We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whitesand hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Whitesand hotel”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night in november,for one night on our way to malindi.
This hotel is excellent and was sorry we had only one night,we arrived late at night
But we're checked in and showed to our room with no issues and were given a cool drink and hot towel to freshen up, we were tired and hungry and we were told we could avail of the restaurant,
Which was open 24 hrs , I fancied a cup of tea. With some fries and my husband had chicken and chips, it was delicious and was plenty for two people, our room was beautiful which looked out over the ocean, it was spotless clean and so comfortable. We slept so soundly
With just the sound of the ocean. Breakfast was a buffet which was excellent, the staff were friendly and efficient.but don't forget guys ,give employer of the month to one of the female staff as we noticed every month was a male employer, we loved this hotel and would love to return for a longer stay,

Room Tip: Room sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ismail c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    431
    140
    69
    61
See reviews for
386
319
64
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-sea
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

spent two glorious days here while holidaying in Kenya. before and after our safari. right on the Beach as well. all we had to do was go down a few steps and walk along the beautiful white sands and dip our feet into the warm waters of the indian ocean.
the hotel caters for all types, adults as well as kids.the hotel is protected by security so felt very safe at night .room was good, food in resteraunt differed every evening. different theme each night.
only set back was it says no sports shorts or shorts. wouldn't let me in resteraunt at first because I had 3/4 lengths on. I was a bit annoyed as these were neither shorts or sport shorts.
all the staff very polite and always seemed to be happy.
chatted to one of the bar staff who was very friendly and polite her name was susan .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

After a five day safari we arrived to a lovely welcome from the staff at sarova. Security has been increased after teeny events and there were some high profile events on at the hotel so it was good to feel safe. Everything is very relaxed at the resort and we had a lovely trip. The people are among the friendliest we have met while away. The foo is very good and service great. Lido restaurant was great and the whole crab wa delicious. The grounds are lovely and very well maintained. Our room had a lovely view and was very stylishly decorated. It was a lovely place to come to after so many early starts. We would like to thanks all of the people who helpe make our holiday a really happy one - the entertainment team were great - water aerobics, beach walks and water polo were alway a good laugh. William, simon, victor , Lucy and all the others always put a smile on our faces. Barbara in the restaurant alway made sure we were well looked after. Overall it would be hard to find anything bad to say about this place. We loved it and hope that tourists don't take Kenya off their list because they would be missing out. Thanks for a lovely holiday

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstybaillie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Hi All, I know Kenya well, but this was my first trip to Whitesands as an all inclusive holidaymaker. Overall the stay here was excellent, but marred by a few weak areas. I was in a refurbished room and it was superb, as was room services. The staff overall were good and professional. Unfortunately the overall economic situation is weak for the local staff meaning that wages are simply not covering living costs. Tips are not added extras, but are putting essential food on the table. The cost of food and housing have soared over the past 6 years and the economy is diving as there are few European tourists compared to pre election violence in 2007. The security was tight around Mombasa and the hotel with high visibility armed police and plenty of hidden security. Attacks by terrorists are possible, but unlikely in my view - especially at the main hotels. The food at the hotel was overall good with many highly proficient staff such as Mercy and Sulieman serving in Menazi restaurant. There were a few food disasters, but these were put right immediately. The main restaurant was the usual self service buffet type school canteen atmosphere. My biggest beef was that I had to pay extra for food delivered to the room and that food was already included in the cost - tray service cost is fine, but not for food which was already included in the all inclusive tariff - and it was not cheap food. (what this means is that a room only guest gets charged the same as you for a meal to the room when you already paid a premium price - nonsense really). The communication about this was pretty muddled and sorting out payment, or not, was a pain - right up to 10 minutes before departure. My advice - do not use room service for meals if you are all inclusive. My second beef was that the hotel was opened as a day resort for local Kenyans to come in at the weekend to use the pools etc. This meant it became like a busy Pontins/beach resort in the pool areas where visitors used the pools, but seemed to pay for little else - like a high class beach party for them - a noisy nightmare for normal hotel guests. Voyager hotel did not resort to this desperate measure of opening up for so many day visitors for a bit of extra income - and Voyager is much cheaper. I appreciate times are hard, but this was really poor for a top hotel! Anyway, apart from the above mentioned, Whitesands is a good hotel which is well maintained and has lovely garden and pond areas. The facilities are good and it is close to supermarket shopping at Nakumat (£5 taxi trip from good quality hotel taxis). There are still a few night clubs open outside such as Casaurina in Mtwapa, but they are struggling with very low tourist numbers. The beach boys are still ravenous for 'fresh meat' tourists to hound for a few bob - be firm and respectful to them. My wife had been to Whitesands previously and it has deteriorated in some ways (the rooms are better if you get a refurbished one), but times have become very hard - so it is doing well to stay afloat in such adverse conditions. Overall I have given a 4 star rating to a good hotel with some weaknesses. Thank you to all the many excellent staff in many areas of the hotel from reception to gardeners - your work is appreciated. Will I go back? mmmm ....I will think about it. Paying half the price at a nearby hotel and eating out or using a la carte restaurants has its attractions. If you have plenty of money - pay the extras and shut your ears to the din at the weekends with day visitors - you will have a good experience. Oh - one final thing - Barclays is just outside the hotel gate

Room Tip: Get a refurbished room and do not use room service for meals unless you want to throw money away. Vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We spend 4 days at this hotel as part of our honeymoon safari in october 2013 and absolutely loved it! The hotel is clean, great food (many choices and every day different theme for dinner), nice swimming pools and beach and good facilities. The gym is quite large with modern equipment and there is a very active entertainment team, not only for the children but also for adults. We especially enjoyed the activities organized by David and Simon with their excellent volleyball/waterpolo skills and always up for the challenge of a problem-solving-trick.
Staff was very friendly and helpful, which made our stay very relaxing and fun.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen-George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnieKithinji, Manager at Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Ellen George,
Greetings from Sarova Whitesands beach resort and Spa. Thank you for taking time to write a review on our resort. We are grateful that you found the hotel great and our food variety the best.
We note you were pleased with our staff David and Simon who kept you entertained as part of the animation team.
We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Just returned from a 2-week stay at Sarova with our daughter who is 8, the hotel was perfect, you could not want for a better hotel. The rooms was fantastic just been re-furbished and a sea view, 4 or 5 swimming pools, one has a kids area an other organised events such as volley ball or water polo, but if you didnt want to join in you were left alone.
Main restaurant is buffet with lots of choice, also a Pizza an Pasta restaurant and Sea food by the beach which you have free access to.
The fun A team were brilliant keeping people entertained, especially at night at Coco's beach bar, special thanks to Victor, David, Steven, William and Crazy David.
All the staff were friendly and could not do enough for you. You tend to sit in the same area of the restaurant and have the same people serving you so get to know them and they you. Steven and Mercy in the restaurant deserve a special mention.
Water sports were as you woudl expect, glass bottom boat trip is very good as were the jet ski's
The hotel has its own taxi service who can take you to the local sights and stay with you during your visits, very reasonably priced.
Overall you could not fault it and would return tomorrow given the chance.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room - although the others will all be refurbed shortly - with a family ask to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsKReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnieKithinji, Manager at Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dearv Mrs.Reynolds,
We thank you for choosing to stay at our resort. We certainly value all our guests and importantly your patronage in our resort.
My team and I are humbled that we measured up to your expectations during your stay. Thankyou for rating our food, accomodation and service as fanatastic.
It is such positive reviews like yours that help us grow the business. I would like to assure you of our commitment to delivere on both quality service and product to ensure we remain the preferred choice.
Thank you for mentioning some of our staff that delivered their duties exceptionally and definetly deserve to be recognized by my team.
We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
163 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We visited Whitesands again with our kids and had a great vacation. The hotel doesn't disappoint when it comes to kid-friendly facilities. The only challenge is television entertainment (which we only use early in the morning). There is only 1 channel, which has movies on rotation. We highlighted this issue to management and they are looking at possible solutions. Also the buffet menu is very limited when staying for a longer time. During our 4 night stay on full board, we ended up confronted with similar dishes (although well prepared). Overall, the best family hotel in Mombasa.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madame_Trey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnieKithinji, Manager at Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Madame Trey,
Greetings from Sarova whitesands Beach resort and Spa!

First let me take this opportunity to appreciate your stay with us and for having stayed with us three times since year 2011. My team and I are glad that you found time to come and stay at your preferred resort of stay. We have noted your concerns on TV channels for kids and we shall work to improve the same. I note you found our themed buffets a little repetitive.
As a family hotel, we value feedback as this assists us gauge our level of standards and of course improve mentioned gaps.
We do thank you once again and look forward to hosting your family in the very near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
0.6 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#9 of 58 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
1.8 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
4.2 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80101, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bamburi
#1 Spa Hotel in Bamburi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Africa's finest resort, Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa is conveniently located on one of the longest magnificent beach fronts on the Kenyan coast. We take pride in ensuring our guests enjoy the most relaxing and comfortable stay in tastefully furnished rooms and suites offering spectacular ocean, pool and garden views. For dining and entertainment, guests can choose from three themed superb restaurants, two great bars, and the exclusive Cocos Beach Bar, overlooking the beautiful Mombasa Ocean. There are four outdoor swimming pools with water slides, spring board, diving boards and four floodlit tennis courts that also serve as a landing ground for helicopters. A fully equipped wellness and fitness club with state-of-the-art fitness equipment, a PADI diving centre and a host of water sports, like snorkelling and jet skiing are also available. Be it a family holiday with children, beach wedding, honeymoon, business meetings with a difference or special interests like deep sea diving or fishing, Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa has something special for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Whitesands Beach Hotel Bamburi
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort And Spa
Whitesands Hotel Mombasa
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa Kenya/Bamburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing