We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really nice comfort class rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Severin Sea Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Severin Sea Lodge
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
kenya
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“really nice comfort class rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2008

We recently had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for 4 nights.
We booked for a standard room but they upgraded us to the Comfort class rooms in the main block at the rear of the hotel.Ask for room 300.

The view from the rooms is not much, unless you get rooms 310-313 and then you can see the sea and the pool.
The rooms have been recently renovated and they have been decorated in a classy way and no expense has been spared.
the good news is that they had actually hired an interior designer to decorate and you can see the difference.

All the rooms have a nice fitted bathroom with a shower cubicle and a nice washbasin with recessed lighting from behind the mirror.
They also have a shaving mirror in every room.
All rooms have a 29" LCD television and a Lamu day bed to relax in whilst watching television.
They have huge 8 ft by 8ft beds fitted with soft comforters.These really help when you wanna set the air conditioning to really low temperatures.
The drainage in the rooms needs to be looked at as the shower water would not flow out easily and the loo had problems flushing.

The food is still very good and the pizzas at the flame tree are still very very edible. The pasta has gone down a little bit since we last ate there a few years ago.Drinks are a little bit on the higher side but not as expensive as other similar class hotels.

Visit them for a really relaxing holiday.

  • Liked — it was very comfortable
  • Disliked — drainage system is not the best
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank visu_kenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    190
    71
    39
    13
See reviews for
93
218
49
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2008

Having just returned from the Severin after spending Christmas and New Year there i felt that i needed to share our experience with you.
AIRLINE: We flew with First choice and booked extra leg room. One of the best long haul flights we have experienced. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Good quality food.
ROOMS: We stayed in the superior bungalows. As has previously been stated, maybe the rooms were a little tired, however always extremely clean. I believe they are updating some of the rooms currently.
FOOD: Superb. The hotel put on a fantastic menu over the christmas period. We had a set 5 course gala dinner on several of the days over Xmas. We also had a superb sea food buffet on one evening with fresh losters and prawns freshly cooked on their grill. The food choice was excellent, even down to having a champagne breakfast on several days over Xmas! The flame tree restaurant was also excellent and nice as an alternative.
BARS: The swing bar was great with lovely views over the ocean. Peter the bar man also very good. We never had to wait for a drink.
STAFF: All very friendly and helpful. Any problems or quieries we answered straight away
REP: Our first choice rep Julius was very good. He was very informative and helped us out with anything that we asked. We booked a trip on the Tamarind Dhow through him, which was certainly worth doing.
BEACH BOYS: We didnt find them a real problem. At the end of the day they are just trying to earn a living. Jambo to August and Rama. We would have booked a trip with them, but unfortunately we didnt have US dollars to pay for the trip. We only had Kenyan schillings which they couldnt except. I would certainly recomend booking with them. Their email is [--].
We did find if you brought a few things from the beach boys then they did leave you alone.
SAFARI: We booked our safari before we came out with lilac adventures. I would definately recomend them. Daniel the manager was so helpful and always replied instantly to all emails. We flew to the Masa Marai for three days, staying at the Mara Simba. Our guide Geoffrey was the best guide out, with certainly the best jeep. Unfortunately we didnt see the leopard or the rhino, but the experience was just something else.
OVERALL: One of the best holidays we have been on. We cant think of anything negative to say about the hotel Having read some of the negative reviews we were slightly dubious before hand. What i will say is, dont take to much notice to them and make your own mind up when you come here because i am sure you will not be disappointed.Even though there was all the problems with their elections whilst we were there, we didnt see any hint of problems. It has certainly not put me of returning. They are one of the friendliest nations out. I just hope these problems have not ruined their tourism, they certainly dont deserve it.

  • Liked — The friendly staff, location and beach. Great place for a safari.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gunner60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2007

Hotel.
We stayed at Severin lodge from the 3rd to the 18th of December 2007 and had a wonderful holiday and we would certainly return there and recommend this hotel destination wholeheartedly. The hotel and grounds are very clean and maintained to a high standard. The food was varied and well cooked and the fresh fruit was the nicest we’ve ever tasted. The staff are excellent and go out of their way to please you. We found Kenyan people to be very friendly and were greeted warmly even in the small towns were they are living a very basic existence and going about their daily lives.
Hotel staff often work more than 8 hours a day even though they are only paid for 8 and are on a very low salary of less than £50 a month so any tipping is greatly appreciated. We usually tipped 100ksh and this was much appreciated and made me feel that I was doing a bit to help. We took old mobile phones and gave them to a few people because we heard they cannot afford them yet they often live away from their families who cannot afford to live on the coast and few homes have electricity never mind a land line.
I was often very moved by our much gifts were appreciated and how much they meant to the recipients. When I return I’ll take a lot more things to give out to these people who really have very little.
Safari Rama and August staugustkilonzi@yahoo.com
+254723419491 or +254736903114
We booked our safari with the beach boys August and Rama as we had read many reviews on line that said these were trust worthy boys and we had a wonderful safari experience at Livingston lodge in the Masai Mara. These guys are warm friendly individuals who are doing their best to earn a meagre living and I have included both their mobile numbers and e-mail address so that people can contact them to book safaris or other trips with ease. We chose to book with them because it was cheaper than with our rep but also because it gives these guys a job in a country with high unemployment and this way the money stays in Kenya were it is needed instead of lining the pockets of fat cats in Europe.( the reps do try to put you off doing this but to be honest I think they are just protecting their own commission) Livingston lodge was awesome with restaurant and room views of the river full of hippos and crocs. We also saw wart hogs drinking there and a baboon. Our safari driver Jackson was the nicest guy I’ve ever met and I hope we remain friends forever. Please tell him Jac and Fred said hello and are waiting for his e-mail.

Beach boys in general.
Were friendly guys/ladies trying to make a living so excuse them if they nag. Once you’ve bought what you want they do tend to leave you alone and I really liked chatting with them. But we did have one bad experience with three that accompanied us out to the sea when the tide was out and showed us the sea life then practically demanded 3000 ksh for their trouble. One was wearing a blue shirt and I know his name begins with a C. we were warned about the boys with blue shirts but didn’t listen…However other beach boys were very annoyed when I told them about our experience and had words with them so don’t let a minority spoil your opinion of the rest just be clear from the outset of how much you are willing to pay for their service.
I don’t want to make this review too long to read so please feel free to e mail me if you want further info on any subject e.g. taxi’s, haller park, using matatu’s (buses) visiting orphanages, wasisni island, mosquito’s things to take etc.

  • Liked — friendly staff atmosphere and views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank jacshadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2007

We stayed at Severin Sea LOdge 26 September-11 October and loved every minute of it. We had a standard room overlooking the pool and couldn't fault it at all - Okay maybe the towels were abit thin and hard but HEY this is Kenya!. All the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable - special mention to Philip - our room boy, Francis - our waiter, Eric and Simon in the Safari Bar, James and Harre of the Animation team and many many more.
We did a 3 night safari to Tsavo East and West and that was an unforgettable experience. Saw the Big 5, (altho the rhino had to be viewd through the bins), plus crocs, hippo, zebra, giraffe and loads more. Standards at the lodges were fine, altho the bathrooms at Voi and Ngulia were in need of an update. Salt Lick Lodge was amazing in every respect -food, animals, rooms - we just didn't want to leave. Life on safari can be tiring and we thought it would have been nice to have had one day relaxing at one of the lodges - enjoying the fantastic views and all the comings and goings at the water holes.
We were determined not to let the beach boys spoil our enjoyment of the beach/sea and they didn't. In fact it was great to chat to them and find out about their lives whilst enjoying a late afternoon stroll. We found they were less likely to pester you to buy something at that time of day!. However we did 'purchase' some souveirs from them and that was good fun! Having walked the length of Bamburi Beach, 'nosing' in many of the hotels, we felt the Severin had been an excellent choice! We enjoyed every meal, always plenty of variety and nicely presented. The Flame Tree provided a nice change from the main restaurant although the choice for AI was disappointingly limited. However the food was always excellent and its in a lovely setting.
We visited the Lioness Cubs orpahange - about a 10 minute drive from the hotel. - which we arranged with TA's Drakesdrum. Ted, from the orphange came to pick us up from the Severin and we stopped at the market to get lots of fruit to take for them. Well done to all the staff and volunteers who work so hard there ensuring all the children are happy and well cared for in a loving environment. It was lovely to play with the children and they were so grateful for our visit and gifts.
There's loads more I could mention but most of its been said before in previous reports. To sum the holiday up: An amazing and unforgettabe experience in wonderful surroundings! And one day we'll go back. If you're planning on visiting then GO FOR IT AND ENJOY! Ignore any negative reports because some people refuse to be pleased!

  • Liked — Rlaxing/friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank WirralHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2007

We have just returned from our third trip to Kenya for a special anniversary. We had upgraded our room to celebrate and looked forward to our stay.

We arrived to our superior bungalow to find it right at the back of the resort just about as poor a position as possible. On entering the
room an overpowering smell greeted us of musty furnishings. The bathroom was full of cracked tiles and looked like something out of the ark with a most unpleasant smell from the towels. We then looked at the bed to find the most disgusting grey linen we have ever encountered anywhere in the world. The welcome basket of fruit was a joke as most of it was already rotting. As you can imagine after a long flight this is not what you expect especially from a hotel of this supposed calibre.

Our rep did manage to get us a different room which was in a nice position but the linen was still of poor quality and towels made the bathroom have such a smell it was overpowering. As this was a room rarely used we feel, we did not have a particular room attendant so every day had to contact housekeeping for yet something else not done.

Don't expect much in the way of entertainment as most of it is just elevator music and most definitely lacks the African feel. The only plus point is the restaurant which is very good especially a waiter called Philip.

I could go on and on but that would be boring and its not something we have ever had to deal with before on all our travels.

As previously stated we have stayed in Kenya before and will not let this experience put us off but it was just so sad that it was a special anniversay. In our opinion this hotel is best avoided there are plenty of good hotels that will give you a better holiday and African experience.

  • Liked — The restaurant
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MalaikaDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbys
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2007

I have stayed in many hotels on long haul and the food has always been a little yucky! Especially all inclusive, the hotel seems to think that youve paid and thats it..no need to impress you.
However, Severins standard of food is amazing, we felt like we were eating in a five star restaurant in the UK. I am normally very fussy but I piled on weight at Severin.
The dining room is candlelit in the evenings and is waiter service some nights and buffet other nights. So much to chose from and as I said, fantastic quality, we never ate the same thing twice!

The staff are truly wonderful, cant do enough for you. We were tipping 50 Kenyan Shillings ie to porters/waiters/barman and they were happy enough. (about 37pence)

The grounds to the hotel are really quiet (or they were when we were there) no problems getting a sun bed, most around us were empty.

Much of the garden appears shaded from trees and you at first think "how the heck will I get any sun?" theres a lovely spot next to the swing beach bar that gets the sun all day but when you cant take any more, pop onto a swing in the shade and enjoy a Pina Colada over looking the sea.

Beach boys are a little persistant but just say youve been to Kenya before and say you already have 12 wooden elephants thanks, they will give up eventually, especially when you have some colour and the new white Brits arrive. Then they pile onto them.

I cannot fault this hotel at all for service and food quality, in fact I am actually craving some of the things I ate there, and to say I love food is an understatement, I took a few treats with me and brought them ALL back, so that says something.

Rooms are clean and the bed I found to be very comfy, air con worked, shower ok too, not luxurious but fine.

We went with First Choice and flew Star Class Premier, wouldnt pay for this service again but thats another story.

Went on the 3 night Ndogo Safari which was amazing, we saw everything and more.
Ive probably missed out loads of info that you want to know so please feel free to contact me to ask any questions at all, I will be happy to help if I can, whether its about the hotel, Safari or flight.
Have a great time if you are off there soon x

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
9 Thank mrsnoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2007

We have just returned from a wonderful two weeks stay at the Severin Sea Lodge; we chose the hotel after reading reviews on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed.
The hotel is lovely, the bungalows are set in beautiful gardens, the staff are excellent, and there was a really friendly atmosphere.
We booked the holiday with First Choice, the flight both ways was excellent, with lots of extra legroom as standard we would definitely book with them again.

A few days before we were due to travel my husband e-mailed the hotel to ask for an upgrade to a superior bungalow, we received a prompt reply and everything was organised when we arrived, we just had to pay the difference. It worked out cheaper than upgrading through First Choice.
The staff at the hotel are wonderful; nothing is too much trouble; especially Reginah at the Swing Bar, Eric and Simon in the main bar, Washington at the Flame Tree Restaurant and Andrew at the Pool Grill.
We had a memorable evening at the Imani Dhow Restaurant, not part of the All Inclusive package, but the food and the service were superb, the best Irish coffee we have ever had.

Most reviews mention problems with the Boys on the beach; we never let them stop us going into the sea, my husband enjoyed the time he spent talking to them, and he came away with some real bargains. They were not so bad, but they do home in on you when you first arrive!

To go outside the hotel we didn’t book any trips we just went to reception, booked a taxi and went on our own. We visited Haller Park and hand fed the Giraffes and Mamba Village to watch the crocodiles at feeding time. We also went to the Nakumatt supermarket and to a local bar called Cheers – very interesting!!
One evening we enjoyed a very good Indian meal at the Sher-e-Punjab restaurant, this is inside the Travellers Beach Hotel, the food and the service were excellent.

We read lots of reviews before booking our Safari, we wanted to book with a local company in Kenya; we chose Kenyan Adventures as they also had a representative in England. Anne was brilliant, always answering e-mails and telephone calls promptly, she passed our booking on to a small company called Gichmak and we had no problems at all.
We booked a 2 night private Safari, we paid Anne 10% deposit and the rest to Bernard when he came to see us at Severin the day after we arrived. He came with our driver, Kasimu, and it was good to meet before we actually began the Safari.

The first night was at Voi Safari Lodge and the second at Ngulia Safari Lodge, the food was excellent at both but the accommodation at Ngulia was far superior.
Voi needs an update – especially the bathrooms – but we didn’t care we were there for the animals, the scenery and the excitement and we were not disappointed.
The game drives were fantastic, especially in Tsavo East; we will never forget sitting in the dark at Voi, watching a Lion at the waterhole and listening to the other Lions roaring.
At Ngulia the Leopards were stunning; we saw two very close on the afternoon game drive and two more at night at the lodge.
Overall the Safari was amazing, we saw so many animals, Kasimu was great, and we got on so well it was like driving around with a friend. We cannot recommend him highly enough, and we would definitely use this company again.

This was our second holiday in Kenya and we cannot wait to go back again.

  • Liked — The staff, the atmosphere and the gardens
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bronean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
0.3 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#9 of 59 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kahama Hotel
Kahama Hotel
#7 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
3.7 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 59 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,869 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Severin Sea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Severin Sea Lodge

Property: Severin Sea Lodge
Address: Bamburi Beach, Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80101, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bamburi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Severin Sea Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GPS Koordinaten: 3 59 13 Sud, 39 44 21 Ost ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Jovago.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Severin Sea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Severin Sea Hotel Bamburi
Severin Sea Bamburi
Severin Sea Lodge Kenya/Bamburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing