We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ Xmas and new year 2013”
Review of Severin Sea Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Severin Sea Lodge
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Having come back to the UK a mere 10 days ago I am already ready to go back!!!. The hotel is as described it is not an ultra modern hotel but this is what we wanted and to be honest expected and it didn't disappoint... The staff are friendly and will always try and assist. Once you have been there a while and relaxed you will soon realize you are on Kenyan time and nothing is done particularly quickly but this is all over Kenya and is not down to the Hotel. The hotel has started to go through a refurbishment and once all the bathrooms are refurbished it will be fab ( little disappointed as a returnee to not have been put into the newly refurbed rooms but we didn't realize this till the day before we left:-( ) The main restaurant is good but the a la carte in the safari needs to have something changed as it is not inviting at all, which doesn't leave you much choice as the pizzeria (and other breakfast area) that were there previously no longer exists - a real shame as this does not give guests much choice.... Saying that the Indian Dhow is amazing but another restaurant would be a fantastic asset.... The pools are nice, the beaches are fab and there is no longer much hassle from the beach boys...-all in all a much friendly and inviting stroll on the beach. The only other thing I would say is that the entertainment needs a bit of a look at... Just because we are British doesn't mean we want a dodgy singer ( who can't sing) smashing a tune out on the keyboard! The acrobats were very good and last time we were there we had Kenyan singers who were very good . The hotel next door put on an amazing fireworks display which I have to say I heard a lot of guests snigger at the fact that the severin hadn't made as much of an effort and pushed the boat out re entertajnment and fireworks on New Years Eve ( especially as hotel next door was no where near the same star rating or cost of the Severin ( hopefully next year they will realize their mistake) however the food that evening was amazing and a real feast. Afternoon tea is a really nice touch a cup of tea at 1600 is exactly what the English ordered!!! Whilst we were there we never had anyone come and ask us whether we would like a drink whilst sunbathing - here i think Severin are really missing a trick in terms of revenue, as I only had 2 Mango smoothies in all the time I was there ( which are out of this world) and no ice cream , however, had someone ( bar waiter) come and asked me I would have had at least one per day!!! The massages within the hotel are lovely and I would certainly recommend one, pricier than the beach girls but the setting is worth it.... I would also redo the beach massage area as for holiday makers this is a real plus looking out to the sea having a massage ( we can sit in a spa in England or anywhere else in the world) but to relax with the sound of the Indian ocean in front of you is an experience that you don't forget and was actually one of the main reasons we decided to return to the Severin - we did however know that this didn't exist before jetting off to Kenya so I wasn't as disappointed.... A lovely holiday fabulous weather, the management know what they are doing Mrs Susan and Geofftey on reception are lovely... and a real asset to the Hotel. It is nice to see the General Manager on hand. If you are looking to get away from the hussle and bussle I would certainly recommend the Severjn.... There are niggles as with the majority of hotel resorts... coming from a service industry myself i know I have high standards, however we are already talking about going back!!!! For your information restaurants we found to be good external to the Hotel where La Marina, and The Moorings - we went to each twice and ate at the Dhow ( internal) twice too ( god forbid them to take the coconut parfait off the menu - this was the best dessert of the whole holiday!!). Hopefully see you again Severin very soon x

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank pookie1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 574 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

The hotel is right on the beach and has two nice pools.
The rooms are nice and clean, and any problems will be fixed at once.
After only a couple of days the waiters and the cleaner remembered our room number.
The food is good and a little more European oriented than other hotels.
Ask the gardener for coconut juice - he'll pick one and open it for you right away.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Thomas

We are happy to note that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here at Severin Sea Lodge! The man who climbs the coconut tree really is an amazing sight to see.

We hope that we will see you back again with us soon.

Best regards

Andrew Muir,
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I have been to Mombassa many times and stayed in several different locations and I was not terribly impressed with Severin. As far as the big hotels on the coast go, Severin is fine, but for the amount they charge I was really expecting top quality service, but got what I consider to be a mediocre holiday. The lodge is older and it shows - all the decor feels like its stuck in the 70s. Very few of the rooms have ocean views, from what I could see, which is just poor design. Your introduction to the hotel is for the staff to inform you multiple times how much you will be charged if you lose your "towel card", which I can only assume is some kind of anti-theft measure but makes everyone feel as though they are assumed to be a thief upon checking in. We stayed in the Karibu main building, and the rooms were functional but nothing special - the furniture was kind of old and not particularly attractive. The food was fine, but again, nothing special and I would not recommend wasting money on full board because it took about an hour to get lunch and there seemed to be little interest in providing service to the small number of people who were there trying to get a mid-day meal. When we came back from an excursion I found that my room had been "cleaned" but this meant my bed was made but the pillows were thrown across the room, the mosquito net was in disarray, and the towels had been taken and not replaced. It was disappointing. The pools are very nice and one has a water slide which would be great for families.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments good and bad here on Tripadvisor. The hotel opened in 1972 and the design was to integrate as much as possible the Africana look. Even in our renovations we wanted to make sure that the rooms and ambiance did make us different - especially as in today’s world you can wake up in a hotel room which looks the same as any other in the world.

Sorry that you pick up on the pool towels voucher as this is really just a check to ensure that you are a guest of the hotel. We also do point out feeding of monkeys, ensuring that your room is securely locked when you go out and that you have checked to make sure that you have used the safe provided free of charge for your belongings.

On the full board as we have so few that do take this, we do offer our menu from the Bistro for your use on this. Here there is a choice of everything from pizzas, beef burgers, to steaks, chicken dishes, fish dishes etc. Food is cooked fresh and a la carte, we apologise for any delay that you had and will take this up with our F & B department.

The room stewards make up the rooms every day, every second day we change the sheets, the towels are changed daily. Sorry that you had a problem on a day with us, we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience.

The rooms are mainly situated in the gardens and the frontage is where we have the bars and restaurants as well as the pools so that everyone staying with us can enjoy the ocean facilities.

Yours faithfully

Andrew Muir
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

When we arrived at Severin Sea Lodge, we were welcomed by an extremely nice receptionist, and he proved to be a typical example of the staff of the hotel. Everybody were exceptionally focused on making sure the guests had a great time.

The hotel had a team of "animators" that made sure that both we and our kids had a great time, we were extremely active because of this team, and I´ve never seen the kids this happy at any hotel ever.
The rooms are excellent, the food likewise, the swimming pools and grounds were very well cared for, it had direct access to the beach, we would very much like to come back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernhard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Bernhard,

Thank you so much for the write up here on Tripadvisor. We're happy to note that you and your family enjoyed your holiday with us. We really hope that we see you again!

Best regards,

Andrew Muir,
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

we stayed here november 2013 the hotel is amazing, the staff are the best, and food was wonderful.very relaxing do as little or as much as you want.we also stayed at severin safari camp in tsavo west, this was amazing, beautiful surroundings.I would recommend this hotel to family and freinds and will be back again and again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

It's wonderful and very relaxing. Though very expensive for drinks and food. The breakfast has rather no German affiliation, there is no good cheese and cold cuts as what we expect from a German hotel. The service is friendly but it takes time. The rooms are excellent if you are booked in the superior category. Unfortunately no one speaks the French language so the future is non French speaking clients for the Severin.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I recently stayed at Severin Sea Lodge and I found the hotel very very nice, staff were very friendly rooms were large and clean and the food was excellent. The swimming pool and the grounds were very well cared for. Definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: I stayed in the higher rooms and found the view was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jambo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
0.4 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#12 of 60 in Mombasa
1,000 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
372 reviews
4.8 mi away
Nyali Sun Africa Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#10 of 14 in Bamburi
130 reviews
1.2 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Severin Sea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Severin Sea Lodge

Address: Bamburi Beach, Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80101, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bamburi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range: $86 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Severin Sea Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GPS Koordinaten: 3 59 13 Sud, 39 44 21 Ost ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Severin Sea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Severin Sea Hotel Bamburi
Severin Sea Bamburi
Severin Sea Lodge Kenya/Bamburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing