We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Kahama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kahama Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed in one of the apartments and it was everything we could have wished for - clean, comfy, beautiful decorations and so much space and all at a very good price - have stayed in a more up market hotel on previous visits but would only ever stay here in future. House keeping was the best I've come across on my travels. Breakfast had everything we wanted - we learnt to keep an eye on out fruit after a monkey stole our banana! Special mention to Ursula who served our breakfast - she was so lovely to us and made every meal enjoyable. Front desk staff were very helpful especially Edgar. Pool was lovely, we had friends come and visit us and just had to pay a little amount for them to use the facilities. Safety at the hotel was good - Gate staff were vigilant and very friendly. Location is great, just a short, interesting walk to the beach which was lovely - a lot of locals selling stuff on the beach and they may seem pushy but we got to know them well (bartering was great fun!) and they are only trying to make a living in bad economic times so give them a chance. We spent most evenings at the sports bar which had so many different screens - even in the rest rooms! Food was good but extremely slow so only ate there a couple of times.

Only a couple of negatives about the hotel which were that you couldn't charge anything to your room and pay on checkout (ATM at Barclays Bank a short walk away was useful because of this) and we were only given 1 room key and there were three of us staying and you had to have the key card to use the air con - never stayed anywhere before where not given 2 keys.

All in all a fantastic hotel, especially for the price and we will be back next year.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank SLQEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Kahama Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 170 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

From the warm welcome by real Maasai and breathtaking rooms(they are exactly as they look in their web page),to a restaurant with delicious meals and a very beautiful pool.What more can you ask for when you get to be entertained by a Live band at the sports bar with cool music.The waitress serving at the restaurant and during breakfast were really friendly and one particular Caroline made all our meals enjoyable by always serving us with a big smile.My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Kahama and will surely be back soon.

Room Tip: All rooms at Kahama Hotel are really spacious and very beautiful.you will never go wrong by choosing...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stellamu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed one night here and for a large, comfortable air conditioned room with tv and lovely bathroom it was 4,950 shillings with breakfast included.... Best value place we have visited in Mombasa. We spent the evening in the sports bar, had a good quality cheap meal and then watched Mombasa Roots Band who were awesome. Highly recommended.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I normally stay up scale when i come to Mombasa but wanted to try a different place. A friend hinted at Kahama which was much cheaper compared to my normal places.

It is not possible to pay online for the room when doing booking which is a hassle and they keep telling you the booking is not confirmed until paid for. Trust me they do sell out...

The staff is excellent and very friendly and will help with anything that might be wrong in a jiffy. My key stopped working and rather than me running down the cleaner did while having opened for me. All staff are very polite and dressed in kikoys or masaai outfit which gives the place a very nice feel. The rooms are rustic Kenyan styles which is nice.

The breakfast is a bit on the weak side as the kitchen dont seem to cook the omelettes or eggs as per instruction given thus eggs overeasy will be ... well.. done... but for the price of the room with breakfast included pfft not a big deal.

There is no view from the rooms but the hotel is in a good location to reach yuls beach place and other good places in addition to the nice bar at the premises.

I dont agree with others complaining about the noise from the bar, yes a bit of music can be heard but hmm the AC noise (which is not above average) drowns it out. not all the way but not to be disturbed from.

The swimming pool is nice. could be cleaner though but difficult with all the trees and their leafs.

Now mentioning the bar. I love it... About 50 LCD screens showing sport plus at least 4 projectors, live band and a pooltable. There is no way to get bored there. The kitchen in the bar is slow and below average but overall the place is very friendly and a nice place for a quiet drink outside or a noisy one inside. The staff is though excellent and very nice.

Normally a place in this price range would be a dump.. Kahama is not.

Overall i felt more like being in Kenya staying at this place than in any up scale establishment

Room Tip: keep trying to tell them to accept bookings on booking.com or similar sites as it would make better...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expatswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Rooms are very well equipped with A/C, TV, Wi-Fi, mosquito nets and food service. Location is good, the swimming pool is well maintained. The only problem we had is that we couldn't rest because the disco from the same Kahama had the music super loud. Music played and played after mid night even without any clients there and with many families with children trying to sleep in their own rooms...

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank JaumeBenzungu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Thew rooms are very clean,the prices are amazingly affordable,its in a Very convinient location. There are lots and lots of activities to do there.ther is a club nearby,the beach is 3 minutes away..My stay was awesome basically.I loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceccyshaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were 3 people and took the apartments instead of rooms and we didn't regret the decision at all. We had everything we needed and everybody got really impressed with the beautiful decoration of the flat. The staff was very kind and attentive, doing everything to help us get the best during our stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anderson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
59.6 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
128 reviews
59.3 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
552 reviews
63.0 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#12 of 60 in Mombasa
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.5 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
356 reviews
64.7 mi away
Creekside Hotel
Creekside Hotel
#11 of 60 in Mombasa
228 reviews
66.0 mi away
PrideInn Hotel Mombasa
PrideInn Hotel Mombasa
#4 of 60 in Mombasa
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahama Hotel

Address: Malindi Road | P.O. Box 10626-80101, Bamburi, Mombasa, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range: $67 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kahama Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kahama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahama Hotel Bamburi
Kahama Hotel Kenya/Bamburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing