We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Royalton White Sands”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The property is beautiful. Beautiful beach and the water is clear. The staff is very friendly and welcoming to visitors. There is a variety of places to eat from, the steakhouse and the Italian restaurant the best ones. The buffet has a great breakfast with a wide range of local and western dishes. Staff is responsive to requests. Easily one of the best resorts in the area. Will be even better once some of the amenities have finished and fixed. I would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have a view of the Ocean. Ask for the one with the best view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReeRee78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,346)
There are newer reviews for Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

631 - 637 of 1,346 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed at Sarova Whitesands for one week at the beginning of December. Check in took a while because we were quite a large family group travelling to Mombasa for our sons wedding. But was generally smooth and efficient. We were all allocated the newly refurbished beach rooms which were very clean and maintained to a high standard. Lovely furnishings in the room and a comfortable king size bed. Tea and coffee tray also provided. The bathroom had a huge walk in shower with additional rain shower and the usual complementary toileteries, also very clean and modern. The room was cleaned efficiently on a daily basis and a turn down service was provided in the evening when a mosquito net would be drawn around the bed.
The Pavillion main restaurant provided buffet breakfast, lunch and a dinner which had a daily theme. Lots of choice and variety, the various indian dishes were especially good. The Mianzi restaurant was excellent for lunches, offering sandwiches, pizza, burgers and pasta. All cooked to order and very tasty, especially loved the fries! The Lido restaurant near the beach was good for having dinner in the evening as an alternative to the buffet restaurant which could get very hot and noisy. Excellent seafood and also steaks. It is a Chaine Rossiter restaurant and standards are very good.
The beach could be accessed from the back of the hotel, sandy beach but alot of seaweed at low tide. Beach sellers are generally polite but will keep trying to sell you something! They also never forget so never say you will maybe buy something another day as they do remember you! Socks seem to be a thing beach sellers ask for so take some spare ones and they tend to leave you alone then! Security at the hotel was very high level and we always felt safe in the hotel and grounds.
Staff throughout the hotel work very hard and are always courteous and polite. We had a lovely stay at Whitesands and would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Newly refurbished beach rooms have excellent views of Indian Ocean and hotel gardens.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShadowF1re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Best holiday destination for the whole family lots of fun activities for adults and Kidz. Kudos to the Kidz club we'll organized and they are fantastic with the Kidz. Excellent service and great staff, they're warm and welcoming.
I must commend them for 50th Kenya anniversary dinner it was awesome, lots of entertainment and a variety of food.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We enjoyed our stay there, though very short.... Would always do it again... Especially good for the kids as they are taken care of and parents can have that bit of holiday too... Lovely experience... To make by one self

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

What can I say about Sarova Whitesands. From the moment of check in to check out, my experience at the hotel has been the best. The rooms, the food, the hospitality is second to none. The staff are ever friendly and always smiling. I was fortunate enough to come across several very friendly staff members who made my stay memorable. I cannot wait for my next visit to Whitesands. I cannot wait to visit Sarova Whitesands in the near future. My sincere gratitude and appreciation to the Hotel's staff

Room Tip: Getting the refubrished rooms are always the best option. I was fortnate enough to get a room facing...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Az_Man30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed here several times- most recently last week at a conference. This is a great hotel in a beautiful setting.

Food is good through the big buffets are a little overwhelming. The newer rooms a very very good good AC, nice fittings, excellent showers etc- and it's helpful that they have adult and child friendly pools separate.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view- and make sure it's one of the new ones.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I have stayed iPad this hotel several times before and liked it, but yesterday,my otherwise good stay in the newly renovated rooms, was messed up at check in. I arrived at 430 pm and spent 1 hr 15 mins waiting for a room, had prior booking but they seemed to be fumbling to get a room, could hear the receptionist negotiating with someone on the other side on which room to allocate and the numbers he was being given all seemed sold... :((, asked to see the manager, who was not aware they were facing a near crisis.. Twitted about it and it was ignored!. There is a lot of room of improvement .. The 1st impression lasts and overides all other positive aspects of the stay

Room Tip: Please reconfirm your booking status and room assign,eny before arrival to avoid wasting useful time
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
0.6 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
552 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#9 of 60 in Mombasa
984 reviews
1.8 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
EnglishPoint Hotel
EnglishPoint Hotel
#18 of 60 in Mombasa
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
128 reviews
4.2 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80101, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bamburi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
#1 Spa Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range: $187 - $505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Africa's finest resort, Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa is conveniently located on one of the longest magnificent beach fronts on the Kenyan coast. We take pride in ensuring our guests enjoy the most relaxing and comfortable stay in tastefully furnished rooms and suites offering spectacular ocean, pool and garden views. For dining and entertainment, guests can choose from three themed superb restaurants, two great bars, and the exclusive Cocos Beach Bar, overlooking the beautiful Mombasa Ocean. There are four outdoor swimming pools with water slides, spring board, diving boards and four floodlit tennis courts that also serve as a landing ground for helicopters. A fully equipped wellness and fitness club with state-of-the-art fitness equipment, a PADI diving centre and a host of water sports, like snorkelling and jet skiing are also available. Be it a family holiday with children, beach wedding, honeymoon, business meetings with a difference or special interests like deep sea diving or fishing, Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa has something special for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort And Spa
Sarova Whitesands Beach Hotel Bamburi
Whitesands Hotel Mombasa
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa Kenya/Bamburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing