We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beware of stealing money by the personnel(staff).Count your money everyday.Only 6 safes for 32 rooms!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kahama Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kahama Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Antwerpen-Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beware of stealing money by the personnel(staff).Count your money everyday.Only 6 safes for 32 rooms!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

I was for the first time in the hotel from 28juin until 5july 2010. It was okay and went back for 17days in december.The room-doors are working with electronic card.The cleaning ladies can go in the room+1 card for the staff. In my room they stole 280euro,in the room from a Korean man they stole 360dollars.The manager even don't comes to speak with me,he plays "the innocent".Because the Korean man gave a tip to the Police,they spoke with the manager,and the man got 4days free.Me...i gave not a tip...is nothing free,even no excuses.When i said i will put it on internet,they asked at reception for not doing it. It's important to count your money every day,they steal only a part=very clever!Noisy at night.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank limoluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    55
    25
    3
    6
See reviews for
24
47
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Not a bad place, only a couple of minutes walk from the beach. The problem is that no one really sits/lies on Bamburi beach as it's more like a sidewalk for traders, camels and touts, so not being in a beachfront hotel is more of a disadvantage than it might seem. The other potential problem is that it's kind of noisy, with the Kahama sports bar blasting out music until the wee hours. It's a fun place but not very conducive for early nights of deep sleep. So, yes, it's much better value than the beachside hotels - but must the management plaster the rooms and signs with the words budget and cheap? Ultimately, it made me feel kind of cheap.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Usshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahamaHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Kahama Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
Did we mention it's cheap? (October 24, 2010)

Thanks Usshi for the above post - Kahama Hotel highly values any feedback we can get from our valued Guests !

Kahama Hotel is unashamed to declare to the world that we aim to provide "Low Cost" and affordable high quality hotel rooms because that is exactly what our business mission is !

However, we do sincerely apologize if it came across to you as "Cheap or Budget" everywhere - we have never used those words but instead use "Low Cost" because that is the truth. We have also looked into and acted on the noise issue with corridor and extra room sound proofing ... for that we sincerely apologize again.

We sincerely thank you and all the thousands that have chosen to make Kahama Hotel their place of choice to stay in Mombasa, Kenya.

We aim to keep improving the services Kahama Hotel provides to you and all it's wonderful guests !

Asante Sana (Thank You So Much) ....... The Kahama Team !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

I was shopping for an affordable and excellent hotel to stay for a three day getaway with my girlfriend and was lucky to come across kahama.... great place.

I book at k1 in Nairobi At KShs. 3950 BB for a double bed was a bargain out of this world, you cant find this anywhere else! If you are not driving, from Mombasa town center to kahama you can take a taxi between Kshs 600 - 1000.

The services are excellent. Could not ask for more.

Things to do include swimming (free) or visiting the beach which is five minutes away. At the beach we hired a boat to take us to marine park (Kshs 100 entry fee and between Kshs 1000-2000 for hiring the boat)... they boys will also take you swimming and will provide all need gadgets. This was one of the most enjoyable activities we took.

Kudos guys.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Githome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahamaHotel, General Manager at Kahama Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
Great Services - Kudos (October 19, 2010)

Asante Sana Githome for the above post.

Kahama Hotel highly values any feedback from it's valued Guests.

We shall keep working towards improving the services we offer and strive towards remaining affordable yet providing high quality.

Asante Tena from the Kahama Team !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

nice room, very clean ,fantastic staff in one word for me the place to be.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redstacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Friendly people at the reception, clean and spacious rooms with mosquito nets, every day you get a bottle of water, tv and free internet! 5 minutes walk to the beach. Breakfast included. Popular by african people, not many european people, what we liked veryu much! There is also a bar and restaurant, in the weekends there is a lot of music in the bar, it can be noisy but the music stops at 12.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrix_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

in-experienced and nuisance lady waiter and cook at kahama,

my friend had requested a red drink, but the lady waitress served him a blue drink instead, because it was her favourite, she insisted he should drink it because its the same but just different colour,

same night i ordered food from the same lady waitress, i was served with grilled chicken which was to hard and too dry to be appetising, also the fries were too hard to eat, i could not bite or swallow the grilled chicken or the fries,

i was dealt with heavy handed by the head waiter and the lady waitress, they insisted i should bear with them and pay immediately,

when i asked for a refund for un-eaten food, i was blatantly refused and they called the security to escort all of us out

this has really ruined my experience of visiting kahama, i will never go to this hotel again

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mehs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

A friend who lives in Mombasa found this hotel for me as it was the cheapest one.

we arrived expecting it to be a bit pokey, we couldn't have been more wrong, i have stayed in 4* hotels in the UK that were worse.

All the staff were fantastic, they just couldn't do enough for you, the guy who ran it was an African who was educated in England (Oxford I think!) who was very friendly and chatted to us every time we saw him.

The rooms were awesome with a/c TV en suite and a very comfortable double bed.

we were the only people staying there who were not African, a massive plus point in my book, and the staff would ask questions about the UK and seemed genuinely interested, but were never nosy or intrusive.

The sports bar was a lively place again mostly local Africans, and had a great atmosphere in the evening.

the beach is only a short walk away, and they had "massai" guards who would come with you and fend of all the various people trying to sell you stuff on the beach.

In short if you want to stay in an authentic locally owned and run Hotel then you wont go wrong, next time i return to Mombasa i will definatley be staying at the Kahama!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Honest-Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
0.0 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
0.0 mi away
PrideInn Hotel Nyali
PrideInn Hotel Nyali
#19 of 58 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#10 of 58 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
0.0 mi away
Reef Hotel
Reef Hotel
#16 of 58 in Mombasa
3.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#1 of 58 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 stars 2,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahama Hotel

Property: Kahama Hotel
Address: Malindi Road | P.O. Box 10626-80101, Bamburi, Mombasa, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kahama Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kahama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahama Hotel Bamburi
Kahama Hotel Kenya/Bamburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing