We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dream Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Annchen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bamburi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Annchen
Ranked #1 of 8 Bamburi B&B and Inns
Matagalpa, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dream Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

This villa is absolutely charming all the way to the details. I was warmly received by the owners who picked me up at a meeting point in town and felt immediately at home. This beautiful home, divided into individual rooms, is even more lovely in person than in the photographs (which is not always the case). The rooms are uniquely and tastefully designed and decorated, the space is very comfortable and refreshing. The pool is the best among many that I visited in 6 months in the region of East Africa. The gardens and grounds in general are well kept and stunning. The home made meals are healthy and delicious. I wanted a quiet, restful, picturesque getaway and that is just what I found at Villa Annchen!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Amanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place sits in its own large grounds in green country overlooking the wide and shining Mtwapa Creek, about 30 minutes drive N of Mombasa. It is very luxurious. The rooms are kept very clean and they are high-ceilinged, huge and gorgeous; and there is an adjacent covered-but-open-air terrace looking out towards the swimming pool only a few metres away. There is fast wifi internet. The meals served are both large and delicious, and the management and staff are very helpful and friendly. It is also good value for money! It's some minutes up a side road from Mtwapa town so if you like urban 'beat' and local shops on your doorstep this place may not be for you, but it is the perfect quiet haven for all the rest of us.

Room Tip: All are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the villa, it was so beautiful with fantastically decorated bedrooms, which were very clean and spacious. we found the villa to be very private, calm and relaxing, with a lovely pool we were not sharing with anybody (there were 3 of us) we had the villa to ourselves, it was fantastic. The breakfast was absolutely lovely, which was cooked by the lovely rebecca, who was so attentive and friendly throughout our visit. The villa was very safe and secure with 3 dogs and security 24hrs a day , the views of the creek and the surroundings from the villa were amazing. We would like to thank rebecca for everything and we would certanily book the villa again.

Room Tip: all the rooms are located at the back of the villa and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank zahida250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

The Villa is at mtwapa(north coast) a 30 minute drive from mombasa city and its a 10 minute drive from mtwapa town.The setting is quiet, serene and very romantic place for a couple/person who likes quiet/calm environment.You are welcomed by a nice breeze from the mtwapa as the maasai moran opens the gate with dogs backing at the background.Once at the reception we were welcomed by rasmus(owner) and rebecca(house manager).The place is furnished by swahili/african antiques with the deluxe rooms fitted with king size bed/mosquito nets/televison/a fridge/air conditioner/fan/closets/bath-tab.Overlooking the creek is a clean pool made of natural stone that has warm water thanks to the mombasa climate.The beach along the creek is muddy and has mangroove trees hence not good for swimming.The meals are prepared by Rebecca who happens to be very good at preparing local swahili appetizer(soups) and cuisines.She also comes in handy as she can organize cabs/car hires and trips for you.The place is good value for your money, definately coming back for a vacation

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the creek are spacious, sunny during the day and cool at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank alex m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muttenz, Basel-Stadt, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

there was already a big sympathy around when we first entered our room and then met the villa-annchen-couple rasmus and rebeccah.the place is very quiet and safe,but still very close to "mtwapa city",where you find many things to explore and enjoy the real african day and nightlife!the rooms are absolutely clean and nice to stay,as well as every part of villa annchen.even tho we travel a lot,choosing villa annchen was a bit of very good luck we had,and we would always highly recommend this place to everybody coming to mombasa,especially mtwapa or anywhere on the northcoast.WE THANK RASMUS AND REBECCAH FOR BEING SO GOOD TO US AND SHOWING SO MUCH EFFORT AND IDEAS FOR HAVING A WONDERFUL STAY IN KENYA.WE LOVE YOUR DELICIOUS DINNERS AND THE WAY YOU BOTH ARE,YOU ARE AMAZING!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Mon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malindi, Coast, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Its awesome and pretty comfortable stay at Villa annchen that will always linger in mind forever.My two weeks stay at the villa was captivating and deeply enjoyable.My comfort was characterized with delicious food,excellent customer service,serenity,silence and the pristine man-groove beach.To be sincere I have no words to measure the kind of comfortable accommodation I encountered at Villa annchen.Definitely,hoping to go back in again.I highly recommend a couple or a single tourist or business tourist to visit or experience the place.

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Galjeicho G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

It's a good place to relax away from the city.quite serene.few residents at any given time. Good place for family and couples too who like privacy.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank mweki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamburi hotels
0.0 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kahama Hotel
Kahama Hotel
#7 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.0 mi away
Neptune Beach Resort
Neptune Beach Resort
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Annchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Annchen

Property: Villa Annchen
Address: 1 Mtomondoni Creek Road | Mtwapa Creek, Bamburi, Mombasa 80101, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Villa Annchen is elevated over the most beautiful shores of the Indian Ocean inlet Mtwapa Creek within 6000 sqm of land. Exclusive natural stone pool (16m x 12m x 2.8m) with majestic view of Mtwapa Creek. Deluxe guestrooms, furnished with African carved hardwood made of exceptional attention to detail and design, with low sound split air-con, ceiling fan, mini-bar-fridge, mosquito net, kingsize bed and en-suite bathroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Annchen Kenya/Bamburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing