We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2012/13 8 week stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Neptune Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have visited the Neptune for many years and this last visit was from 10 December 2012 until 31 January 2013 and agree with many of the recent comments.

The room was great, overall Simon the room boy did a good job and the staff as usual were just great whether they were cleaners, restaurant or bar etc .

However when we arrived in December and up until the New Year the food choices and quality were generally excellent.However after New Year it all went massively downhill. On one occasion totally raw meatballs were served and these were cold as was most of the food. This was not a one off and we had to complain many times about food not being hot. Generally the burners under the food were set too low or had been forgottenn about. Food was bland in the extreme and potatoes no matter how cooked were like hard bullets.

Prior to Winter 2012 Sunday lunches used to be the food highlight of the week but during our visit the curries were bland in the extreme with no hint of any spices etc so we often just used the snack bar.. Several times there was nothing on the menu either at lunch or dinner that appealed to my wife and myself and we were amongst those mentioned that dined out often elsewhere. The Indian food was consistenly excellent in the Travellers Hotel and just up the beach at Suli Suli the fillet steaks , prawn dishes etc were superb and very inexpensive compared with most Kenyan Restaurants.

A radical shake up of the restaurant is needed and we told Richard that in December for the class of hotel we rated the food at 4* but that after New Year it had gone down to 2*

Also during this long visit the DJ seemed out of touch. All he played was 50s and 60s music or rap and I asked him a few times to put different on such as some good Kikuyu, Lingala etc as were in Africa. He did not care and just wanted rap which the animators liked .

As has been mentioned, this January saw a large influx of Eastern Europeans mainly Polish people and the eating and drinking manners were in many instances horrible to see but this is no fault of the hotel.

We will probably return next winter but as mentioned the food needs to be sorted. I think that Kenyan hoteliers think that tourists will just continue to return but if they do not give value for money they will not as there are many places in the world with far better beaches, great food etc. It was very noticable this visit that the number of guests at the Bamburi Beach hotels was down compared with previous years so come on the powers that be get the Neptune back to what it was - a great hotel overall with a great staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nakurukendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 340 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

We visited the neptune again for the third year running as we love Kenya, the staff and the rooms are great in this hotel.

Unfortunately this time we were disappointed with the selection of food, which was bland and boring and rarely hot enough. Due to this fact, most of the regular returning English visitors were booking to eat outside the hotel at the travellers indian restaurant, the moorings or la marina. There was always plain rice, undercooked boiled potatoes, bone stew, ox kidney casserole, fish which wasn't very nice as it had very little taste. On occasion you could put a decent dinner together but this was far and few between. Very disappointed with the food this year.
To top this off I contracted a 24 hour vomiting bug which by the time I got home had turned into nasty painful Gastroenteritis from which I am still suffering pain.

The staff were lovely as usual, The Professor, Gibson, Benson and the rest in the bar, and Steven and Leonard in the dining room were particularly helpful, unlike the two female staff, one was miserable as sin and the other as daft as a brush!

The room cleaner Simon did a fantastic job.

We might give this hotel one more chance to see if the food improves but to be honest, I doubt it will unless the other people who were there also complain, as a lot were also unhappy.

Another really annoying point is that all the drink mixers are FLAT! Always, and it's like drinkng sugar water. We didn't enjoy any alcoholic drinks due to this and stuck to water. The only bar person who always checked it was The Professor but it was obviously due to the poor equipment.

The pool staff Cosmos and Danson were marvellous as always.

The Gardener Omari is also worth a mention as he is such a lovely man and does a great job.

We will be thinkng very seriously about whether to give this hotel another chance due to the awful evening food selection. The breakfast was always good though and we never tried the food at lunch time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KentHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and I have been to Kenya (Mombasa beaches) six times and this was our third stay here. That really is voting with one's feet! The superior de luxe rooms are great, the staff could not be more friendly and helpful and the food varied from acceptable to absolutely excellent - there were only two instances where we didn't fancy something on the lunch buffet so ate at the pool bar instead. There were more Eastern Europeans than in previous years, with their own habits and culture but they detracted from the overall wonderful holiday only slightly. We'll see all the staff and our fellow January guests there next year

Room Tip: We go for the superior de luxe rooms. There are four of them overlooking the sea (and the pool and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just returned from Neptune after a blissful 2 weeks.We have visited Kenya a number of times and this Hotel ranks above the rest.Service 5 Star food great atmosphere warm and very friendly nothing is too much trouble.We travelled with Cosmos and were a little worried about 1stop in Nairobi befor going on to Mombasa but it was no trouble Kenyan Airways rank amongst the best long haul airlines again helpful and very obliging staff always a smile BA can take some lessons.
Thomson and First Choice seem to have dropped Neptune for some reason I really don't know why It is brilliant come on Tui get your act together and promote Kenya its a gem

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Overall the Hotel was well above average for the money we were paying. Some of the meat could have been better but it was easy to go back and get a different meal. Staff were excellent. Also I liked the sun lounger arrangement. No reserving of sun beds by phantom towel leavers!!! The pool attendants had it all under control (no doubt for their benefit!).
My biggest dissatisfaction was with the Animation Team and the DJ in particular who despite requests for 60/70's music (appropriate to most of the age group (though they were some younger families for Christmas)) managed to play my music for 20/30 mins, then back to "thump" "thump".
There was only one pool and garden area so it was not possible to escape without earphones and music of ones own or leave the premise (or go to bed).

Room Tip: Get one away from the sea and lift, ie back of the hotel, much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed at sentido Neptune beach from 6th August for 2 weeks booked with first choice, had a great time, not a big hotel however get excellent and personal service, very friendly staff. Food was good and chef helpful as we are vegetarian. Thanks to the manager, we had opportunity to stay at their other resort in Mombasa for 2 nights the Neptune palm beach which was exceptional, next time we will be booking this. Staff at palm beach were very good and helpful ESP manager Kifoto and chef Uttam.
We also did a safari went to Tasvo stayed at salt lick lodge which we would recommend

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ravinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Went there October '12 and had a wonderful relaxing time...nice quiet hotel although it was advertised as ' no children under 12 allowed '...not true !! There were babies/toddlers there but not many.
Hotel was clean and the staff were fabulous ..and spoilt us rotten!! All praise to the entertainment team and Cosmos and Danson (the sunbed boys).. Gibson and team that run the pool bar.. and the waiters and waitresses in the restaurant. Such lovely people.
Food was OK ,being a veggie, I lived on soup and salad for 2 weeks but thats normal !
I also have walking difficulties and thought I had done enough research to have picked the idea hotel but unfortunately there were many steps not shown on photos. Saying that I still want to go back as I loved this place. Richard also fussed over us and made us very welcome.

To sum up... hotel very comfy,food very edible and staff out of this world!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123amandaj_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
0.4 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#10 of 60 in Mombasa
996 reviews
0.1 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
571 reviews
1.1 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Nyali Sun Africa Beach Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#10 of 14 in Bamburi
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptune Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Beach Resort

Address: Bamburi Beach, Bamburi, Mombasa 83125, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range: $140 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Neptune Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the silver sands of the Bamburi Beach, 14 km to the north of Mombasa City and approximately 24km from Moi International Airport, the resort offers all the comforts of home and maintains an open air feel due to its large reception and hallways. This resort is very popular with regular guests, offering very good service and a family atmosphere. Special highlight is the lush garden area and the new terrace with a view of the Indian Ocean. There are many quiet areas throughout the resort including the newly created “coffee shop” to offer you calm and relaxation. The generous lobby and the impressive halls create an open air feeling leaving you with plenty of room for your very individual holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Neptune Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Neptune Beach Hotel Bamburi
Neptune Beach Hotel
Neptune Beach Resort Kenya/Bamburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing