We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (628)
Filter reviews
628 results
Traveler rating
250
232
80
42
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
232
80
42
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswing barbamburi beachmain barbeach holidayhalf boardpeace and quietstandard roommosquito netanimation teamseafoodfantastic holidaysafariafricamonkeyspoolsmombasacoast
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 628 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2017 via mobile

Its nice hotel.Staff is kind and helpful.Has 2 pools,one is sutable for kids.Food is good.Swing bar is great thig for coctails.We spend great nine days with kids.Thanks Severin to having us.Good value for money.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Katica u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2017

Dear Katica,
thanks a lot for your great Feedback.
Looking Forward to welcoming you again at our sunny Bamburi Beach in Kenya!
James Owiti
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2017

The Severin Sea Lodge provided a true oasis in the chaos of Mombasa for a transit stop overnight. It is someway from the centre (about an hour from the SGR station), which I viewed as a positive and a chance to escape to a little peace and quiet!

The grounds were well kept and staff generally pleasing; and the beach-side "Swing" bar a beautiful spot for a sun-downer or 2.

Both breakfast and dinner were of a good standard and during the course of the former some local entertainment from an acrobatic troupe which was a nice value-add.

Our garden-facing room was basic, but functional, however sub-optimal bed-nets had allowed a few small visitors into my space by morning time, so worthwhile ensuring suitable repellent is applied before lights-out.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GavTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severin_Kenya, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017

Dear GavTravels,
thanks a lot for visiting Severin Sea Lodge and your Kind Review.
We would be happy to welcome you again in our Hotel soon.

Sunny greetings,
James Boho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2017 via mobile

A beautiful hotel at a beatiful beach. The staff are friendly and ready to assist whenever required.
The food is good but not soo much variety, they need to improve on this.
They have two beautiful and clean swimming pool, one has a slide which is fun for bigger kids and adults.
Doesnt have any kids club or entertainment activities which is a minus for them.
The rooms are clean.
Good when you want to have fun on a budget.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Eadiey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severin_Kenya, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2017

Dear Eadiey,

Thanks a lot for taking your time to write a review here on Tripadvisor. We're happy that you have enjoyed your time with us.

We just had a chef from Germany working with our kitchen staff and have implemented a new and great kitchen concept that will for sure enthuse you.
We also do offer some entertainment for our guest, a daily list can be found at the board near the reception.

We would be happy to welcoming you here at Bamburi Beach again and convince you of our services!

Best regards

James Boho
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017

THis was my Fourth Time staying here.
The rooms are very comfortable. All the staff are friendly and helpful. there are plenty of sun loungers to relax either by the pool or in the garderns facing the sea.
the restaurant offers a good variety of dishes buffet style. Wewill be going back. We have stayed at other hotels in Mombassa this is the best.
Working for an Airline I have visit many countries and Hotels, This is one of my favourite place to take a short break

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Lee w W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017

Dear Lee,
thanks a lot for your kind comments about our Severin Sea Lodge.
We appriciate your positive Review and are looking forward to welcoming you soon at Severin Sea Lodge.
Sunny greetings
James Owiti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017

Again, a 5 star review for my favourite hotel in Mombassa. I visit the area yearly for work an this year decided on a change and to stay at a hotel closer to where I work at the Bombolulu Cultural Centre. However, I lasted only 1 night and moved to the Severin for the 3 remaining nights. It was, and always is, like coming home! Thank you again to all the staff (new and old) at the Severin Hotel for making my stay once again comfortable and welcoming - I shall be back next year!

Room Tip: As new to the sea as possible in Comfort Class
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelbeehappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severin_Kenya, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2017

Dear travelbeehappy,

Thanks a lot for your kind review here on Tripadvisor.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Best regards

James Boho
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews