We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent but rooms need upgrading” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Certificate of Excellence
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent but rooms need upgrading”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

We stayed here 4 nights and had a memorable time.

Only gripe is the quality of rooms. We first had standard rooms and they are downright crude and do not justify the remaining good points of the hotel in general. Our travel operator African Quest Safari had us upgraded to superior rooms at no extra cost to us. Even the bathrooms in the superior rooms are of poor finish( custard yellow wall tiles, wall dampness, chipped bath tubs, dreary washbasin worktop, poorly finished wallskirtings, heavily painted white doors - all too simialr to a Blackpool bed and breakfast setting) It is about time Sarova spent some time and money in upgrading the rooms (to a tasteful decor) to bring out the best in this hotel. Bring in flatscreen TV's etc.

Food quality, variety and staff attendance generally was excellent and faultless. The hotel has excellent landscaping and beautifull lesiure facilities. Well recommended.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TahirUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitesandsMombasa, General Manager at Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
Dear Guest,

Firstly thank you for choosing to stay at our resort. We equally apologies that we did not measure up in some areas. Our bathrooms will see a major refurb in 2011 but meanwhile we have an ongoing minor refurb to addess the issue you have raised.

Thanks for the kind words about our staff, it is the team that makes the place complete. We eqaully pride ourselves about the excellent landscaping to give each guest a nice cosy corner. Food experince is one of our key strengths and I will personally express my gratitude to the Executive chef and his team.

Thanks for taking time to recommend us to other potential travellers.

With Kind Regards

Mohammed Hersi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    416
    138
    67
    58
See reviews for
370
312
62
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

From the arrival I knew it was going to be special, hot towels and nice drinks at reception. The service was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. The food was good and the amenities were amazing. Loved it, loved it, loved it. Would go back. The view from my balcony wasn't half bad eiher - Indian ocean - Wow.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitesandsMombasa, General Manager at Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from sunny Kenya coast

Firstly thanks for choosing to stay at our resort and for taking time to post your review on trip advisor. We are elated with your positive feedback and this will for sure bring lots of smiles to my team.

Your review says it all and thank you for recommending us to other potential travelers who seek real life experince at our resort.

We look forward to welcome you back


With Kind Regards

Mohammed Hersi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

we just returned from our honeymoon and what a fantastic holiday , were already in the process in booking for next year, the staff are absolutely lovely, they could not do enough for you, the place had such a warm and cozy atmosphere and we felt really welcomed and at home. The hotel grounds are stunning and there's lots to keep you occupied all day every day ( luxurious spa, pool activities, and much more) we went on a two day safari, a tour of mombassa, visited tumaini orphanage, and everything was arranged by the hotel, excellent value for money too! oh i could go on and on, but i just think that you should go and see for yourself, its truly amazing, i just love it x x x

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shell333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitesandsMombasa, General Manager at Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
Dear Guest ,

Thanks for choosing to stay at our resort and we are glad that you enjoyed your honeymoon in our resort. We are equally pleased that you intend to book for your next stay . I will share your positive comments with my team as this will bring smiles on their faces. Once again thank you for choosing Kenya and for choosing our resort.

With kind regards

Mohammed Hersi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

Having read some of the previous negative reviews, I have to ask whether they stayed at the same hotel as we did. We spent a week at the hotel, went off for a safari and came back to chill for a few more days. We loved all aspects of this holiday. The location ws superb and the hotel itself catered for all our needs. We found service to be outstanding and the food suited all of our children's differing taste buds.

The hawkers on the beach didnt trouble us. We befriended a couple and learnt a lot more from them than you would from any guidebook. There seems to be property in the tourists so if you say your trade is with one of them they leave you alone.

Apart from the safari we did a couple of trips - both arranged through the hotel and also arranged through the hawkers. The eldest learnt to scuba dive and the youngest took herself off to kids club a few times. All highly recommended.

Would we go again - definitely!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyon2ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitesandsMombasa, General Manager at Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us at sarova Whitesands. Your positive comments are appreciated and will be shared with my team. It is our mission to ensure that each and every guest who choses to stay at our resort departs while happy and totally satisfied. We are glad that we did manage to achieve that.

Thank You

Mohammed Hersi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
147 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

We travelled with Virgin Holidays to Mombasa via Nairobi as part of a package holiday. It was my husband's birthday, they gave us a free upgrade, Slightly noisy entertainment some nights but this was muted once the air-con was running. Excellent sized room with mosquito net ( no mosquitos seen at all throughout our stay as it was dry season) and insect spray and plug in repellent provided. Bath and Shower. Spotlessly clean. Toiletries and hairdryer provided - plugs the same as in England so don't need adaptors,and good safe. Beach towels at the poolside. 5 freeform swimming pools, our favourite was the one by the spa, no children allowed! The spa was excellent, had two wonderful massages, especially the one by Linda.
Hawkers on the beach selling trips and souvenirs at vastly inflated prices were quite persistent but friendly - easily avoided if you stayed in the hotel grounds!
The buffet restauraunt was good, the manager came round every mealtime to see if we were alright and the food was of good quality. My only moan was that it often was not hot enough by the time I carried it back to the table. I think the best meal of the week was when we went out to the Tamarind Restaurant in Mombasa and the food was served piping hot at the table! Different musicians every night played during dinner, they were usually very good.
The staff were without exception so friendly - could not do enough for us,especially Margaret the Executive Housekeeper who immediately solved any problems.
We had booked a three day safari to Tsavo East and West independently from England with JT safaris (Julius Tact Safaris - be aware there is another similar sounding group) - they were superb and we have no hesitation in recommending them.
Barclays Bank and ATM ( accessible when bank closed) just outside the hotel gate , turn right. Haler Park just a short taxi away, had interesting couple of hours feeding giraffes and seeing giant tortoises and wonderful birds.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkielyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiboko2010, General Manager at Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing to stay at our resort and for taking time to post your comments. Thanks for the many positives highligted. We have taken note of your feedback about the temperature of food served in the main restaurant. Corrective steps have now been taken to rectify that with constant thermo check during meal time . Margaret the Executive Houskeeper will also be recognised for her hard work in making your stay a faultess one.

Thank you

Mohammed Hersi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

This hotel is overpriced for what you get. DON'T BE FOOLED BY THE WEBSITE!

The grounds are nice and beach is beautiful. But that's were it ends.

Unfortunately, the rooms are run down and the food isn't very good at all. The pictures of the room were obviously taken a long time ago. The food was like that served in a work canteen.

We paid for half board but ended up going out every night. Yes, I know this is Africa etc. But I have travelled the world and stayed in much cheaper, more remote places where the food and rooms have better at much lower price.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDRIVER_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiboko2010, General Manager at Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing to stay at our resort. It is regretable we did not meet your expectation on your recent stay. The photos on our website are all current so we are not in any way trying to deceive our clients. It is equally sad that you equate our food to a work canteen, We pride ourselves with 2 weeks themed dinners ranging from Seafood extravanganza to Swahili Africa nights. Our breakfast is full english breakfast that can match any hotel in the world. Our benchmark is not only Africa but the best resorts in the world hence the reason why we are contracted by all the leading agents. It will be my pleasure if we are able to link up and win back your confidence.

Mohammed Hersi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

We returned from our Beach/Safari holiday on the 7th September. We are a family of four with two teenage girls.
When arriving at the hotel we were welcomed by the reception staff and from Angela who is on the management team, we were taken to our rooms which overlooked the sea both room were kept spotlessly clean at all times.
The Food in the main Restaurant is on a two week theme for your main evening meal you could'nt fault this food at all. At breakfast time you had so much to choose from, cereal, fruit, fruit juices, egg/omlette bar. At lunch time you had two restaurants to choose from which were both to high standards. Every afternoon you could go to the beach bar and have afternoon tea.

The entertainment team work hard at all times keeping the guests entertained during the day with water polo, beach volley ball, beach football and the evening shows were also good.

Overall we had a fantastic family holiday and our stay at Whitesands was very good, we are a well travelled family.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MRSAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiboko2010, General Manager at Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Thanks for posting positive comments about our resort since it is only guests who are happy with our services who are bound to come back. We are committed to deliver on both product and service. We will recognise Angela for her efforts in our next town hall meeting. We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit with your family.

Mohammed Hersi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
0.3 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#8 of 59 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
1.6 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
4.4 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80101, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bamburi
#1 Spa Hotel in Bamburi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Africa's finest resort, Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa is conveniently located on one of the longest magnificent beach fronts on the Kenyan coast. We take pride in ensuring our guests enjoy the most relaxing and comfortable stay in tastefully furnished rooms and suites offering spectacular ocean, pool and garden views. For dining and entertainment, guests can choose from three themed superb restaurants, two great bars, and the exclusive Cocos Beach Bar, overlooking the beautiful Mombasa Ocean. There are four outdoor swimming pools with water slides, spring board, diving boards and four floodlit tennis courts that also serve as a landing ground for helicopters. A fully equipped wellness and fitness club with state-of-the-art fitness equipment, a PADI diving centre and a host of water sports, like snorkelling and jet skiing are also available. Be it a family holiday with children, beach wedding, honeymoon, business meetings with a difference or special interests like deep sea diving or fishing, Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa has something special for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Jovago.com and Agoda so you can book your Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort And Spa
Sarova Whitesands Beach Hotel Bamburi
Whitesands Hotel Mombasa
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa Kenya/Bamburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing