We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and cons”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Pros and cons”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed at his hotel for a week and have mixed feelings about it. The best part is the most friendly, accomodating staff and great night entertainment. The best crepes for breakfast that tasted better than the ones I had in Paris. Even though the property is quite old, it is very well maintained and impecably clean.
What was not so good is that check out process took the longest time: they do not have records of your downpayment in the computer and it was very frustrating having to deal with it at 3 AM at checkout, even though the bill was already settled the night before. There should be better communication among front desk staff and better record keeping. I was told that kitchen was open 24 hrs and having breakfast before catching an early flight should not be a problem, but after walking all the way there in the dark, I found the door locked and it was frustrating that nobody at the front desk called them that there was a guest coming. The beach in front of the hotel could be kept cleaner and more attractive. Again, had it not been for the waiters, security staff, housekeeper,and the hotel driver who provided excellent hospitality, I do not think that this hotel would be my choice in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naisula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    132
    45
    16
    17
See reviews for
108
97
32
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I have travelled up and down the African coast for the last 20 years. I think I have stayed at Kenya Bay Beach Hotel about 15 times now and these days I find it the best value for money on the East African coast. The place has a very peaceful atmosphere, but lively places are within easy reach if it becomes too quiet. I have been there as a single holidayer, with friends some times and also with the whole extended family. It suits all needs. Being the neighbour to the fantasic Il Covo restaurant is a huge advantage. Nowhere is better to enjoy reasonably priced piripiri prawns and chilled white wine. The hotel staff is extremely friendly and the rooms are just what you need. The rooms have safes, but a couple of times I have forgotten to put valuables in the safe, but I have yet to experience any theft from the room. They always have enough sunbeds and the staff will eagerly get you towels and mattress when needed. While at the three times more expensive Whitesands a few hundred meters down the Beach will have you waiting for ages for a sunbed. And remember the beach is the same for all these Bamburi hotels, so why pay a fortune? I will be back very soon!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tore W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I have to agree with the previous reviewer 'wrinkles & loneliness'....I was supposed to stay 3 nights and left after one. I had decided to stay after all of the great reviews yet apart from the lovely staff the hotel is terrible. Having stayed all over the world in all types of hotels and accommodation I am an easy traveler, yet this hotel has to be one of the worst....polluted beach, average food and generally low energy place to stay.

Room Tip: Suggest rooms above basic.....however, I suggest finding an alternative hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My Best friend and I stayed at Kenya Bay sometime in July and although we just needed a quiet stay, we had the best 2days we've ever spent on any vacations. From the gate to the beach, the whole place was beautiful and very clean.. Very serene. The staff at the reception were amazing.. Exceptionally helpful, courteous and very professional, though we did not meet our housekeeper, she did an excellent job of keeping our room neat all the time. The room was very spacious and the air-conditioning was just right. The main restaurant had the best breakfast we've ever had in Kenya and the waiters were very attentive. The swimming pool was very refreshing, the water clean and the life guards too were very friendly. They were the ones to tell us about all the best entertainment places in Mombasa. We can't wait to go back there and definitely recommend to friends. I hope next time they could have a little more hotel amenities like dental kits, slippers, and at least stock their minibars. Our minibar was quite old and made a very bad noise at night, and it was also full of rust that was peeling off. Nevertheless we had a beautiful stay and we are happy to go back again very soon...

Room Tip: Double Delux rooms are abit more pricely but they are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shikok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was our third stay at KKB hotel from 19 September to 15 October 2013.It has spactacular seaview location and close to maim road excess ,clean rooms,friendly staff,good food makes you want to come again.If you are looking for a tranquil,serene and relaxing atmosphere,KKB Hotel has it all.As it is located on the Bamburi Beach,which is quite a long streach with quite a few other hotel and restaurants located on it,and they are all within walking distance to each other, from beach front.City Mall,Haller Park Mamba Village are within easy reach and so is Mombasa town centre with its historic land marks ,the giant Tusks,Fort Jesus and the Old Mombasa City and the Light house the long seafront seaview park.

Room Tip: Higher floors have advantages good balcony views and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shindh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

A very welcoming medium sized hotel with warm and very friendly staff. We went with kids and were happy with the over-all service and attention given to us. The food is also good. We were in the superior deluxe rooms which were quite presentable and the bathrooms seem newly renovated hence quite impressive..another plus point is yuls and il-covo neighbour it either side for water sports and night party life! Personal recommendation to anyone going to mombasa soon. Best value for money on the north coast.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haider-Adamjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2013

my first visit to this hotel. clean rooms, seaview experience and close to the main Access road. friendly staff. A homely experience. will definately revisit again! frangipani restaurant by the beach offered a rich supply of drinks as i enjoyed watching water sports. i also loved the evening animation experience as well as the cool breeze with perfect security that allowed me to leave my balcony access door open throughout the night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
0.2 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#10 of 58 in Mombasa
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kahama Hotel
Kahama Hotel
#7 of 14 in Bamburi
165 reviews
3.5 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#11 of 58 in Mombasa
203 reviews
4.6 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenya Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenya Bay Beach Hotel

Property: Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Address: Mombasa Malindi Road | Bamburi Beach, Bamburi, Mombasa 80101, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bamburi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kenya Bay Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful setting among Frangipani and Bougainville with the most breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean, welcomes you to the Kenya Bay Beach Hotel, Mombasa. This exclusive hotel built in a subtle blend of African and modern architecture offers a marvelous ambiance for a truly wonderful and relaxing beach vacation. Located on Bamburi Beach, it is no wonder that year after year, families have anchored at this hotel for a relaxing and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kenya Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenya Bay Beach Bamburi
Hotel Kenya Bay Beach
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel Bamburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing