We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If that's the renovated room.....?!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“If that's the renovated room.....?!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Sadly, I have mostly brick bats for this hotel. I booked the renovated room with a supplement for my 6yr old twins.
Rooms weren't ready, even though we arrived 2hrs after check in - kept waiting 30min.

Then we found the following room issues:
* only on extra single bed - ended with a child in with us - yay....:-(
* damaged shower head sprayed the whole bathroom with water, regardless of the angle
* tiny wee bath/shower combo
* safe not working, nor the fridge (switched off & mouldy)

The other major yuk was cockroaches around the buffet area on multiple occasions!
We won't be back.

Room Tip: If what we stayed in was a renovated room, there are no good options!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Global2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    131
    45
    16
    17
See reviews for
107
94
31
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
113 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

Nice palm tree garden with monkeys and lizards and crabs walking freely. The deluxe rooms are under renovation, our room (105) was renovated but looked still in need renovation (molds on the wall, but bathroom looked nice). Our room was next to the Acacia restaurant, with sea view, in the silent side. There were guards in both side, felt safe. Big room, with efficient and silent aircon. Comfortable bed. Clean room, cleaning stuff very nice and helpful. Nice pool and a small children pool. There was some Kiddies play area, but noticed just one day before leaving, we did not get any info about it and about the entertainment programs from the hotel stuff. There were every evening (from 9pm) shows (acrobats, dancers..) on the stage, that kids loved. Food was good, but many times dessert disappeared quickly if you did not come early. There were african, indian, italian, even hungarian food (which was very good). We were on half board. Breakfast was the same, sausage, eggs (made different ways), baked beens, some indian,jams, fruits. Dinner with soups, and a good selection of different dishes, with some cakes and biscuits and fruits. Tea was served at 4pm with sponge cookie for hotel guests. This was really nice, it was very good to have a warm tea (coffee, hot/cold milk) even the temperature was 37 degrees (mid December). There was a local wedding arranged one afternoon with tribe performance that we could watch from our terrace from 15 m. It was interesting. There was disco/dancing nights at the stage and at the Frangipani bar, but we never attended. There were nice beach restaurants just outside the hotel, eg il Covo (italian) with very nice food, in european prices. The sea was very warm, approx 29-30 degrees but not very practical for swimming due to high tides. Sellers, trip organizers on the beach, this seems very annoying for some people, I did not mind it at all. We reserved trips with Smile Tours on the beach, we were very satisfied. Good location for trips to Tsavo, Ngomongo, Malindi, boat trips. Haller park is 2 kms away. Free internet at the lobby and wifi in public areas. Big LCD TV in room but only a few channels, sometimes only one working. Nice long walks on the beach, sunset not visible.

Receptionists not very helpful, no information told us about meals, entertainment programs. Renovated room did not look really renovated (moulds, fridge was min 35 years old, BUT worked fine). One chair on the terrace, after few days the friendly cleaner gave us another one without asking for it.Small ants in the room, everywhere. Restaurant, bar are not airconditioned, flys are on the food. Not even fans operated. Not enough sunbeds around the pool. All reserved from morning, I could not have any during our one week stay. Well maintained garden but coconuts and palm leaves falling regularly. Packed food on trip days is very poor (dry toast bread, with one egg, tiny croissant, two bananas, with no any drink). A bottle of water would have been just fine to give us. It was a bit expensive, compared to european standard but everything is in Mombasa for tourists.

I liked the hotel and recommend it!

Room Tip: deluxe rooms on the right side of the Acacia restaurant are silent and with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisztaHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed for 1 week. Old and dated. security box did not work. We asked to be fixed but it never happened. We had a TV without a remote control. We asked for a remote but we never got one. Tried to asked for help for booking tours but the front desk was not helpful. We ended up walking to the Bamburi Hotel to get help. Not fan of the food either. Even though we paid for 1/2 board we ended up eating most nights at Yul's restaurant a few steps from the hotel.
Also...not the hotel's fault but we could not swim in the ocean during the day because the low tie took place from the morning until 3pm. The only good part of my whole trip to the area was going to Tsavo National Park.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cavv123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Pretty empty hotel (especially for a mid July!): 30 people max. The regular rooms have seen better days!!! Thank goodness our stay was for just 3 days and we had just experienced a wonderful 8 day safari in premium camps/lodges. I could not wait to leave to go home.The old rooms(AC) are very worn and damp. Although, they come with a terrace the door did not lock. We asked for it to be fixed but it was not during our stay. Moldy/worn sofas. Painting needs to be done. Bathroom full of calcium and dirty joints. This is not what a 100 euros hotel should look like (more a 30 dollar old motel). We complained and just got a room not on the ground floor and looking a bit nicer. It looks like they are renovating some rooms and the deluxe rooms are better but for 240 euros you can get a better hotel for sure!

Nice staff, trying to entertain you every evening (dances) trying to make the best of that run down hotel. Buffet food is ok with some local cuisine but very basic. 2 PC with internet free of charge. Beach is nice but loads of sellers so nobody actually tan on it without being harassed.. You can walk though and go to nearby Il Covo or Roberto’s or Yul’s bar for lunch. You tan on your chair by the swimming pool overlooking the beach (security with baseball bat keeps sellers away!). The sea has tide.

Bamburi Nature trails in front (can rent bikes or walk in a reconverted cement factory + butterfly garden). Plus Haller park nearby if haven’t seen enough animals on safari + supermarket not too far (need matatu or tuk tuk (1.5 euros)), Cab from the hotel are way overpriced (10 euros round trip). Matatu to Mombasa 50cent(local) 70(tourist) or 20 euros cab from the hotel. Don’t be scared

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmdpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

I wish to express my satisfaction during our short stay at Kenya Bay. I noted the welcoming response right from the time of my email inquiries which gave me an encouragement to give the hotel a trial. With all sincerity, the services did not disappoint us; the staff response time and cheerfulness are commendable. The meals were also nice and fresh.

We had a memorable time at the beach; relaxing under cool breeze; punctuated with swimming in the ocean and in the hotel pool. It was an enjoyable stay, though short!!!!

Tom Ofwa
Kenya

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom_ofwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed for a week for an academic conference at the nearby Whitesands. Kenya Bay is friendly, clean and safe. The rooms all face the sea and have aircon, TVs and fridges. But most of all, it's amazing value compared to the other hotels in Bamburi (especially if you book it through hostelworld, where you get breakfast and evening meal thrown in as a special offer at the moment). I wasn't expecting much from the food, but it was varied, plentiful and tasty.

Sure, the rooms at Whitesands and at Severin are nicer, but they're around 3 times more expensive. And they're not certainly not three times nicer!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteeeeeveLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yola, Adamawa, Nigeria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Very good accommodation and nice meals in a clean and serene environment elegantly finished in modern style. Good entertainment packages, nice swimming pool overlooking the beach that stretches into the indian ocean. Just an excellent place to combine business and pleasure!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drbelel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
0.2 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#11 of 58 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kahama Hotel
Kahama Hotel
#7 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
3.0 mi away
Reef Hotel
Reef Hotel
#18 of 58 in Mombasa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
4.6 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenya Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenya Bay Beach Hotel

Property: Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Address: Mombasa Malindi Road | Bamburi Beach, Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bamburi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kenya Bay Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful setting among Frangipani and Bougainville with the most breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean, welcomes you to the Kenya Bay Beach Hotel, Mombasa. This exclusive hotel built in a subtle blend of African and modern architecture offers a marvelous ambiance for a truly wonderful and relaxing beach vacation. Located on Bamburi Beach, it is no wonder that year after year, families have anchored at this hotel for a relaxing and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kenya Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenya Bay Beach Bamburi
Hotel Kenya Bay Beach
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel Bamburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing