We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kahama Hotel Mombasa”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kahama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kahama Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kahama Hotel Mombasa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying in this locally run hotel during my stay in Mombasa.
I can only give it my fullest recommendation.
The reception staff are friendly, polite and efficient, this also goes for the waitresses, porters and maintenance staff.
The rooms are excellent and kept to a very high standard. The pool is a pleasure and a great place to relax.
Security is of a very high standard ensuring a very safe environment.
At 4900 Ksh for a double room including a very nice buffet breakfast offering both Western and African options this is truly great value!
I would have no hesitation in booking this hotel on my next visit to Mombasa.

Patrick

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be of a very high standard including very efficient air-con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    63
    27
    3
    8
See reviews for
26
50
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kampala
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel is amazing. The staff are very attentive and friendly, as such, suggestions are immediately taken on board. The rooms are clean and comfy. The prices are pocket friendly! The hotel is within walking distance from the beach. I loved it, and look forward to staying there when i next visit Mombasa.

They've got some hardworking taxi drivers on hand, like Boniface Kioko...good job.

Keep it up!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

When making the reservations the staff attending to us was very helpful and cordial . We found our reservations processed and ready for us. The swimming pool was another highlight for us since it was open till late evening.The breakfast was always made to our preference and liking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ngugy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washford
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

arriving at the hotel i paid for the room cash, was shown to the room. therewas a large bed. wardrobe hanging space.no drawers to put clothes. no tea or coffee facilities,1 sml bottle of water. bathroom sink loose,toilet holder fell off wall,no toileteries needed updating badly shower not good kept getting to hot. cheap loo rolls. then the discovery. this hotel had lots of older men with prostitutes. they were on the sunbeds, in the pool, at breakfast. in the rooms. you can imagine the noise when they got drunk. the staff in the hotel were nice and when i got mugged on the beach the day before i left were concerned. since coming home i have been to the hospital i had concussion and am lucky to have survived. i have been to kenya twice before staying at travellers beach. this hotel ruined my holiday. a hotel with rooms for prostitutes never ever again

Room Tip: dont go by pictures read the reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sallywashford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schramberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at Kahama Hotel.
The sports Bar rocks!!
Hotel & room security was exceptional, very clean and friendly staff.
All was SUPER!!!!!! for us.
Looking forward to our next holiday.
Thank you Kahama Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

we checked in on the 12th dec 2012... booking was made easy by Emmanuel who also arranged our Airport transfers.... He was so helpfull and always offering a helping hand. The chauffer guy was good and all the staff in general,always smiling.
We had an issue with the receptionist(cynthia or christine not really sure about the name) should learn her product knowledge. On the day of checking in we requested for late checkout as our flight was in the evening and she told us NO late checkout charges they charge full day rate... in which we declined. on the day of checkout after a thousand calls from reception to checkout as next guest is ready to check in as per her(you do not tell a guest that its not a 1star hotel). we find Emmanuel at the reception who we told our flight was in the evening and he offered us we can go back to the room and pay a certain price!!!!! I was shocked reason being the lady on day of checking said nothing like that exists.... we politely declined the offer from Emmanuel as they had just ruined our last day and opted to head to the airport and try adjust our flight. ALL IN ALL it was nice and simple...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesGithinji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very welcoming staff, clean and tidy rooms, with air conditioning and mosquito nets. We stayed in the apartment and it was lovely, good view, place to relax in day on balcony and own kitchen to cook in. The staff were very friendly and always went beyond to help. Emmanuel was very good helping with tours we wished to go on. Good pool and slide, aand only short walk to beach. Only thing would be to bring ear plugs as the sports bar can get noisy. But I never had any problems sleeping with ear plugs in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
0.2 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#10 of 58 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#11 of 58 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
4.6 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahama Hotel

Property: Kahama Hotel
Address: Malindi Road | P.O. Box 10626-80101, Bamburi, Mombasa, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kahama Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kahama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahama Hotel Bamburi
Kahama Hotel Kenya/Bamburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing