We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ziwa Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Holiday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Damp rooms, cheap soap, Dark blue towels - very off putting, TV never works, just a standard cheap room it was - almost like a lodge.

Food was great, entertainment good, the hotel attracted a lot of mixed tourists and hence one would rather be out by the pools and restaurants than in the bogus rooms!

Room Tip: It's not a classy hotel -especially the rooms - so if you like clean towel, do carry your own. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NeueAngy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    43
    15
    5
    16
See reviews for
30
38
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Visited bamburi beach resort a while back and it offered the best price value ratio. Think of it as a comfortable and beautiful place to stay near the beach with near attractions and great connections. If you expect a complete hotel package with food, watersports etc then you will be better of looking for something a bit more expensive. My sister expected more but I was satisfied and will be visiting again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHTraveller67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Room not well maintened; AC very noisy, impossible to sleep; no water in the morning in the bathroom, you have to go to the reception, as there is no phone in the room, and request an immediate maintenance, as you need to shower you and brush you teeth.....

This hotel had an award in 2012 by Tripadvisor. We have understood why they do not have the same awards for the next years. Hotel is really bad.

For conclusion, if you stay in this hotel you will pay an excessive price for a quality that you do not have.

A lot of other hotels are on Bamburi beach, choose another one if you want to enjoy your stay in Mombasa.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

This resort was every bit as beautiful as the photos available on the internet, but the amenities listed were misleading. The "all-inclusive" rate turned out to be only semi-inclusive. Only two alcoholic beverages were available in this package, and inclusive meals were served cafeteria style three time slots a day, like summer camp. It was difficult to find any sort of assistance throughout the day. The food was mediocre, but not terrible.

The woman at the front desk was very unpleasant and in no rush to help anyone out. The website also advertised free wi-fi in the resort. I was taking a full schedule of online courses that semester and was very specific about only booking hotels that offered free wi-fi. It turned out to be a shakey connection that cost money for every 15 minute interval. Even if you paid for sessions, each 15 minutes required a new password and you would be booted off. Which messed up some timed assignments for me. My father and I spoke to the general manager who seemed ti find it amusing that I would need the internet so badly. I pointed out the "free wi-fi" phrase on their brochure, which he read and ignored. This place has the absolute worst customer service.

The rooms were okay, nothing to write home about. The monkeys that come wreak havoc on your balcony around sunset were definitely the highlight for me.

There is an Italian restaurant just next door down the beach, one or two doors to the right of the Bamburi boardwalk section. I can't remember the name, but they have great food, cold drinks, excellent service, and free wi-fi.

I would not recommend Bamburi Beach to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank natalja703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed at Bamburi beach hotel at the end of January for two weeks with our two year old Grandaughter who was spoilt by all staff especially Mercei in the dining room. We had a wonderful holiday, the food was excellent (i have a very fussy husband, who was really happy with the food). The rooms were spacious and very clean as was the whole hotel and grounds. All staff and management were extremely kind and helpful - nothing was to much trouble for them. Towels were changed every day. this really is a perfect place to relax and enjoy a holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorna024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radauti, Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

A perfect place to stay.The place where you feel just like home.The swimming pool is very well maintained and you get music of your choice while swimming. The food quality is excellent and is served by the staff who are always smiling.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flaybebeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Bamburi Beach Resort is like my second home! I was planning to stay there just 6 nights but didn't want to leave so soon so in the end i stayed there 9 nights.
Staff there is really friendly, happy, helpful and skilled!
Rooms are really nice and clean (and it was nice to have own patio!). Definitely going there back in future!
If you want to get nice environment, good service, stay close to the great beach (and not even that far away from Mombasa town) then i recommend Bamburi Beach Resort!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarjaBerry88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
0.3 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kahama Hotel
Kahama Hotel
#7 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#9 of 59 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
3.4 mi away
PrideInn Hotel Nyali
PrideInn Hotel Nyali
#10 of 59 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Plaza Beach Hotel
The Plaza Beach Hotel
#10 of 14 in Bamburi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ziwa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ziwa Beach Resort

Property: Ziwa Beach Resort
Address: Malindi Road | Plot no. 1532, Bamburi, Mombasa 80101, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ziwa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ziwa Beach Resort is located directly on Bamburi Beach, 12km from downtown Mombasa and 24km from Moi International Airport. It has 7 beach cottages each with two, 2 bedroomed self-catering apartments and 1 beach cottage with 6 hotel rooms overlooking the Indian Ocean and the beach. All rooms are air-conditioned, equipped with large hard wood double beds or twin beds, shower/toilets, kitchen, dining room, a private sitting area where guests can drink and watch the sun go down in total privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ziwa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamburi Beach Hotel Bamburi
Ziwa Beach Resort Kenya/Bamburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing