We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Kahama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kahama Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Reviewed June 28, 2013

At first we could not believe the offer/ rate for a double room but since we were on holiday we decided to try it out. Our expectations were exceeded! Those were the most friendly staff I have ever met, I felt like they were family. Kipkemboi and Ole Popote were just awesome and really ensured that we had what we wanted.The rooms were very spacoius and very neat. Being in a quiet and serene location it was so ideal for family. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a budget hotel in Bamburi beach area..Its so pocket friendly.. All was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 172 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

Best customer service, fantastic facilities. If your looking for a place with most value for money then you've most definitely found it at Kahamas hotel. My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay their. The assistants (Ole Mayien and all other Oles) were helpful. First I stayed at Kenya Bay Beach hotel which is right behind Kahamas and next to the beach but after I discovered how awesome kahamas was, I've not changed venue since. I'll definitely come back in August.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are more quieter, less monkey activity
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouisWajeiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed for more than a week. First room the mosquito net fell down from the ceiling. Big iron frame fell down only fastened with one screw. Moved to an apartment spacious and nice, but only to find out that kitchen had nothing but hot water. Moved to the next apt. This one only had cold water in the kitchen. The place is kept very clean. Good place to stay. Very friendly staff, especially Eunice in the breakfast area/restaurant. The rest of the staff is also very nice. The food in the restaurant is not too great. The music from the restaurant disturbed a lot of sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Kahama hotel mombasa is a quiet and comfortable place to reside in.The reception by the staff is Good,they are very welcoming to the staff.The cost of the hotel is pocket friendly.The meals are fresh and well prepaerd.Rooms are clean and ell maintained and give the an individual of an African enviroment a culture am so pround of.Come to the taxi services provided at the hotel,the choice of the people they have lowed to cdo the buisness there are fantastic and therir prices are reasonable.
God bless the entire team of Kahama Hotel Mombasa.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philomena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a beautiful hotel.Clean, modern, open and airy yet exotic. Beautifully clean and well maintained swimming pool with an amazing Kenyan swimming instructor who can coax the most frightened to be swimmers into the water and teach the most resistant learn ears to swim!

Room Tip: They are all good !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Kahama mombasa is real nice place to stay!big clean rooms with tv ac a good hot shower and perfect kingsize bed!nice big pool and perfect restaurant is also available!the beach is only 2 min walk away and other facilities like pubs and supermarket are within 5 min by taxi,wich are always available at the hotel!Had a perfect stay and will return for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Papi17-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

An awesome experience at surely the lowest cost possible...infact its unbelievable how the hotel can provide such high class service at such affordable rates....my visits in mombasa have found just the right place to be....thank u Kahama....very hospitable staff...an awesome experience indeed...try it guys...u will neva regret it...infact u will forget the rest

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamburi hotels
59.6 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
129 reviews
59.3 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
566 reviews
59.5 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.5 mi away
Indiana Beach Apartment Hotel
59.1 mi away
The Plaza Beach Hotel
The Plaza Beach Hotel
#12 of 14 in Bamburi
81 reviews
59.9 mi away
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahama Hotel

Address: Malindi Road | P.O. Box 10626-80101, Bamburi, Mombasa, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range: $67 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kahama Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Kahama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahama Hotel Bamburi
Kahama Hotel Kenya/Bamburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing