We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay while at the coast”
Review of Kahama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kahama Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best place to stay while at the coast”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

It was my second time here and i really love the place. Kahama is Great place, with great hospitality. Everything under one roof. The rooms are totally spacious and the food is awesome. The meat is totally out of this world. Looking forward to coming back there soonest. Thanks for the excellent service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NgureTharao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    64
    28
    3
    8
See reviews for
27
50
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just came back from a short holiday at Kahama mombasa. After reading the reviews here i decided to try something different and visit Kahama and i must say.......i have no regrets!!!!!! I have visited many five star hotels at the coast at the beachfront and Kahama changed my mindset, having a beach is OVERATED!!!

The hotel was simple and very clean. Actually my room surprised me, room111. I got more value for my money. The food was okay..... breakfast simple and acceptable. I partied hard and being the nairobian that i am i needed a 'quick fix' for my hangover. The chef went out of his way and made me a meal not on the menu (boiled goat meat with potatoes and soup) and i must say he did a veeerrryyyy good job.

I honestly have no negative comment about Kahama. Karisa the pool attendant was always helpful so was everyone else and i got a lovely place to lay my head, sit back n relax and of course PARTY!!!.

If you are looking for an average nice place to relax without the huge crowds at bigger hotels, Kahama is the place for you. Party animals like me also dont need to go out club hoping.....Kahama Sports Bar was just perfect!!!!!!

I would recommend this hotel anyday for the young at heart and couples without kids.....as for me, i will definitely be back!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2012

it was our first time as a couple to stay at kahama for our honeymoon.the service was super or rather out of this world.from the maasai at the entrance who help with carrying our bags to the beautiful receptionists who welcome you always with a smile and also the cold juice thats awesome.the only setback they have is they miss a beach where you can walk barefooted on the sand.otherwise its a great experience and a home away from home. ahsante sana kahama.

Room Tip: rooms on the north side are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyrus n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Kahama at a general point of view it's a place of class on it's own,it can't be compared with any other place in coast ; Reception Very Good, Rooms Thumbs up , Service Good but let the waiters & waitress learn proper communication skills to approach & convince a guest ,Food Very Good especially during the day, at night not as good as the days; zero attention,no garnish,no sauce,overcooked or burnt .The slogan ya roho safi na mapenzi; as you say to us customers. adhere to it.Other wise we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cynthiamuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kikuyu, Central, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Every time I visit Mombasa, I stay at Kahama. Not only are the rates reasonable, the customer service is excellent! The 'Ole's' run to help me with my bags, the girls and guys at the reception sign me up quick and there is always that cold glass of juice that says 'we are happy to have ya!" better than plain old words.

The water is hot, they have DSTV and for sports fans, that's the place to be. The rooms are spacious and clean and they have AC that works. I have been to hotels that have broken AC or fans which in Mombasa weather, are no use at all.

Breakfast alternates between African and English which gives most visitors coming from other countries a taste of African food. Did I mention they have room service at no extra cost? They do. I will be back in Mombasa at the end of November and you guessed it! I will stay at Kahama Hotel.

I want to give special kudos to 3 people who make my stay there much better each time. A shout out to my guy Emmanuel and my girls Faith and Rosalia! You all deserve a raise. Tell the boss I said so!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CynthiaMugi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

It was wonderful but the music is too loud at night especially for someone who wants to rest Something should be done about it.Other than that the Maasai men are doing a good job.

The reception is wonderful and the rooms are good

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Home away from home i must say. shangwe tele ..right from the moment you enter the gate..security guards to the reception..wooh!..woow...wow..! wait a minute did i mention those three pretty guest relations ladies with their beautiful smiles? apart from being polite and modest, wanaongeza ladha kweli and without forgetting the man himself Edgar, thumbs up. Rooms are clean not just clean spackling clean , spacious with all the amenities talk of aircon, dstv, internet connection....man! what more can i say? getting real value and more 4 your money. and yeah a king size bed guess what for the 5 nights i spent there i used to wake up feeling like a superman! Talk of top class service with equality, i doubt if Mswati ever gets such and ooh! my..ooh! my. the sports bar where one can quench thirst or water his/her gills is amazing. with some cool, soothing music that will make you feel "yeah am on cloud nine. the karrier hockey....eeeeh! i being told it is "Karaoke" night will just blow you away. though located a few meters from the beach i don't think that should be an issue give the security within that vicinity is good plus alittle walk won't do any harm,just a bit of a healthy exercise i guess. simply put i recommend this hotel to everyone, anyone, anywhere, anytime . KAHAMA the true spirit of Kenyan Hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jontees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
0.2 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#11 of 58 in Mombasa
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#9 of 58 in Mombasa
966 reviews
0.2 mi away
Indiana Beach Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahama Hotel

Property: Kahama Hotel
Address: Malindi Road | P.O. Box 10626-80101, Bamburi, Mombasa, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kahama Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kahama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahama Hotel Bamburi
Kahama Hotel Kenya/Bamburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing