys on the beach Chico, Jay Jay and patric (see photoes) were great, we book all our trips with them at a cheaper price then the hotel . They even helped with taxis and where to get the best exchange rate, just ask them. We would love to return to this hotel. From Cheryl & Paul

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank hearwego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2007

stayed at the plaza had a great time look after wilfred the barman he a great chap if you go on any trips see checo on the beach for best deals hotel and food ok staff very frendly take plenty of shirts and spare trainers beach boys like to trade poverty is rife as all charity donations of clothing from the uk ect is sold to these people and not given they are a very frendly and warm people who live with what they have and never complain

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank crookieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
0.9 mi away
Nyali Sun Africa Beach Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
372 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#10 of 14 in Bamburi
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#13 of 60 in Mombasa
233 reviews
5.5 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
574 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#12 of 60 in Mombasa
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Beach Hotel

Address: North Coast, Bamburi Beach | North Coast, Bamburi Beach, Bamburi, Mombasa 80101, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range: $82 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small. intimate hotel, located right on the quieter stretch of the lively Bamburi beach, with a beautiful view, and a romantic layout. We are a short walk from most of the quality restaurants and shopping areas. We can arrange all your water sports and marine activities in the offshore Marine reserve ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Plaza Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Beach Hotel
Plaza Beach Bamburi
The Plaza Beach Hotel Kenya/Bamburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing