We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great and affordable holiday place!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Severin Sea Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Severin Sea Lodge
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Sint-Kruis, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great and affordable holiday place!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend during the 2014 easter Holiday.I loved the stay, the food was good though I would highly recommend the imani dhow.We really enjoyed the meals, goood presentation,two awesome waiters Dressed as the swahili (sorry dint get the names) but we went there a couple of times and there were no disappointments at all.Tge two pools are great n clean.We liked the smaller one better.The waiters, pool attendants and the receptionists were friendly enough.The standard comfort room was quite ok comfy but only next time the cleaning guy has to ensure that he has thoroughly scrubbed the bathroom sink and toilet.The bed sheets good and clean.Above all we enjoyed our stay and are ready to come once again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Othouwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Othouwar

Many thanks for your report on Tripadvisor and we thank you for coming here to Kenya and especially Severin Sea Lodge for your holiday.

Noted your comments on the rooms and cleaning and we are taking this up with the Housekeeping department to ensure they improve on the cleaning.

We would be glad to welcome you again soon!

Best Regards

Andrew Muir
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    176
    62
    36
    12
See reviews for
82
199
42
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I never experienced such poor service; just a few examples:
1. Arrived on 17th April 2014 at 19.45 hour; went straight to the restaurant as we were informed it will close at 21.00 h. Ordered two sea food pizza; we waited for one (1) hour and my son fell asleep in the meantime (after an 8 hour drive from Nairobi to Mombasa) and had to sleep hungry.
2. The next day our room was not cleaned at all and we had to complain at the reception.
3. They issued us with tickets for pool towels; instead of three we only got one ticket and been told there is no problem we just inform the pool attendant that we need three towels. The next day the pool antendant refused to give us more than one towel and we have to go to reception again to complain about this issue (VERY NICE RELEAXING HOLIDAY)
4. The service during the evening "show" just didn't take place as there were was no waiter whatsoever. We waited more than 40 minutes and AGAIN had to go to the reception to complain about this extreme poor service
5. Every time you seat down to relax there is no attentention to guests; you have to search for service (waiters); when you finally get hold of one you have to wait unreasonable time for your order; food (no matter if it is a snack) never less than 30 minutes.
6. Last but not least the service at breakfast (07.00 till 10.00 am); from 09.45 am the service stops and no food is refilled just because the staff is having breakfast from around 10.15 am in front of the guests. Today Monday the 21st April 2014 we arrived 09.45 am; after we found a table I tried to order for my family and me our beverages (coffee, chocolate and tea) the waitress just ignored and continued cleaning up the tables around our table.
We realy can't wait to leave this "hotel" and for sure we will never return; maybe we get our fruit basket when we are leaving as there was nothing as mentioned when we booked this terrible; worst-service-ever hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 326Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Mr. 326Anonymous

We are really surprised about your comments and the type of service that you claim to have received. We have many guests staying at the hotel the same time as yourself and everyone seems to be ok. Regarding pool towels we do have a system whereby when a guest checks in they receive a pool towel card one for each guest registered. These are handed to the pool attendant and the towel is handed out. We have to have this system which is no different to many other hotels here at the Kenya coast as we do have sometimes towels going missing and perhaps packed by mistake by clients. Also by the beach we do ensure that we have only our own guests using the facilities of the hotel, hence this system ensures us that we have genuine guests of the hotel and not people who have come in off the beach or indeed just come to visit the hotel.

All rooms are cleaned daily and each rooms steward has a certain amount of rooms allocated to them. They start working on the rooms as soon as clients have vacated for the day and obviously they do one room at a time, each one takes approximately 30 – 40 minutes per room. Normally by lunch time the room stewards would have completed all the rooms on their agenda. We apologise that this was late for you.

All our restaurants especially the à la Carte and snack bar prepare food as fresh as we can then assure that our guests are getting fresh food at meals. Hence a wait of 30 minutes would not be undue..

Full breakfast is served between 7am to 10am and thereafter we do serve a continental style breakfast till 12pm for those who like to rise late. I am sorry to hear that you had on the Monday not good service and this I am taking up personally with the F & B team as we are very keen to ensure prompt attention at all times.

All during the time you were here with us we do have all our management team here on duty and it really is a shame that you did not come to reception and ask to see the duty manager at the time as we always like to ensure our guests leave satisfied.

I would like to be able to contact you directly and be able to discuss your stay further as we do not like our guests to leave without having a good holiday. My email address is andrew.muir@severinsealodge.com

Best regards

Andrew Muir,
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Iam in this hotel now with my family. Have visited Kenya previously and love the place. Do not love this hotel though. It's way below the standard you would expect from even a two star. anyone on here who says otherwise has probably only stayed at Pontins circa 1975 food is almost in edible with flies every where Waited an hour for a pizza at lunchtime. Twice If you have any questions I am unfortunately still here. So ask away

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ajax1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Ajax1509,

We are always happy to have postings put onto TripAdvisor and will always know we will have the good and the bad.
Sorry to note that you compare us to ‘Pontins 75’, it is a product we are not familiar with. Regarding you wait for the pizza you ordered, unfortunately Pizza’s are one of the largest sellers we have on our menu and they are popular because they are good. Hence we do apologise sincerely for the wait that you had. We really do get a lot of good comments about our food and we would be very happy to discuss with you as to what may be suitable for you.

Every Tuesday we have a cocktail party to introduce our staff and departments to all our newly arrived guests, and we do specifically mention at that time that if anyone is on any special diet and is a vegan or on gluten free diets etc, to let the F & B team know and we would be happy to ensure that we cater especially for you.

Regarding your comments about flies on the food I really do not see where this comes from. We have breakfast and dinner only as buffet style and at lunchtime it is à la carte or snack menu, hence prepared fresh in the kitchen and delivered direct to our guests. On the buffets whether it is hot or cold food they are all kept in special see through chaffing dishes so that when guests do take something from the buffet they need to raise the lid and this will close automatically afterwards. Hygiene is one area we are very at tentative to.

We have been talking to all our clients and guests and I do hope that you have been one of the guests we have talked to. We do not like anyone leaving the hotel dissatisfied and we do what we can to turn you around.

Hope that you will come and see me, I am looking for you though. Many thanks for your critique.

Best Regards

Andrew Muir
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed there in August 2013 for 10 days in the comfort class bungalows. We were on half board. We arrived at 4am due to our flight schedule. On arrival, they offered us some juice and a hot towel then proceeded to check us in quickly.
The room was newly renovated. It was situated in the bungalows adjacent to the parking lot. It was clean, quiet but quite dark.
The breakfast was good. They always had an egg station, pancakes, porridge/oatmeal, fresh fruits and juices. We had the buffet dinner three times and it was good. The salads were tasty and they had a variety of vegetables and meats. The drink service was quite slow and they sometimes forgot our order!
The dining room is open aired and near the beach. You get wonderful views of the ocean as you dine. But, since we visited during the rainy season, it was often chilly and we couldn't see the view since they pulled a tent like canvas panels to protect us from the rain.
We did not get to use the pools or beach due to the heavy rains. Did not use the spa or fitness center either.
My fiance booked a snorkeling tour with the hotel. They leave the hotel at around 10am for a 2hr trip. He enjoyed it a lot but the heavy rains reduced the visibility of fish.
I would recommend the hotel to others but I would advise you not to travel during the rainy season unless you like spending your vacation indoors.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Lindsay_254,

Thanks a lot for your comments here on Tripadvisor.
We're sorry to hear that you had some trouble with the weather during your stay, but unfortunately that's something we don't have influence over.

We hope you will visit us again during our dry seasons and will be able to enjoy the beautiful surrounding and landscapes while the sun is shining.

Best regards

Andrew Muir
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Having recently visited the SEVERIN SEA LODGE I would say it easily earns the rating of the second best hotel along the BAMBURI beach, debatably I would say it was No 1 as I consider White Sands to be too big and impersonal.
The DOW al acarte restaurant at the SEVERIN Hotel is outstanding offering a wide menu choice and exceptional service.
The main restaurant is of a unique Kenyan design and the standard of service is reflected by staff who are obviously very well trained and immaculately turned out.
There are several different standards of accommodation available but all are of a high specification and compliment the overall quality of this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suestravelWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severin_Kenya, Geschäftsführer at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Sue,

Many thanks for the compliments for our hotel Severin Sea Lodge and we are happy to note we looked after you. The Imani Dhow has also now got it’s own place on Tripadvisor and would be good to have a write up there as well. Indeed we are very different to the large hotel just down the road and it is only by listening to our guests and trying to improve on their comments that helps us stay that way.

Thanks once again and we hope that you will return to see us again in the future.

Best regards

Andrew Muir,
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We can highly recommend the Severin Sea Lodge following our recent stay.

The room was excellent and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotels position on Bamburi Beach is stunning. Long walks can be taken in either direction and the beach boys are very well behaved compared to some we have encountered at other hotels.

Its the only hotel on the coast where you eat you breakfast overlooking the Indian Ocean! Which means evening meals can benefit from the evening sea breeze.

The gardens are very well kept and the 2 swimming pools are very inviting.

Meals in the Dining room alternate between buffet and set menu, which is a good combination and a very high standard. The Amani Dhow is a smaller intimate restaurant which serves excellent al la carte meals.

Its on the north coast so you don't have to run the gauntlet of the Lakoni Ferry to the south, which can take hours due to the volume of traffic using it..

We went to the Severin Safari Lodge for a few days which is their marvellous tented camp in Tsavo. We ate our breakfast looking onto a stunning view of Kilimanjaro and during our evening Safari we saw a Leopard which was the icing on the cake.

Would defiantly recommend this hotel over others we have stayed at in kenya.

Room Tip: Rooms further back are quieter and away from the evening entertainments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic StJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Cheryl & Nic,

Thank you very much for the write up on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to note that you came back again and we are still upto your expectations. We really look forward to seeing you again soon and we will still give you a warm welcome to your home in Kenya.

Best regards, yours

Andrew Muir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We got a last-minute deal staying at this hotel and were not at all disappointed given the price we had paid. Overall it is a lovely place set in one of the most touristy areas north of Mombasa - the transfer from the airport takes about 45 minutes depending upon the traffic. Come here to chill out on a package tour or for a couple of nights after a safari but don't expect a luxurious retreat/high-end resort.

The highs: gorgeous setting on the beach; friendly and helpful staff; clean rooms; the swing bar has a great atmosphere where you can just sit and look at the sea; the pools are nice and never too crowded; the annoying beach hawkers don't come onto the hotel premises so you get peace and quiet (until you set foot onto the beach);

The lows: extremely average food in the main restaurant but much better in the Dhow restaurant. Annoyingly the hotel serves a set menu on most evenings, which is a mistake as it is disappointing for every course. They should stick to the buffet, which is much better. The animation is tacky along the lines of bad covers of Cher songs being belted out until 11pm; it would be best if the evening animation took place far away from the accommodation so you don't have to hear it if you don't want to...

Tips: if you don't like your room/something about the hotel then speak to reception about it and if they can help they will do - my mosquito net was mended as soon as I pointed out there was a hole in it. Ask whether the evening animation will disturb you. You can buy wooden and stone souvenirs at the little shop on site run by Hassan and his twin brother Hussein and their prices are more or less the same as those in the duty free shops at the airport - it's mostly the same stuff. Do visit the restaurant La Marina nearby (they send a free bus for you, which reception will organise) as the food is delicious and the setting is beautiful. The Shanzu workshop, a short taxi ride away, is also a great place to buy cloth souvenirs and clothing, all made by disabled young women.

Room Tip: Do go for a bungalow but think about the location of it - those by the pools are less quiet than tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loobyloz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
0.2 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#11 of 59 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 stars 896 reviews
3.2 mi away
Reef Hotel
Reef Hotel
#16 of 59 in Mombasa
3.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kahama Hotel
Kahama Hotel
#7 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
3.7 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#1 of 59 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 stars 2,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Severin Sea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Severin Sea Lodge

Property: Severin Sea Lodge
Address: Bamburi Beach, Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80101, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
#3 Spa Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Severin Sea Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GPS Koordinaten: 3 59 13 Sud, 39 44 21 Ost ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Jovago.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Severin Sea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Severin Sea Hotel Bamburi
Severin Sea Bamburi
Severin Sea Lodge Kenya/Bamburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing