We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$119
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kahama Hotel(Bamburi)(Great Value!)
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bliss Resort(Bamburi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,430)
Filter reviews
1,430 results
Traveler rating
672
471
150
71
66
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
672
471
150
71
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstulia spacocos beach barkids clubseafood restaurantlido restaurantsea viewentertainment teamthe white sandsquiet poolindian oceansea frontour honeymoonbreakfast and dinnermain restaurantwater sportsspecial thanksjet skiing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
723 - 728 of 1,430 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I had a great stay with my family. spacious rooms, good staff and good food. Thanks to Joshua and Hilda for taking my hard questions and facilitating my accommodation. I love this place with all my heart and i will come back. My children have urged me to let them stay here forever. Brought tears to my eyes. Thanks.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the pool and the ocean.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night in november,for one night on our way to malindi.
This hotel is excellent and was sorry we had only one night,we arrived late at night
But we're checked in and showed to our room with no issues and were given a cool drink and hot towel to freshen up, we were tired and hungry and we were told we could avail of the restaurant,
Which was open 24 hrs , I fancied a cup of tea. With some fries and my husband had chicken and chips, it was delicious and was plenty for two people, our room was beautiful which looked out over the ocean, it was spotless clean and so comfortable. We slept so soundly
With just the sound of the ocean. Breakfast was a buffet which was excellent, the staff were friendly and efficient.but don't forget guys ,give employer of the month to one of the female staff as we noticed every month was a male employer, we loved this hotel and would love to return for a longer stay,

Room Tip: Room sea view room
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ismail c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

spent two glorious days here while holidaying in Kenya. before and after our safari. right on the Beach as well. all we had to do was go down a few steps and walk along the beautiful white sands and dip our feet into the warm waters of the indian ocean.
the hotel caters for all types, adults as well as kids.the hotel is protected by security so felt very safe at night .room was good, food in resteraunt differed every evening. different theme each night.
only set back was it says no sports shorts or shorts. wouldn't let me in resteraunt at first because I had 3/4 lengths on. I was a bit annoyed as these were neither shorts or sport shorts.
all the staff very polite and always seemed to be happy.
chatted to one of the bar staff who was very friendly and polite her name was susan .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

After a five day safari we arrived to a lovely welcome from the staff at sarova. Security has been increased after teeny events and there were some high profile events on at the hotel so it was good to feel safe. Everything is very relaxed at the resort and we had a lovely trip. The people are among the friendliest we have met while away. The foo is very good and service great. Lido restaurant was great and the whole crab wa delicious. The grounds are lovely and very well maintained. Our room had a lovely view and was very stylishly decorated. It was a lovely place to come to after so many early starts. We would like to thanks all of the people who helpe make our holiday a really happy one - the entertainment team were great - water aerobics, beach walks and water polo were alway a good laugh. William, simon, victor , Lucy and all the others always put a smile on our faces. Barbara in the restaurant alway made sure we were well looked after. Overall it would be hard to find anything bad to say about this place. We loved it and hope that tourists don't take Kenya off their list because they would be missing out. Thanks for a lovely holiday

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank kirstybaillie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Hi All, I know Kenya well, but this was my first trip to Whitesands as an all inclusive holidaymaker. Overall the stay here was excellent, but marred by a few weak areas. I was in a refurbished room and it was superb, as was room services. The staff overall were good and professional. Unfortunately the overall economic situation is weak for the local staff meaning that wages are simply not covering living costs. Tips are not added extras, but are putting essential food on the table. The cost of food and housing have soared over the past 6 years and the economy is diving as there are few European tourists compared to pre election violence in 2007. The security was tight around Mombasa and the hotel with high visibility armed police and plenty of hidden security. Attacks by terrorists are possible, but unlikely in my view - especially at the main hotels. The food at the hotel was overall good with many highly proficient staff such as Mercy and Sulieman serving in Menazi restaurant. There were a few food disasters, but these were put right immediately. The main restaurant was the usual self service buffet type school canteen atmosphere. My biggest beef was that I had to pay extra for food delivered to the room and that food was already included in the cost - tray service cost is fine, but not for food which was already included in the all inclusive tariff - and it was not cheap food. (what this means is that a room only guest gets charged the same as you for a meal to the room when you already paid a premium price - nonsense really). The communication about this was pretty muddled and sorting out payment, or not, was a pain - right up to 10 minutes before departure. My advice - do not use room service for meals if you are all inclusive. My second beef was that the hotel was opened as a day resort for local Kenyans to come in at the weekend to use the pools etc. This meant it became like a busy Pontins/beach resort in the pool areas where visitors used the pools, but seemed to pay for little else - like a high class beach party for them - a noisy nightmare for normal hotel guests. Voyager hotel did not resort to this desperate measure of opening up for so many day visitors for a bit of extra income - and Voyager is much cheaper. I appreciate times are hard, but this was really poor for a top hotel! Anyway, apart from the above mentioned, Whitesands is a good hotel which is well maintained and has lovely garden and pond areas. The facilities are good and it is close to supermarket shopping at Nakumat (£5 taxi trip from good quality hotel taxis). There are still a few night clubs open outside such as Casaurina in Mtwapa, but they are struggling with very low tourist numbers. The beach boys are still ravenous for 'fresh meat' tourists to hound for a few bob - be firm and respectful to them. My wife had been to Whitesands previously and it has deteriorated in some ways (the rooms are better if you get a refurbished one), but times have become very hard - so it is doing well to stay afloat in such adverse conditions. Overall I have given a 4 star rating to a good hotel with some weaknesses. Thank you to all the many excellent staff in many areas of the hotel from reception to gardeners - your work is appreciated. Will I go back? mmmm ....I will think about it. Paying half the price at a nearby hotel and eating out or using a la carte restaurants has its attractions. If you have plenty of money - pay the extras and shut your ears to the din at the weekends with day visitors - you will have a good experience. Oh - one final thing - Barclays is just outside the hotel gate

Room Tip: Get a refurbished room and do not use room service for meals unless you want to throw money away. Visit Nakumat for supermarket extras like toiletries, food treats, pharmacy items etc (expect 400% price hikes in the hotel shop and limited choice). ps - you can buy mostly what you want from a pharmacy in Kenya with no prescription needed. All medicines I have used have worked properly - just use a big pharmacy at Nakumat. Also, for changing money and getting phones done is best at Cheers shops which is nearby (on the way to Nakumat)
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews