We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise in Kenya”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Certificate of Excellence
Iloilo City, Philippines
Level Contributor
97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise in Kenya”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This property commands an excellent location in the sweet spot of this area of Mombasa. Although the road network is poor in the city, once you enter the property you experience a transformation. Across from the property lies a very nice and expansive nature park with trails for mountain biking and hiking. Very nice and safe. The buffet meals are superb and the service is 5 star.

Room Tip: Obviously, choose a sea view if you can...the reef with the waves breaking over it is very relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    431
    140
    69
    61
See reviews for
386
319
64
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We held a meeting regarding a continental project here during Ramadan and it was marvelous. Though some of my guests complained of monotonous food for the whole week were there, all would want to go back. For me, I still yearn for the fruit yoghurt and the carrot juice. They took care of our Muslim brothers. Neat rooms, pleasant hosts - from the potter through the reception to your room. Words cannot describe. With any problem, just call your contact manager and someone will come to your aid.

Room Tip: I will always prefer sea facing rooms because you see what goes on on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
76 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Resting over the white sands beach of Mombasa this resort with all the activities in it represents a huge turn in our visit to Kenya. Taken us from the wild safari adventure the open hearts of it's welcoming, smiling and helpful staff members put us over the silk of hospitality and comfort.
No need to go anywhere out of it, despite the crowd, multiethnic city of Mombasa this resort is full of joyful activities.
Open beach,multiple swimming pools, sea adventures with diving and water motor games, evening entertainment programs, different varieties of restaurants and bars. Or just rest and relax and enjoy the breath taking views or visit the spa for full body treatment.
Price is reasonable.
In short, it is a world of leisure!
Thank you Sarova Resort.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hexa67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Beautiful place beautiful people with hearts of Gold. Why go anywhere else,.You are cared from the moment (Innocent meet us with a smile) you walk in to the moment you leave. Kids Club is thumbs up with people like Mary, Barbra, Carol, Fridah with awesome activities for kids.Waiter were super friendly, Ali, Geoffrey, Doreen, Moses. Evening Entertainment is amazing and Coco beach bar is nice and chilled out. Thanks Whitesands for the great experience I get each time I come.

Room Tip: Sea front facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siae254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I stayed at this 5*Hotel for a fortnight from 17th March 2014....I had a fantastic holiday here, very clean, newly refurbished rooms. Staff are A1 and are there for you 24 hours a day. The Hotel Manager Michael was also on hand tending to every whim of all Guests!! Coco's bar is a must also on site, all bar staff there are fab....especially Cecil, Levina, Marceluis all staff are superb I'm sorry if I've missed out loads of other names. Fantastic food, entertainment each night, many pools, many restaurants and bars and the spa treatments are a must!!........It's a must. I am going back again next week for a fortnight xx Truly Amazing Hotel xx

Room Tip: All rooms are gorgeous. but a sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at Whitesands for a week just before Easter and we had a wonderful break. It is a very good hotel with amenities to suit adults and children alike.
I wish to make specific reference to the service we received at Coco Beach Bar, especially the excellent service provided by Zaituni and Karen.
I will return back to Whitesands later this year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jay c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Hotel in general
Very nice hotel. It felt like a 5 star establishment through its ambience, the check in service, as it was slick. Told to take a seat in reception provided with a refreshing drink and cool hand/face towel while our check in process was being taken care of by the concierge staff.

As we were all-inclusive we were surprised that we had to sign at the end of a meal or drinks order except breakfast. There is no running tab, once you ordered something your tab was closed. If you decided you wanted another drink a new bill would be issued to be signed. As mentioned before we were all-inclusive and this became a bit tedious. Surely it would make more sense to have to sign for items that were NOT 'all-inclusive' as not all food / drinks are covered under the 'all-inclusive' banner.

Customer service was excellent and staff were child friendly.

3038 Sea View Room
Room 3038 was amazing. The bed was exteremly comfortable, it was clean, spacious, huge shower, stunning view of beach and sea. The turn down service is an added bonus where the room is prepared for you, for a good nights rest. The only downside it is a long walk from reception and other amenities and also being two floors up with no lift. However, luggage was brought to and from the room by concierge staff. The upside it was away from the evening entertainment Which meant we were not exposed to the loud music that went on into the early hours of the morning on some nights. Travelling with a 3 year old and being two floors up was an initial concern. However, we felt comfortable with the safety aspect of the height of the concrete wall and the balcony was big enough to move the chairs and table away from the balcony wall to remove the temptation to climb. Once a child is never left out there by themself there should be no safety issue. Robes and slippers were provided.

Restaurants
Large variety of food I.e. African / Indian / British dishes. The majority of the dishes were tasty. The Minazi Cafe has an adult and a childs menu. Benjamin is the star of the show at the Minazi his experience in his role of customer service is second to none. He served us at the pool and in the Cafe on many occasions and made us feel very welcome and extra special. In general - the restaurants are spacious and staff are attentive. Pros - good food, nice ambience and polite staff - the Chef Joseph was particulary accomm odating when our 3yr old requested mash potato which was not in the buffet - cons - drink orders took a while to arrive. There were times when our meal was finished and we were still waiting for our drinks, but overall it was not a hugh issue and certainly did not take away our positive dining experince.

Entertainment
The nightly entertainment takes place at Cocos Beach Bar and is scheduled to start at 9.30pm and last for approximately 30 minutes, but more often than not it started much later. Children are not allowed in the bar after 10pm. However, there proved flexible with allowing children to stay after 10pm, as the children were even encourage to participate in the opening of the dance floor known doing the ' Jambo Jambo'.
The acrobatic entertainers were fantastic and a must see!

Pools
Very big children's pool and area. Plenty beds and shade areas. Pool is warm and clean. Very little breeze by the kids pool compared to the swim up pool bar which is in very close proxinity, but has the breeze coming in from the beach. Children's pool gets no deeper that 1 meter. The swim up pool bar has plenty of beds and shade and as mentioned is a bit cooler benefiting from the breeze from the beach. All are very clean and warm.

Beach
Pro- Sea is very warm and calm. Cons - sea can go very far out from 8.30am until 2pm ish, but everyday was different. Lot of seaweed, which harmes no one, but can be an eyesore. The guys on the beach do approach for business, but understand a polite no.

Kids Club
Runs from 9.30am - 9.30pm even though our 3 year old was reluctant to go they still tried to involve him in the activities. A variety of activities took place which included face painting, bouncy castle, beach activities, swimming pool activities and indoor facilities. Florence, Lucy, Mary and Caroline were absolutely fantastic and do Sarova Whitesands proud.

Travel Information
Nairobi Airport is a nightmare - immigration takes at least two hours to clear, be ready for your patience to be tested and queue jumpers!! Visa cost £30 or $50 US dollars per passenger. You may want to purchase a visa before you travel, if that is possible, as it may speed up your process at immigration.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jollytinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
0.6 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#8 of 58 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
1.8 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
4.2 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80101, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bamburi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Africa's finest resort, Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa is conveniently located on one of the longest magnificent beach fronts on the Kenyan coast. We take pride in ensuring our guests enjoy the most relaxing and comfortable stay in tastefully furnished rooms and suites offering spectacular ocean, pool and garden views. For dining and entertainment, guests can choose from three themed superb restaurants, two great bars, and the exclusive Cocos Beach Bar, overlooking the beautiful Mombasa Ocean. There are four outdoor swimming pools with water slides, spring board, diving boards and four floodlit tennis courts that also serve as a landing ground for helicopters. A fully equipped wellness and fitness club with state-of-the-art fitness equipment, a PADI diving centre and a host of water sports, like snorkelling and jet skiing are also available. Be it a family holiday with children, beach wedding, honeymoon, business meetings with a difference or special interests like deep sea diving or fishing, Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa has something special for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Whitesands Beach Hotel Bamburi
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort And Spa
Whitesands Hotel Mombasa
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa Kenya/Bamburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing