We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Severin Sea Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Severin Sea Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for the price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I just returned from a weekend with my fiance - we picked it at the last minute for an impromptu holiday. It is lovely for the price we paid compared to other hotels in the area offering the same or similar amenities - its quite affordable for the basics they offer. It's been renovated so you have air con in your room; a (small) television, lovely shower and a safe to put your personal belongings. The staff are friendly with the exception of one reception who we found to be quite aloof but that is bound to happen! There are two pools to choose from, and the grounds are big enough for you to wander around without feeling like you are in other guests space. The food was average, and there are quite a few beach boys which is anything but not a bother - they don't come into the hotel or the lawns where the sun beds are and the beach is public holiday anyway. We plan on going back - with some friends and family so we can stay in the interconnected rooms and enjoy a longer stay.

Room Tip: The porters are quite nice - if rooms are available, you can ask to see one or two before you decide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    172
    60
    34
    12
See reviews for
79
197
40
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We were there for at least 10days and found this Hotel more than Perfect. The Food was delicious every Day and the staff was absolutely friendly and guest orientated. The Hotel is like European 4star++ Level. Er recommend the Sea Lodge to everyone, also try Out their Safari Camp, which is another Perfect Place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Koelle12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We had pleasure of spending a few days after relocating from another place.
Everything was great and i had value for money.

Your waiters are properly trained and are great people.

I would recommend it to anyone planning for holiday at the north coast.

With thanks

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chichi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darfur, Sudan via Charlotte, NC, USA
Level Contributor
167 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

For the price, the hotel did NOT live up to expectations. The rooms and bathrooms were a decent size, and were probably once very, very nice. However, now everything was a bit dark, dingy and sorely in need or repair. The shower drains were incredibly slow, so the cheap plastic shower curtain was always filthy (yeech!), and the housekeeping never seemed to notice when they "cleaned". The doors to the wardrobe wouldn't close, which was extremely annoying. The refrigerator was suspect, as the tray was filled with old, stale, dank water. The terrace was nice, but small, and despite what I had been mis-led to believe over the phone, did NOT have an ocean view. The grounds were well-maintained and relaxing, and overall the staff was very nice. Beware of the dinner dining room "dress code" that they don't reveal until you arrive -- as if you actually thought to bring knee length dresses with long sleeves to the beach! -- and they WILL harass you in the dining room and "suggest" you leave. I understand a no swimwear policy, but really, a dress code? Was enough to keep me out of the dining room. Although, admittedly, the one night that I ate there the food was exceptional.
The beach is overall unexceptional and full of touts, but has lots of nice restaurants and bars along it - particularly, Yul's.

Room Tip: There are perhaps two ocean view buildings, so be wary if you want an ocean view. Some rooms have T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amnesty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severin_touristik, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear Amnesty1,

We would like to thank you for the comments that you have put on trip advisor and we are sorry that we did not live upto your expectations. Regarding the rooms, yes they are old and we will be renovating them in the near future. We have already completed one side of the hotel so next year we plan to do the ones that you were staying in. Regarding the cleanliness this has been taken up very seriously with our Housekeeping department and we have put all our staff on a retraining program.

I am sorry about the comments on the dress for the evening meal. This policy is not just with us but all and most Half Board Hotels have the same policy here in Kenya. All Inclusive Hotels also follow this ruling as well. We are glad to hear that the meal that you did have with us you enjoyed.

If you are back here in Mombasa in the future I would ask if you could stay with us again as I am determined to show you a better side of Severin Sea Lodge. If you do have any comments please email us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

The hotel first opened in 1972, I have been coming to Severin since 2001 and I always had a very good stay.
Many of the rooms and bungalows have been recently renovated, (this uplift was really necessary), and now they are very pleasant and comfortable. There is aircon, satellite TV, and wireless Internet for a decent price.
The breakfast buffet is fantastic, available to about 10AM. But for "long sleepers" they offer a reduced version of the buffet up to 12AM: a fantastic alternative, if you decide to sleep longer after a couple of very early mornings at the safari!
I had mixed experiences at all 3 hotel restaurants; from very good to disappointing. Therefore I normally walk along the beach and dinner at the restaurants nearby. However, make sure not to miss the fresh fruit juices prepared at the Swing Bar, they are phenomenal!

The staff is just great: friendly and welcoming, they try very hard to make you feel well as a guest. I believe that the staff is the most valuable asset of the hotel.

Maybe then Severin Sea lodge might give a wrong impression for "first-timers"; probably because, initially, it may seem a bit aged and a bit too simple. But after a while, the details, it's unique architectural and design character, the power of the staff and the feel of Africa, guarantee a very pleasing and charming stay.

PS: Jogging lovers should not miss the fantastic tracks offered at the Bamburi Nature Trails across the main road behind the hotel; a beautiful park of authentic East African forest

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated bungalows or rooms. If possible avoid rooms on the ground floor and too close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MySalami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We had the pleasure of spending a few days at the Severin Sea Lodge recently. We really cannot think of anything we would change or improve about this hotel.

Our rooms were very comfortable - alright, you're not living in five-star opulence, but they were exactly what you'd want and expect for a beach hotel and the beds were very comfortable to sleep on.

The pool area was very luxurious and quiet - it was a very nice area to spend a few days relaxing and unwinding.

The location of the hotel on the tip of the north shore of Mombasa's beach was wonderful - the fact that it is relatively isolated means that there is not a lot of traffic past on the beach and this is quite a relief.

The food was very high quality, and the best part about it was the effort which all of the staff put into making it a wonderful experience. The food on every evening had a different theme, and for one of our last dinners, the staff had a Kenya-themed buffet. It was wonderful to see them dressed up and see the decor match the mood.

The hotel put on a different show every evening and whilst it wasn't a rocking party, at least it contributed to the overall atmosphere.

Truly the strongest aspect of this hotel is the service. The staff were simply fantastic. Everyone greeted us with a smile every time they saw us, and you could tell that they were truly happy working there. No request was too large or too small, and we truly felt looked after at every step. Preferences were remembered, tables were reserved, and items were brought without being requested. We were simply delighted with the quality of the staff - and they made all of the difference to our stay.

Wonderful place indeed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EnglandReindeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

The service is great but the unrenovated rooms really suck. Tired, noisy and dark.
The food is ok - excellent desert, main meal is akin to boarding school and the menu is very much dominated by German tastes (Sausage salad; processed meat).
Drinks are a little overpriced, beach is way too crowded.
If it were not for the staff (waiters and front desk) I would have just cancelled and moved elsewhere.

Room Tip: Do not stay in an unrenovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlexOAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
0.3 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#4 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#11 of 59 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 stars 887 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kahama Hotel
Kahama Hotel
#7 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Reef Hotel
Reef Hotel
#17 of 59 in Mombasa
3.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
3.9 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#1 of 59 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 stars 2,697 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Severin Sea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Severin Sea Lodge

Property: Severin Sea Lodge
Address: Bamburi Beach, Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80101, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
#2 Spa Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Severin Sea Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GPS Koordinaten: 3 59 13 Sud, 39 44 21 Ost ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Severin Sea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Severin Sea Hotel Bamburi
Severin Sea Bamburi
Severin Sea Lodge Kenya/Bamburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing