We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ziwa Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Certificate of Excellence
spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We loved it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were travelling with our friend, so we were lucky to get two rooms with shared terrace and kitchen. The beds were massive, made of old massive trees...and the bathroom was great, just standard shower but how they have amde it just captivates people. It was a very big room and our son was happy to run around in it. The only problem we had, which was not their fault was power...we didnt have power most of the time, but we wished they had back up generators like next door hotels, luckily our rooms were near the other hotel's fance, so we got some light illumination from there. The terrace chairs and tables are also made of old trees and just gave it the africa atmosphere. We had lost of monkeys about, waiting for small foods to eat, might eb aproblem for people who dont like animal about, they were hamless, just jumped about on the terrace. they have a big bar just facing the ocea, so it was great to sit in the evening and enjoy the cool breeze, the bar tenders were wonderful, kept us laughing all the time, and were so friendly. definatley will go back. If they have back up power.

Room Tip: All their rooms are the same, but good if you are friends so you can share the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spaintracyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamburiresort, Owner at Ziwa Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
We thank the guests for their positive comments. We have a small generator serving the security lights and the bar area. We will be installing a large generator in the forseeable future together with other amenities which are missing at present. As and when this happens, our room rates will also be increased. In the meantime our guests can enjoy lower rates and will have to put up with some inconveniences when there is power cut.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    43
    16
    5
    18
See reviews for
32
38
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

The hotel was very nice and all the staff were very friendly always wanting to help,the rooms were good and they were cleaned every day with towels changed.The resturants were nice they had a good choice of food each day and the staff were very helpful,they did very early breakfast or a take away breakfast for the days you were leaving for Safari which was good.
The pools were very clean and sunbed areas were kept looking clean and tidy with staff coming round who will get drinks for you,the sunbeds did seem to go very quick but the sunbed man was very nice and helpful,you dont have to tip staff they want to help you but we did now and again though as you will learn they dont earn much or have much money.
The beach was very nice but nobody used the beach much as the beach boys could be a pain,after a few days and just a polite no a few times they will not bother you as much.The security at the hotel are very nice and if u have any problem they will step in or if you feel unsure they will watch you when you go on the beach,but dont let this spoil your time there.
The Safaris were fantastic we went on a three day Safari with JT Safaris they were brilliant! very organised and made sure we all had a great time.www.julius-safaris.com.Two of us decided to go on another safari with a company just by the hotel gates recommended by someone at the hotel,dont use these they were terrible,we still enjoyed our Safari but the guide wasnt good and they were no where near as good as JT Safaris.On our Safaris we stayed at the Voi Safari Lodge it was great the views were just breathtaking then the Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge this was five star just brilliant and we stayed in the Ndololo tented Lodge which was a fanstastic experience.
We will be going back this holiday was fantastic!!!! hope this helps you and enjoy !!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tansmiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamburiresort, Owner at Ziwa Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
We thank the guests for their positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishikesh, India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

One of my friends who is quite regular to this resort suggested me to stay here and I must admit that this place is really very good. Good view of the sea from rooms and swimming pool. Food and service is also very good. Good place for vegetarians.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vino04ster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

It's a hotel quite different from other hotels. You have separate cottages like in your own house with more privacy abd peace. The decorating style lets you feel you are far from modern city and close to natural life.

It's a seaside hotel where you can take a walk on Bamburi beech in the early morning or late afternoon, enjoying the sea breeze. Or you can have a beer in the bar, listening to the sea waves. Also there's enough parking area inside the hotel, which I think it's free.

Every time I stay there, I feel totally relaxed. Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaydong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamburiresort, Owner at Ziwa Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
We thank the guests for their positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
voi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

Perfect location, big and comfortable rooms, nice bar with very friendly staff, beach accsess and also a good pool. Can you ask for more? This place is my favourite place to stay when I`m in Mombasa, and I`m probably going to continue coming here. Have stayed here several times now and I always have a good time! Love this place!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariaVoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamburiresort, Owner at Ziwa Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Wish to thank this guest for their continued patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

I had a great time here with my two daughters and my cousin. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, especially as I was bringing my daughter for convalesence.

I can recommend it!

Merab Greenway

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MerabUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamburiresort, Owner at Ziwa Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
We are glad to note that this guest enjoyed their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

I would like to start off with saying that i read one of the reviews putting this hotel into negative context, to be honest it was an abserd review and couldnt be further away from the truth. I travel to Mombasa quite frequently when i get some time off work and always book my stay with them. I have stayed in majority of the hotels in Mombasa and not to put them down but if your looking for an unrealistic pretentious view of Kenya then stay in them. Bamburi Beach Resort has all the luxuries one could ask for, you have the option of self-catering or ordering food from the resteraunt which i think is fantastic when your not in the mood to get all dressed up and worry about who's around (home away from home). The location of Bamburi Beach Resort is ideal for family's, groups of friends, solo excursions, or even honeymooners. The food is great and the staff are really helpful and friendly. This Hotel offers great rates for there rooms and have airconditioning in all of them (i know this cos i tried all of them) :-) The swimming pool is regularly kept clean and maintained so if your not interested in the hustle and bustle of the beach then you can just chill out. The beach has beautiful white sand and clear blue water, absolutely perfect settings for a wonderful experience. The Owner of the Hotel is regularly there which i find a great aspect as the staff never tend to slack and always aim to impress and please everybody who is staying. Dont get me wrong im not saying its the experience of a life time and to expect everything to be perfect as most things in life never are, but i do highly reccomend staying there if you want an amazing and comfortable stay in mombasa. Actually writing this review brings back some good memories and makes me want to go back ASAP!!! Happy Holidays people and i hope you have a great time and take home some amazing memories like i have.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GregMiranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamburiresort, Owner at Ziwa Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
We thank this guest for his/her positive review of our facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
0.4 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#11 of 58 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kahama Hotel
Kahama Hotel
#7 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
3.4 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#10 of 58 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
4.5 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ziwa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ziwa Beach Resort

Property: Ziwa Beach Resort
Address: Malindi Road | Plot no. 1532, Bamburi, Mombasa 80101, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ziwa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ziwa Beach Resort is located directly on Bamburi Beach, 12km from downtown Mombasa and 24km from Moi International Airport. It has 7 beach cottages each with two, 2 bedroomed self-catering apartments and 1 beach cottage with 6 hotel rooms overlooking the Indian Ocean and the beach. All rooms are air-conditioned, equipped with large hard wood double beds or twin beds, shower/toilets, kitchen, dining room, a private sitting area where guests can drink and watch the sun go down in total privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Ziwa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamburi Beach Hotel Bamburi
Ziwa Beach Resort Kenya/Bamburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing