We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kahama Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kahama Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

At first we could not believe the offer/ rate for a double room but since we were on holiday we decided to try it out. Our expectations were exceeded! Those were the most friendly staff I have ever met, I felt like they were family. Kipkemboi and Ole Popote were just awesome and really ensured that we had what we wanted.The rooms were very spacoius and very neat. Being in a quiet and serene location it was so ideal for family. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a budget hotel in Bamburi beach area..Its so pocket friendly.. All was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    55
    25
    3
    6
See reviews for
24
47
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Best customer service, fantastic facilities. If your looking for a place with most value for money then you've most definitely found it at Kahamas hotel. My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay their. The assistants (Ole Mayien and all other Oles) were helpful. First I stayed at Kenya Bay Beach hotel which is right behind Kahamas and next to the beach but after I discovered how awesome kahamas was, I've not changed venue since. I'll definitely come back in August.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are more quieter, less monkey activity
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouisWajeiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillestrom, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed for more than a week. First room the mosquito net fell down from the ceiling. Big iron frame fell down only fastened with one screw. Moved to an apartment spacious and nice, but only to find out that kitchen had nothing but hot water. Moved to the next apt. This one only had cold water in the kitchen. The place is kept very clean. Good place to stay. Very friendly staff, especially Eunice in the breakfast area/restaurant. The rest of the staff is also very nice. The food in the restaurant is not too great. The music from the restaurant disturbed a lot of sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Kahama hotel mombasa is a quiet and comfortable place to reside in.The reception by the staff is Good,they are very welcoming to the staff.The cost of the hotel is pocket friendly.The meals are fresh and well prepaerd.Rooms are clean and ell maintained and give the an individual of an African enviroment a culture am so pround of.Come to the taxi services provided at the hotel,the choice of the people they have lowed to cdo the buisness there are fantastic and therir prices are reasonable.
God bless the entire team of Kahama Hotel Mombasa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philomena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a beautiful hotel.Clean, modern, open and airy yet exotic. Beautifully clean and well maintained swimming pool with an amazing Kenyan swimming instructor who can coax the most frightened to be swimmers into the water and teach the most resistant learn ears to swim!

Room Tip: They are all good !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Kahama mombasa is real nice place to stay!big clean rooms with tv ac a good hot shower and perfect kingsize bed!nice big pool and perfect restaurant is also available!the beach is only 2 min walk away and other facilities like pubs and supermarket are within 5 min by taxi,wich are always available at the hotel!Had a perfect stay and will return for sure!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Papi17-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

An awesome experience at surely the lowest cost possible...infact its unbelievable how the hotel can provide such high class service at such affordable rates....my visits in mombasa have found just the right place to be....thank u Kahama....very hospitable staff...an awesome experience indeed...try it guys...u will neva regret it...infact u will forget the rest

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
0.0 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#4 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
0.0 mi away
PrideInn Hotel Nyali
PrideInn Hotel Nyali
#16 of 59 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#11 of 59 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 stars 887 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Plaza Beach Hotel
The Plaza Beach Hotel
#11 of 14 in Bamburi
3.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahama Hotel

Property: Kahama Hotel
Address: Malindi Road | P.O. Box 10626-80101, Bamburi, Mombasa 80101, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kahama Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Kahama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahama Hotel Bamburi
Kahama Hotel Kenya/Bamburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing